We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ribs in town and Great crab cakes!”
Review of Corner Stable

Corner Stable
Reserve with OpenTable
Corner Stable is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 93 Restaurants in Cockeysville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Family owned and operated since 1972, The Corner Stable on York Rd in Cockeysville, MD is a friendly local restaurant with emphasis on creating great food and a warm "at home" atmosphere. In 2011, our Corner Stable Family grew to include our second restaurant at the Kings Contrivance Village Center in Columbia, MD. We are known for our Famous Baby Back Ribs and Colossal Lump Crab Cakes. We also offer a wide variety of American classics and local favorites. Whether you're planning a family dinner, a big night out, or an intimate evening, our restaurants are the place for you! Pair your meal with a local craft beer or signature cocktail from our bar while gathering with friends or catching a game on one of our large flat screen TVs. Take a moment to look around our site and see all that we have to offer! Our family and dedicated team members look forward to providing you with great service and an unforgettable dining experience. We open every day at 11:00am, with daily food and drink specials available. Carryout, Catering, Party Planning and Shipping available.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best ribs in town and Great crab cakes!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Wonderful, gooy, slow cooked, and delicious ribs.
They also offer a full menu. However, their crab cakes are to die for, and are worth the trip on their own merit. Great family type place, good for kids, old folks, and "foodies" too!
Ya gotta try this place, and I bet you will return again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeithLauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    94
    29
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good neighborhood joint”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

This is definitely a neighborhood establishment. It is not fine dining. It has a sports feel with multiple TV's hanging on the wall tuned to all types of sports.

Our waiter was friendly and knowledgable. The woman that took our drink order not so much. Bigger on the inside than it appears externally.

The ribs were good. Unusual flavor but good. Nothing we ordered was bad. All tasty and edible. Large menu and dessert choices. Home style cooking. Service was fast.

Would return here for a quick meal but not for a special occasion or a place to entertain friends.

Helpful?
1 Thank YBtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Ribs!! Expect: Messy food, big Crowds,”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Ribs!! Expect: Messy delicious ribs, big Crowds, lots of noise. Don't go here and order chicken and then complain like a Winey looser. Get the RIBS!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BandwagonPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dissappointing”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We patronized this restaurant on the basis of a string of favorable reviews on various websites, but the reality did not meet our expectations. It was a Friday evening, the place was busy as would be expected and the noise level was high.

The first impression was that the maximum possible number of booths and tables has been packed in, resulting in both being a little smaller and closer together than we found comfortable. We were advised of a fifteen minute wait for a booth so took a buzzer and went for a drink at the bar (happy hour, $1 off pints, several craft beers offered) but the buzzer went off just as our drinks were poured so we took them to the table.

Most reviews speak highly of the ribs and crab cakes. Firstly I was surprised that a half-rack is not offered on its own, only in combination with another item. Also the prices seemed high for a basic barbeque restaurant. We settled for a half-rack with fried chicken breast and a shrimp salad sandwich. Quite honestly I've had better ribs and chicken elsewhere at lower prices. Neither was particularly meaty, and both were dryer that expected although not sufficiently so to be worth complaining. The sandwich was OK.

There was nothing wrong with the service, our server did not hurry us while we reviewed the menu, the food arrived within minutes of ordering and she continued to check back with us regularly even after being given a table of eight to serve as well.

All in all we do not recommend going out of your way to eat here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jocripps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good Ribs”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I LOVE ribs and have tried many places. The ribs at the Corner Stable are good. They aren't the best I ever had but they were tender and had a good flavor. The sauce is tangy and bold but not overpowering. Place is cramped and always busy but worth the visit. Service is fast and friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BaronVonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corner Stable also viewed

 

Been to Corner Stable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing