We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find for travellors on a budget.”
Review of Colony South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colony South
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clinton
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We liked this place because we were on a very tight budget. It's far enough outside D.C. to beat the city prices, but if you avoid rush hour, still only about 20 minutes from the capitol building. The room was clean and comfortable, and housekeeping staff were great. As was true for a couple other reviewers, we didn't use the small indoor pool because it was always crowded with kids or a movement class; yes, the front desk staff were a bit distracted at times, and the coin-op laundry was out of detergent, (there is a Wallmart very close). However, for the money, it was a steal, especially when booked in an Orbitz combo deal with the rental car. (Medium size car and king bed room were only $540 for six days). Skip the deal offering to include their buffet breakfast. Travelling with my nephew, we had booked a room with two double beds and had to share a king bed instead. They said they'd overbooked, and would move us when the room type we'd ordered opened up. We inquired again twice more during our stay and then just gave up on that. If you are a history buff, check out the Surrat boarding house museum down the road. Mary Surrat was the woman who was hung as a participant in the Lincoln assassination conspiracy. Overall, not a bad experience and we'd go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnsfromCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillicentPerkins, Front Office Manager at Colony South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for the review of the Colony South Hotel and Conference Center. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
There are newer reviews for Colony South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a great place to stay if visiting Washington. Its outside the city and it is quiet. Had the best sleep outside from my own bed. The beds were very comfortable and the room was spacious. We even had a balcony with rocking chairs. Nice indoor pool and gym. We didnt eat at the restaurant but it seemed nice.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a balcony, its nice to sit and relax after a long day
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear sam h,

Thank you for your comments about your visit this summer to The Colony South. I am glad that your visit was pleasant and hope to welcome you back soon. Please call my directly, if I may be of further service.

Fernando Mayol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I talked with the manager (Fernando) before booking my room and got excellent service. The room was spacious and very quiet. The other reviews are correct when they say that the club is extremely busy on the weekends but it didn't bother us. The shuttle to and from the Branch Ave Metro station was very convenient. All of the staff was friendly and courteous to us. We had a great visit!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms on the north side are very quiet! Definitely talk to the manager before booking t...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear Robert B,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us this last summer. Your family was a delight and we enjoyed having you with us. Please come back soon and call me anytime, if I may again be of service.

Fernando Mayol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I found this hotel via Bookit.com and when we arrived I went to the front desk to check in and the man behind the counter didn't even realize I was there because he was staring at some girls coming from the other direction. We were there for3 days and were only able to use the pool once for about an hour, they were either cleaning it or had a class. We tried to do laundry but the soap machine was out of all laundry detergent. We went to breakfast and were told that we had to have coupons, which the guy at the front desk did not provide because he was obviously distracted. When we finally got our coupons, after running back an forth between front desk and restaurant we had a buffet available. We found out on our 2nd day that we were also allowed to order from a menu, which we did. The eggs Benedict was the worst, muffin was not toasted, 2 very thin slices of ham, a HARD boiled egg and a dollop of hollandaise sauce. We left the hotel at 9am and didn't return till after 4pm...our room had not been cleaned. We asked the cleaning lady in the hall for more towels and she told us to tell the other girl. There was no other girl!! All this and all anyone would say was 'sorry,. I absolutely would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you choose this hotel, try to get a room close to the elevators. The halls are very long.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1017Moni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Hi Robert B,

Your feedback is invaluable and I was delighted to have your family with us last summer. You folks make our job easy. Please come back soon.

Fernando Mayol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Free breakfast, close to Andrews AFB, helpful and pleasant staff, and overall excellent place to stay compared to the chains. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is traveling to Andrews or anywhere in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Hi Robert T,

Your comments are welcomed and appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to The Colony South and hope to welcome you back soon.

Thanks,
Fernando Mayol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I decided to take my friend to the Wayfarer's Restaurant at the Colony South for his birthday weekend. I haven't eaten there in almost 15 years, and still remember how good the food was, so I thought we'd visit the restaurant for his birthday dinner. I had the crab cakes and he ordered the ribs. The crabcake was absolutely delectable and the ribs were the most tender ribs we've tasted in a long time. Needless to say, dinner was fantastic. We decided to stay the night and booked a double bed room. The price was RIGHT! The bed was very comfortable, the room and bathroom were extremely clean. I met the chambermaid, Angelina. She was personable and friendly, and told me she'd be the one taking care of us should we need anything at all. I truly enjoyed interacting with her. She was great. We had a wonderful weekend and will DEFINITELY be visiting the Wayfarer Restaurant and staying at the Colony South again in the near future. WE LOVED IT!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teysgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillicentPerkins, Front Office Manager at Colony South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for the glowing review of the Colony South Hotel and Conference Center We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Because it had the words conference center in the name I thought it would be better. Our AC/heat unit died. It just died!! BUT the windows open which is just awesome so we just opened the windows. They have a huge pool and nice hot tub. Hospital is directly behind the hotel. Ask for a room near the elevator because the place is a square with pool in the middle so you could have a long walk to the elevator.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Motadean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Motadean,

Thank you for your comments about your recent visit to Colony South. I'm sorry that your A/C died, but trust that its repair/replacement was handled efficiently. The hotel is built like a square around a big Courtyard lined with rose bushes and leading to the Pool and Fitness Center. Our exterior rooms have balconies. Please come back soon and I can personally handle your arrangements, if you contact me directly. Thank you.
Sincerely,
Fernando Mayol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at Joint Base Andrews
19.1 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
597 reviews
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Clinton by Marriott at Joint Base Andrews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Upper Marlboro near Andrews AFB
7.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 12 in Waldorf
76 reviews
10.7 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Upper Marlboro
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony South

Address: 7401 Surratts Rd, Clinton, MD 20735-3300
Region: United States > Maryland > Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clinton
Price Range: £70 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony South 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Gateway to the Nation's Capital and all Southern Maryland has to offer The Colony features over 195 guest rooms and suites, which are spacious and newly decorated, just minutes from Andrews, Fed-Ex Field, Washington DC, Six Flags and more.With an indoor Pool, Spa and fitness center, you can end the day enjoying a relaxing and sumptuous dining experience in our Wayfarer Restaurant, enjoying a cocktail while listening to live bands in our Decoy Lounge, or begin the day with a fresh cup of coffee & pastry in the morning offered by our Cafe. The primary choice in our region for Weddings and Catered events our elegant Cotillion Ballroom is the perfect setting for a corporate business meeting or the most delicate and beautiful wedding featuring over 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for any type of event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Colony South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony South Clinton
Colony South Hotel Clinton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing