We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value in the DC area!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colony South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colony South
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clinton
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value in the DC area!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel is worth the money. I came to DC for an internship during the summer and wasn't quite sure if this hotel would meet my needs. After all, I didn't know where Clinton, MD was and I needed direct access to the metro in order to get back and forth to work. I called the hotel and the front desk staff was extremely friendly; the receptionist made me less apprehensive when she told me that the hotel had free shuttle service to the metro station at Branch Avenue. This was great. I checked into my room and didn't find any problems. It was clean, spacious and had water pressure in the shower. The rooms come equipped with a coffee pot, mini fridge and microwave. The housekeeping staff is really nice. I ate at the restaurant bar one night while I was there because they had $.50 wings on sale. The wings weren't the best but you can't beat that price. Students, summer interns, working professionals, families: this hotel is for you. I got a great on Hotwire for a week and it was less than $500. You won't find better value anywhere else in the city.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DcIntern2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Dcintern2014,

I am delighted that you were able to utilize our van service for your commutes during your internship in Washington DC. We appreciate your comments about the value and service we offer and hope to have you back soon and often.

Thank you.
Fernando Mayol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    44
    46
    30
    33
See reviews for
59
38
20
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is beautiful. There is an indoor pool. They even have water aerobics. Outside there is a sitting area and in the back there is a patio area with a grill, tables with umbrellas and a small pond. It was a great place to stay.Easy access to DC without the hassle of parking. They have shuttle service to take you to the metro and they will pick you up there as well. Metro takes you right to DC, baseball stadium, waterfront, etc. Room was very clean. Staff very friendly. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbiep91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Debbip91,

Thanks for your very nice comments about your experiences and recent visit to The Colony South Hotel. I am very pleased and happy that you enjoyed your visit and used many of our facilities and amenities. Our property does have some nice vistas and surroundings that can be enjoyed year around. I hope you come back soon.

Fernando Mayol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is beautiful inside and out, nice elegance in a convenient location - very close to DC, NASA, Six Flags, and other surrounding attractions on the DC beltway. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Beds are okay - double beds are a bit small and the mattresses could be better but beds are good enough for a good night's sleep. Breakfast is not necessarily included free with your room, ask about offers because the breakfast is very nice in the hotel restaurant but need pay if you don't have it included free. No worries because at the next exit down the road there are many places to eat including Starbucks, etc. Hotel has a pool and gym, free wi-fi and complimentary "business area" with printer but there is only one computer. Staff are very friendly and attentive, especially Angeline in housekeeping - very personable. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoGardenias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Hi TwoGardenias,

Your comments about your visit are appreciated and welcomed. I am delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and would love to have you visit us again soon. We strive to offer value in a very competitive market and it's rewarding when our efforts are noticed. We work hard to achieve the very experience you enjoyed.

Fernando Mayol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

In lack of better accomodation we booked this hotel 2 days prior to arrival. We stayed two nights. Check in was motel standard. Ordinary.

The rooms are clean and nice. No complaints there. The side door (into the hotel) card swipers does not work.

We decided to have breakfast at the hotel the first day. This was the most awkward experience ever. The hotel charges you 7 something dollars per person for the so called breakfast buffé. Apparently you can get coupons from the front desk, but this was not mentioned at check in. Anyway, the breakfast itself was extremly poor. This is what you get from the buffé: eggs, sauseage, toast, butter. THIS IS IT! Federal prisoners get more on their breakfast plate than what is offered at the "buffé". And the food itself tasted like microwaved goo. And for all this, the staff expected a tip. SERIOUSLY?!

If you are staying at this motel/hotel eat your breakfast elsewhere!

Also beware of the dresscode policy at this facility certain days of the week.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Altheo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Altheo25,

Thanks for your comments about your visit. I appreciate your candor and perceptions and take them seriously and to heart. The swipe on the side door has been fixed and we apparently caused some confusion about the breakfast options and offerings. We have a buffet, that if you purchase the breakfast option ON LINE, would be included in your room rate, but beyond that we have a full compliment menu where we offer almost anything you can want for breakfast. I would like the opportunity to have you give us another chance to be of service - please call me and I can handle your arrangements for a more pleasant visit.

Fernando Mayol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

For the price tha hotel was ok, metro into the city was fast and frequent.
The hotel has a shuttle to take you to the metro BUT only leaves on the hour.

Our frist 3 rides on the shuttle were not pleasent.

First morning we get in the van and set off the van is dirty and smells, we have to turn back to collect 2 more women from the hotel. The driver and one of the women he collects are both not happy and argue most of the way about the timing of the set off, only settles down when the driver threatens to pull over and leave the woman. Not a nice situation for my 6 and 3 year olds.
On returning that day we called the hotel 3 stops before as advised, was told van was there and would wait. When we arrived no van and after 4 more calls with the hotel saying they didnt know where the shuttle van was it finally arrived after an hour waiting in the hot hot weather, by that time too many people were waiting we could not all fit in.

The Second morning van sets off and drives round the carpark with the two side doors wide open! Anyone could of fallen out or been hit by the door. Not safe with so many young children in the van.

They advertise a Bar, restaurant and coffee shop, we tried to go to the bar to get a drink but it was over 25s only from 5.30pm that night- Wednesday! and almost every night it had a cover charge advestered by reception. The coffee shop does not serve tea not even hot water.. Think they took the name literally.

Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the caroark we were woken most night by loud drunk people leaving the bar.

There are NO resturants near here except in the hotel.

Room Tip: Shuttle service only runs on the hour and stops at 7 on a weekend, nothing to do near hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UpsyDaisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillicentPerkins, Front Office Manager at Colony South, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review. However, I am certainly disappointed by the lack of professionalism you experienced on the shuttle. We pride ourselves in great customer service as I suspect you saw throughout the rest of the property. Your experience falls way below our standards. We are very much aware of the issue that took place that day and it has been resolved. Please reach out to me personally at millicentp@colonysouth.com. Before booking your next stay, contact me personally so we can go above and beyond your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We liked this place because we were on a very tight budget. It's far enough outside D.C. to beat the city prices, but if you avoid rush hour, still only about 20 minutes from the capitol building. The room was clean and comfortable, and housekeeping staff were great. As was true for a couple other reviewers, we didn't use the small indoor pool because it was always crowded with kids or a movement class; yes, the front desk staff were a bit distracted at times, and the coin-op laundry was out of detergent, (there is a Wallmart very close). However, for the money, it was a steal, especially when booked in an Orbitz combo deal with the rental car. (Medium size car and king bed room were only $540 for six days). Skip the deal offering to include their buffet breakfast. Travelling with my nephew, we had booked a room with two double beds and had to share a king bed instead. They said they'd overbooked, and would move us when the room type we'd ordered opened up. We inquired again twice more during our stay and then just gave up on that. If you are a history buff, check out the Surrat boarding house museum down the road. Mary Surrat was the woman who was hung as a participant in the Lincoln assassination conspiracy. Overall, not a bad experience and we'd go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnsfromCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MillicentPerkins, Front Office Manager at Colony South, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for the review of the Colony South Hotel and Conference Center. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a great place to stay if visiting Washington. Its outside the city and it is quiet. Had the best sleep outside from my own bed. The beds were very comfortable and the room was spacious. We even had a balcony with rocking chairs. Nice indoor pool and gym. We didnt eat at the restaurant but it seemed nice.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a balcony, its nice to sit and relax after a long day
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando M, General Manager at Colony South, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear sam h,

Thank you for your comments about your visit this summer to The Colony South. I am glad that your visit was pleasant and hope to welcome you back soon. Please call my directly, if I may be of further service.

Fernando Mayol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clinton
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at Joint Base Andrews
2.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Clinton at Joint Base Andrews
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Waldorf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Camp Springs/Andrews AFB
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Camp Springs (Andrews Air Force Base)
19.0 mi away
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Chesapeake Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony South

Property: Colony South
Address: 7401 Surratts Road, Clinton, MD 20735
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony South 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Gateway to the Nation's Capital and all Southern Maryland has to offer The Colony features over 195 guest rooms and suites, which are spacious and newly decorated, just minutes from Andrews, Fed-Ex Field, Washington DC, Six Flags and more.With an indoor Pool, Spa and fitness center, you can end the day enjoying a relaxing and sumptuous dining experience in our Wayfarer Restaurant, enjoying a cocktail while listening to live bands in our Decoy Lounge, or begin the day with a fresh cup of coffee & pastry in the morning offered by our Cafe. The primary choice in our region for Weddings and Catered events our elegant Cotillion Ballroom is the perfect setting for a corporate business meeting or the most delicate and beautiful wedding featuring over 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for any type of event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Colony South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony South Clinton
Colony South Hotel Clinton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing