We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not worth it...BUGS!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Clinton by Marriott at Joint Base Andrews
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2011

I started out liking the Townplace. It's close to Andrews AFB where I was on TDY for 60 days, the room was ok, the bed was ok and the staff was ok.

Then, my first morning, trying to sleep was impossible. I didn't get to the hotel until 2am and I was trying to get some sleep. There was landscaping going on that woke me up at 7am and the upstairs people were stomping around. I wasn't too upset at this point though...The next day, I came home from Andrews AFB and found the first one, a centipede! I was like "Gross! but I can live with it." But then I started looking at my walls. ***THIS IS NOT AN EXAGGERATION*** I found NINE CREEPY CRAWLY CENTIPEDES within LESS than 10 minutes!!!! I was SOOOOOOOOO freaked out because I don't like bugs. I couldn't stop looking for them because I knew I would find another one! My skin was crawling!! I could not wait to get out of there. I called the front desk to tell them about it and they said, "There is a lot of centipedes in this area." They said they would send a maintenance guy out tomorrow to check it out. I couldn't sleep that night! YUCK! The internet SUCKS too. It kept disconnecting when I tried to watch a movie on Netflix.

This hotel is close to Andrews AFB but is so not worth it. There is absolutely nothing to do around there. There is no shuttle service and the room is nothing compared to the hotel I moved to. I moved to Residence Inn on Duke Street in Alexandria, VA. There is a 15min commute to Andrews AFB but soooo worth it. There is so much to do there and NO centipedes!!! You walk out of the hotel and you are right downtown and there is a shuttle to the Metro service. It is within the per diem price offered for the AF with the exception of parking. My buddy hooked me up with a cheaper parking fee of $5/day. The room is bigger and a lot nicer with a bigger TV. If you are only coming for a couple days, the Townplace is "livable" with the exception of bugs but if you are going to be here longer, don't stay here!

Room Tip: Residence Inn on Duke St Alexandria, VA
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brittany2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 85 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2011

We are fortunate that we are lodged here when there isn't availability on base so we have stayed here several times. They have got to be one of the most military friendly establishments we visit. The rooms are mini suites, with comfortable bedding and complete with plates/dishes/silverware...and real glasses!

Additionally, they plan evening and weekend events with free food, drink, and an opportunity to socialize.

The surrounding area is kind of shady and the parking lot and hotel are enclosed within a security gate, and a security officer is on hand during dark hours...I see this as a service rather than an inconvenience.

One downside is that despite having a beautiful pool and hot tub, during the week these don't open until 4pm when the lifeguard arrives. The gym is open 24/7 and is well appointed. The only wish I could make is free laundry services over the coin operated machines they currently have.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCATTDoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

The location, if you're hoping to stay near the AFB, couldn't be closer. If you look down the street, you can see the entrance. The downside to this is the level of security there is just to get into the hotel.

A closed gate greets you upon your arrival, if you arrive after 7 pm. You must scan your key card to get into this gate. If you haven't checked in yet, it's not made entirely clear what you have to do (there's no signage) to get past the gate. So, I pressed what appeared to be an intercom button to ask for help. I sat in my car for 3 minutes, with no response, and finally the gate magically lifted. Not really sure what the point of the gate is if you're just going to open it for anyone, no questions asked.

Once I arrived inside, a girl at the front desk appeared from around the corner and seemed only vaguely aware of my presence as she checked me into my room.

The next day when I came back to my room around 3 pm, I noticed my room had not yet been cleaned. When I called the front desk to politely inquire when housekeeping would be making a visit, I only heard silence. When I asked if the girl was still there, she replied "Yes. Housekeeping isn't scheduled to come by your room until tomorrow." Again, fine, just let me know with some sort of signage so I know what to expect.

When trying to leave the hotel after 7 pm, another closed gate greets you. Instead of it taking into account that you are already *INSIDE* the hotel and just opening, it, of course, requires you to scan your key card to leave. I have a feeling safety was not factored into the equation when designing this system, nor was common sense.

Overall though the suites are lovely, brand new, and well equipped. The complimentary breakfast is overwhelming and delicious. As a hotel itself, it does well.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank absolutangel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

I enjoyed my extended stay here very much. It is very convenient to the back gate of Andrews AFB . Easy access to the Beltway as well. Many dining and shopping areas are just a short drive away, as well as a quick drive to park at Metro (if you get there early enough.) The rooms are not actually suites, in my opinion, as the kitchen and the bed are in the same room, not that it matters. The bed is very comfortable, and the bathroom is a nice size with a very nice shower. Loved having a small sitting area and a new LCD television. Breakfast and Internet are free, and there are also computers to use if you are computerless. Free fax machine, too. Breakfast was typical--cereals, bagels, fruit. Loved the freshly baked cookies in the evening. My one and only complaint, and there is nothing Marriott can do about it, is the lousy cell phone reception. Lots of us had to hang around outside with the mosquitos to make phone calls. The parking lot requires a room key to enter at night, which I found to be nice. I was never concerned about my security. I will definitely return here again when I have business at Andrews, and because of the low room rate, I will consider it for personal travel.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
Thank Igavegoldieaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

These folks are amazingly flexible with extending your stay if you are military or retired; they worked through all of our problems with the Marriott rewards people and juggled reservations to keep us in the same room for four nights running. The accommodations are very good, the social activities as well (and you can bring your pet).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snewton929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ayabuuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Camp Springs/Andrews AFB
2.4 mi away
Colony South
Colony South
#3 of 4 in Clinton
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at Joint Base Andrews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base), MD
11.1 mi away
Courtyard Waldorf
Courtyard Waldorf
#4 of 12 in Waldorf
198 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC East - Andrews AFB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Clinton by Marriott at Joint Base Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Clinton by Marriott at Joint Base Andrews

Address: 7800 Ferry Ave, Clinton, MD 20735-1731
Region: United States > Maryland > Clinton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Clinton
Price Range: £102 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TownePlace Suites Clinton by Marriott at Joint Base Andrews 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Platinum Awards hotel is a perfect place to call home for a weekend getaway or extended business trip to the Washington DC area. TownePlace Suites residential-style accommodations are stocked with all the essentials for real living. All our suites come with fully equipped kitchens, living area, a home office and plenty of space to spread out. Begin your day with a complimentary hot breakfast, free wireless internet access, enjoy our heated indoor swimming pool and hot tub, and get fit in our fitness center. Take your dinner outdoor and prepare on the grill in our large outside patio. And, for evening entertainment take a taxi ride to/from the National Harbor or Branch Avenue Metro (call hotel for details) and explore what Washington DC, Virginia and Maryland has to offer. Whether you’re here for a few days or a few months, the TownePlace Suites enables you to add life to longer stays and we are pet friendly! You will feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TownePlace Suites Clinton by Marriott at Joint Base Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing