We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surratt House” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surratt House Museum

Surratt House Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$240.00*
and up
Private Customized Tour of Washington DC with US Veteran
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1852 as a middle-class plantation home, historic Surratt House recaptures life during the mid-19th century and features the fascinating web of the Lincoln conspiracy.
Lady Lake, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Surratt House”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

We got there 10 minutes before it closed so they would no let us into the house. We were so disappointed, and would not unlock it They did allow us into the gift shop in case we wanted to make a purchase. There is a good 4 minute interactive map that shows the escape route that John Wilkes Booth took from Fords Theatre to the capture point 12 days later.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntingtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enlightening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

If you think you know all there is to know about President Abraham Lincoln's assassination, think again. The exceedingly knowledgeable docents at The Surratt House Museum will share with you tidbits you may never have known before. I highly recommend this fascinating museum.

Helpful?
3 Thank OpenGatesFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Full of Interest and Authenticity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

The guides were well versed in everything you could possibly wish to know about the house. They very much brought the house "to life" in an informative, interesting and engaging manner. At three dollars, this was a real bargain and if you are interested in the assassination of Abraham Lincoln, this is a must see and well worth the while.

Helpful?
3 Thank topfellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SURRATT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Great tours and the docents very knowledgeable. Love the Civil War history and how this house played a major part in it. Thanks..

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBERT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

I was interested in seeing this attraction. The admission was good; $3.00. Go during the week when it is open (Wednesday.) I was there around 1. I had a private tour since it was not busy. The young man who was the docent did a great job filling in some things I did not know. Friendly staff. I recommend this attraction.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Surratt House Museum also viewed

 

Been to Surratt House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing