We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Highclaire but....”
Review of The White Hart Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Hart Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Close to Highclaire but....”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Our friends and us stayed here because of it's proximity to Highclaire castle which we toured earlier in the day. Staff were all pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was quite good. Flies in the pub area and a cockroach in the shower did not impress. Also the toilet seat would not stay up for some reason. Our rooms were in the nearby converted barn. Reasonably comfortable but small. next time we will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank septuagenerian_ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to review your stay with us. We take great pride in creating a comfortable, relaxing and clean environment throughout our inn for our guests to enjoy. We are, therefore, disappointed that you found shortcomings with your room and are only sorry that you did not raise those with us during your stay. We hope that you might consider staying with us again in the future in order that we can show you the very best traditional country inn experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    40
    14
    14
    7
See reviews for
29
56
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We planned 2 nights with White Hart Inn, our last accommodation before we left to come home to Oz.
Its a lovely setting the pub clean and tidy and friendly service... we were booked in fine and taken to our room, which was a double on the edge of the pub outdoor seating area lovely spot.
When we looked around the room we found that the bathroom floor was not as clean as it should have been and the glasses in bathroom had not been cleaned. So if this wasnt clean I kinda guess the rest of the room was not either. I brought this to the attention of the manager and to his credit the matter was addressed correctly and we where given another room. Unfortuneatly the other room was worst.....no toilet lid and screws left on the toilet, no pressure from the shower, dusty, spiderwebs in corners. Previous occupant rubbish still in dresser, only 2 teabags, hardly any milk..... by this stage we had had enough and only stayed one night....the manager was appolgetic, but clearly things needs to be check that staff are doing their job..... over all little things that could have been sorted not impressed when your asking 80 pounds a night

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank librianspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Further to my response of yesterday to your review, I have now had an opportunity to investigate the matters you raised with the staff who met you. It was unfortunate that neither I (the owner) nor my General Manager were on site during your stay and, clearly, our normal protocols were not followed as we were not aware of your dissatisfaction until now. Sadly, I am otherwise unable to reconcile the separate reports of your stay. If we let ourselves down in our, normally, very high standards in our rooms - and Rooms 8 and 9, overlooking the garden, are very popular - I can only apologise. We hope that, should you have the opportunity to return to the UK, you will consider staying with us again, so that we can ensure you have the perfect stay at our traditional country inn that we wish our guests to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a very good country pub with interesting food and real ales. Breakfast was fine. The attached room (in a converted barn) are comfortable enough for a night or two, but could have been cleaner, and the bathroom was small, dated, and needed refurbishment.
It is easy to get to and from Newbury, but navigating cross-country through the maze of lanes is a challenge, even to us, who live in a rural area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed it. As the owner, I am a bit taken aback by your comment on the room's cleanliness - something to which we attach very high importance. If there's an issue, it WILL be sorted. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We found this lovely pub by accident two years ago and thoroughly enjoyed our meals, especially as we could take our dog in. In August 2013 we needed a place to meet somewhere near Newbury and this inn was our first choice. Once again it was the right choice: excellent food, friendly service, the dog welcomed. Staff went the extra mile to serve the birthday cake we'd brought with us. We'll definitely go back there - and we might try the rooms next time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank David_Dorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you (dog included, I trust) so much enjoy our traditional country inn. We look forward to welcoming you to The White Hart Inn again soon. Do try the rooms! Look out for our Winter Weekend Breaks, which we will be introducing in the next month or so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed a Friday and Saturday night a few weeks ago and was everything we had hoped it would be. Lovely location for some great walking, even managed a short 3 mile one before returning home on the Sunday. You can pick up details of walks in the bar.The weather was summery and it was nice being able to come back from our walk and sit on our little terrace with a drink and my kindle. The staff were all young, friendly and efficient. Only frustrating thing was figuring out how to get hot water from the shower, but the room was lovely with a comfy bed with nice linen.
I don't know if they make there own bread, but the bread that comes with the goat cheese was fabulous. My husband loved the grey mullet - the waitor said they were huge and they were- and the black pudding at breakfast.
This place is only an hours drive from home, yet we felt we had been away for longer than a few days, very relaxing.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TABCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed it - and, yes, we do make our own bread. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The White Hart Inn again soon - look out for our Winter Weekend Breaks; they're terrific and we'll have the log fires going by then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uxbridge
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

stayed on a saturday night after racing at newbury.welcomed by a young lad who served us a drink `& showed us to our room in the barn conversion,very nicely decorated very large & with all the mod cons.back to the bar for another drink & a table in the restaurant & probably one of the pub meals i have ever had. the choices were exceptional it took me half hour to decide.this pub is in a lovely country setting has welcoming friendly staff great food & a comfortable bed topped off by a great breakfast, total bill including drinks £150 (GREAT VALUE) will definitely go back

Room Tip: always choose upstairs , nobody moving above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonandmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you so very much for your fantastic review of The White Hart Inn. Just the kind of stay we want you to have! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soth east
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed one night after going to Ladies day at Newbury Racecourse.The room was lovely with so many nice touches that you don't often encounter these days .bottled water ,tea and biscuits and lovely toiletries.We had had an odd day of eating at the race course so we ordered 2 platters instead of a main meal and we were delighted with our choice .The staff were all very friendly and helpful .
The breakfast was delicious and I have never seen anyone manage a restaurant better than the man who served us breakfast !! He made it look effortless and we wanted for nothing .we home to return someday

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilde503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us - it's our job to spoil you! We very much look forward to welcoming back to The White Hart Inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamstead Marshall
2.6 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Carnarvon Arms Hotel
6.4 mi away
The Bunk Inn
The Bunk Inn
#3 of 26 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Carpenters Arms
The Carpenters Arms
#5 of 26 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Inn

Property: The White Hart Inn
Address: Enbourne Road, Hamstead Marshall, Newbury RG20 0HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury > Hamstead Marshall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hamstead Marshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16Th-century coaching inn located in the historic village of Hamstead Marshall, The White Hart Inn is a 10-minute drive from both Newbury and Hungerford.Open throughout the day from 11.30Am, The White Hart Inn offers you a warm welcome and all the comforts of a traditional country inn, including outstanding pub food "classics", fantastic beers and wines and nine delightfully comfortable bedrooms. Food and drink features locally sourced and free-range produce, wherever possible, making the best use of seasonal availability.With simple decor and a modern bathroom, each room also has a flat-screen TV and facilities for making tea and coffee. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the building. A classic full English breakfast is provided each morning in the charming and relaxed inn.Heathrow Airport is around 45 minutes' drive from The White Hart Inn. Both Highclere Castle and Donnington Castle are a few miles away, and The Living Rainforest is about 10 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel Newbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing