We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colony South
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn at Joint Base Andrews(Clinton)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
56
47
52
32
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
47
52
32
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle driverconference centerwould recommend this hotel to anyonehotel restaurantcoffee makerdecoydcmaryland
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is beautiful inside and out, nice elegance in a convenient location - very close to DC, NASA, Six Flags, and other surrounding attractions on the DC beltway. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Beds are okay - double beds are a bit small and the mattresses could be better but beds are good enough for a good night's sleep. Breakfast is not necessarily included free with your room, ask about offers because the breakfast is very nice in the hotel restaurant but need pay if you don't have it included free. No worries because at the next exit down the road there are many places to eat including Starbucks, etc. Hotel has a pool and gym, free wi-fi and complimentary "business area" with printer but there is only one computer. Staff are very friendly and attentive, especially Angeline in housekeeping - very personable. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank TwoGardenias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Hi TwoGardenias,

Your comments about your visit are appreciated and welcomed. I am delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and would love to have you visit us again soon. We strive to offer value in a very competitive market and it's rewarding when our efforts are noticed. We work hard to achieve the very experience you enjoyed.

Fernando Mayol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

In lack of better accomodation we booked this hotel 2 days prior to arrival. We stayed two nights. Check in was motel standard. Ordinary.

The rooms are clean and nice. No complaints there. The side door (into the hotel) card swipers does not work.

We decided to have breakfast at the hotel the first day. This was the most awkward experience ever. The hotel charges you 7 something dollars per person for the so called breakfast buffé. Apparently you can get coupons from the front desk, but this was not mentioned at check in. Anyway, the breakfast itself was extremly poor. This is what you get from the buffé: eggs, sauseage, toast, butter. THIS IS IT! Federal prisoners get more on their breakfast plate than what is offered at the "buffé". And the food itself tasted like microwaved goo. And for all this, the staff expected a tip. SERIOUSLY?!

If you are staying at this motel/hotel eat your breakfast elsewhere!

Also beware of the dresscode policy at this facility certain days of the week.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Altheo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear Altheo25,

Thanks for your comments about your visit. I appreciate your candor and perceptions and take them seriously and to heart. The swipe on the side door has been fixed and we apparently caused some confusion about the breakfast options and offerings. We have a buffet, that if you purchase the breakfast option ON LINE, would be included in your room rate, but beyond that we have a full compliment menu where we offer almost anything you can want for breakfast. I would like the opportunity to have you give us another chance to be of service - please call me and I can handle your arrangements for a more pleasant visit.

Fernando Mayol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

For the price tha hotel was ok, metro into the city was fast and frequent.
The hotel has a shuttle to take you to the metro BUT only leaves on the hour.

Our frist 3 rides on the shuttle were not pleasent.

First morning we get in the van and set off the van is dirty and smells, we have to turn back to collect 2 more women from the hotel. The driver and one of the women he collects are both not happy and argue most of the way about the timing of the set off, only settles down when the driver threatens to pull over and leave the woman. Not a nice situation for my 6 and 3 year olds.
On returning that day we called the hotel 3 stops before as advised, was told van was there and would wait. When we arrived no van and after 4 more calls with the hotel saying they didnt know where the shuttle van was it finally arrived after an hour waiting in the hot hot weather, by that time too many people were waiting we could not all fit in.

The Second morning van sets off and drives round the carpark with the two side doors wide open! Anyone could of fallen out or been hit by the door. Not safe with so many young children in the van.

They advertise a Bar, restaurant and coffee shop, we tried to go to the bar to get a drink but it was over 25s only from 5.30pm that night- Wednesday! and almost every night it had a cover charge advestered by reception. The coffee shop does not serve tea not even hot water.. Think they took the name literally.

Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the caroark we were woken most night by loud drunk people leaving the bar.

There are NO resturants near here except in the hotel.

Room Tip: Shuttle service only runs on the hour and stops at 7 on a weekend, nothing to do near hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank UpsyDaisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillicentPerkins, Front Office Manager at Colony South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your review. However, I am certainly disappointed by the lack of professionalism you experienced on the shuttle. We pride ourselves in great customer service as I suspect you saw throughout the rest of the property. Your experience falls way below our standards. We are very much aware of the issue that took place that day and it has been resolved. Please reach out to me personally at millicentp@colonysouth.com. Before booking your next stay, contact me personally so we can go above and beyond your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We liked this place because we were on a very tight budget. It's far enough outside D.C. to beat the city prices, but if you avoid rush hour, still only about 20 minutes from the capitol building. The room was clean and comfortable, and housekeeping staff were great. As was true for a couple other reviewers, we didn't use the small indoor pool because it was always crowded with kids or a movement class; yes, the front desk staff were a bit distracted at times, and the coin-op laundry was out of detergent, (there is a Wallmart very close). However, for the money, it was a steal, especially when booked in an Orbitz combo deal with the rental car. (Medium size car and king bed room were only $540 for six days). Skip the deal offering to include their buffet breakfast. Travelling with my nephew, we had booked a room with two double beds and had to share a king bed instead. They said they'd overbooked, and would move us when the room type we'd ordered opened up. We inquired again twice more during our stay and then just gave up on that. If you are a history buff, check out the Surrat boarding house museum down the road. Mary Surrat was the woman who was hung as a participant in the Lincoln assassination conspiracy. Overall, not a bad experience and we'd go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnsfromCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillicentPerkins, Front Office Manager at Colony South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for the review of the Colony South Hotel and Conference Center. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a great place to stay if visiting Washington. Its outside the city and it is quiet. Had the best sleep outside from my own bed. The beds were very comfortable and the room was spacious. We even had a balcony with rocking chairs. Nice indoor pool and gym. We didnt eat at the restaurant but it seemed nice.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a balcony, its nice to sit and relax after a long day
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear sam h,

Thank you for your comments about your visit this summer to The Colony South. I am glad that your visit was pleasant and hope to welcome you back soon. Please call my directly, if I may be of further service.

Fernando Mayol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews