We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Hart Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Hart Inn
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a fabulous stay here, the food the service absolutely superb, the room was lovely but in need of a new bathroom, but it did not spoilt our stay.
We had a lovely chat to the chef next morning of whom told us about a restaurant in Bournemouth to try called the Crab, of which we did and we were not disappointed it was beautiful. (thank you chef)
The Manager and the staff were also great
Loved it

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethtina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of The White Hart Inn. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    40
    14
    14
    7
See reviews for
29
56
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had to break off our journey mid-way to Wales and this turned out to be the perfect place. Lovely setting, comfortable rooms and excellent value, topped up by a delicious full English breakfast. We will definitely be going back when we have the opportubity

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your delightful review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stop-over and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from a short weekend break at this hotel , really pleased with it , excellent food , lovely rooms , very friendly staff ,they couldn't do enough for us, we had a lovely room (8) , couldn't fault it at all , it was clean spacious , cosy , perfect for a peaceful romantic break .
Meals were of a high quality , not your average "pub grub" very well presented , chef was very friendly . We will be returning again hopefully very soon
Matt from london

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
On behalf of the whole team, thank you for your super review of your stay at The White Hart Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
llanddulas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Good food,although portion sizes were very small especially breakfast...service was also slow...excellent quality bed/towels etc...annexe rooms ground floor..clean...bathroom clean but poor shower..as pet friendly places are difficult to find I would stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llanddulas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank for your review. We do, indeed, welcome well-behaved pets. I am very surprised at your comment about breakfast, which we aim to be generous and we very much encourage guests to have exactly what they want. Thank you for bringing a shortfall to our attention. It is only with feedback, such as yours, that we can pick up issues and ensure our service is the best it can possibly be. Do visit us again. Breakfast will be brilliant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The main pub was very nice and I had a great evening meal on my 1st night. The MAJOR disappointment was the room, which was in an attached building which looked like it used to be an old utility building.

Regrettably the standard of the main place has not been followed through to the rooms at all, which were very basic and VERY small. They were clean, but felt at odds with what I was expecting. It was a place to sleep in I guess, but with lots of other competition around this area, there are much better choices. For example, Rookwood Farmhouse, Dundass Arms or Bow River House to name a few, which offer far superior rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john_8_garside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We are sorry that you didn't like your room. Our Single Rooms are, as advertised and in the photos, en suite rooms for single occupancy, located in an historic converted barn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

The room was minute and dirty. When I walked in I walked into a cobweb. The bathroom had fluff and dust on the floor. When I had a shower the fire alarm went off because of the steam in the bedroom. The receptionist was rude and the breakfast wasn't enough to satisfy.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our Single Rooms are, as advertised and seen in the photos, for single occupancy with en suite facilities. We do try to take a self-effacing approach to our work but we cannot reconcile your comment about breakfast as we offer a wide range of breakfast foods and there is practically no limit on the amount guests can order. Please do call me personally if you wish to discuss you comments further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This isn't a place we would ever stay at again. We're do I start - breakfast left you hungry and they were really slow bearing in mind there was only
6 people staying. God help them(and us) if they had got busy. I have allocated 2 stars as when first arrived we received a friendly greeting and initially when we walked into our room it was very nice. However looks are very deceiving. Like hinges on wardrobe hanging off, no soundproofing for the upstairs accommodation and you can hear every step they take( the guy who showed us to the room jokingly said there's a family with 17 kids upstairs there may as well have been as there was only two occupants upstairs). 1 lot of towels,cups,bottle water in a double occupancy room and when we used the towels and left them in the bath to be refreshed. We came back from being out for the day to find them thrown on a cold radiator (I have pics to prove it), they were still damp the following morning.
There was a willow tree hanging over our front door that was starting to shed itself so every time we opened the door it all came blowing into the room - not at all pleasant.
On top of all this there were workmen in early morning building an extension. It would have been nice if the owner/manager had emailed us to let us know and give us the option to book elsewhere!

Helpful?
4 Thank Tinylittlepea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaCoulthurst, Owner at The White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for responding to my request to discuss your concerns with me personally. I enjoyed our conversation. Certainly, we agree that not everything went as it should during your stay but I think you and I also agreed that some were smaller issues - and the willow tree not under our control. It is always helpful for us to discuss the best way to put things right and I appreciate your generosity in acknowledging ours in that regard. We do hope that you will stay with us on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamstead Marshall
2.6 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Carnarvon Arms Hotel
6.4 mi away
The Bunk Inn
The Bunk Inn
#3 of 27 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Carpenters Arms
The Carpenters Arms
#5 of 27 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Inn

Property: The White Hart Inn
Address: Enbourne Road, Hamstead Marshall, Newbury RG20 0HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury > Hamstead Marshall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hamstead Marshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16Th-century coaching inn located in the historic village of Hamstead Marshall, The White Hart Inn is a 10-minute drive from both Newbury and Hungerford.Open throughout the day from 11.30Am, The White Hart Inn offers you a warm welcome and all the comforts of a traditional country inn, including outstanding pub food "classics", fantastic beers and wines and nine delightfully comfortable bedrooms. Food and drink features locally sourced and free-range produce, wherever possible, making the best use of seasonal availability.With simple decor and a modern bathroom, each room also has a flat-screen TV and facilities for making tea and coffee. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the building. A classic full English breakfast is provided each morning in the charming and relaxed inn.Heathrow Airport is around 45 minutes' drive from The White Hart Inn. Both Highclere Castle and Donnington Castle are a few miles away, and The Living Rainforest is about 10 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart Hotel Newbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing