We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice few hours on the lake.”
Review of Canoe Wild

Canoe Wild
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Fordwich
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Canoe hire for the whole family, learn to canoe courses & guided trips. Find us just outside Canterbury in a beautiful peaceful countryside location. Start canoeing from Fordwich or Grove Ferry Country Park.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice few hours on the lake.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Myself and my friend wanted to do something a bit random and found canoe wild which was not too far to get to. We couldnt steer correctly at first but thats all the fun. We paid 45 pounds to travel 5 miles which took us 2 hours. The staff were really friendly both sides and drove us back to our car which was perfect. The weather did benefit and the lake was very quiet! was a very enjoyable few hours!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicola-janeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canoe_Wild, Owner at Canoe Wild, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Thanks for coming to see us at Canoe Wild and I am glad we gave you the ability to experience this really unique river and your right the lake is lovely. When I paddled it last week there must have been at least 200 Swans on it.

Thanks again

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    9
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“So much fun and really easy going”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

so we were staying in faversham for a week and friends came to join us. We rented 2 canoes for £60 for 2 hours. The team are really friendly and really helpful! Got us sorted out straight away and made sure all our things were safe from water damage and we were aware of everything we needed to know whilst on the river. Had really good fun and was a great workout for your arms. Saw quite a few families also having a go and enjoying the experience. It was really nice to do somethjng a bit different and then just pop to the pub afterwards. I would highly reccomend this for any age! Thanks to the team!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lucy3172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canoe_Wild, Owner at Canoe Wild, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Everyone at Canoe Wild is really glad that you and your friends liked the canoeing experience. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't fault it :-)”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Looked at the brilliant website to plan an hour's hire for 6year old and I.

Got to Fordwich, found signs and phoned number, they said come to Grove Ferry as that's the base for that day.

At Grove Ferry, easily found them and the rest was history.

£15/hour for a canoe for the two of us, all in.

Had a lovely time.

In my opinion, the best times to go would be first thing intend morning, late in the evening or on a bright hit sunny day, or a frosty cold morning; that would be pretty special!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DoverDealFolkestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canoe_Wild, Owner at Canoe Wild, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We are pleased that you and your 6 year old had a good time hiring from us.
Yes we usually do one hour hires from Grove Ferry, however your opinion means a lot to us as a company and we will have to discuss how we can manage that information more effectively for other members of the public.
Thank you for your response we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing river canoe experience”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The staff were really friendly and got us all set up and ready to go. The starting point from Fordwich is stunning and the 2.5hours to get to Grove Ferry was really enjoyable. Well worth it, we'd def recommend hiring a canoe if you are in the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MertzLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canoe_Wild, Manager at Canoe Wild, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for the kind review. Our staff are so happy that they were able to provide you with a quick and excellent service so that your canoeing experience was made that bit better.
The half day hire from Fordwich to Grove Ferry is a fun and a beautiful day our, no matter what weather. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic day out on the river!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My girlfriend and I had been looking for fun outdoor adventures around Canterbury when we stumbled on to the canoe wild webpage.
We booked a canoe for 3 hours in early June and spent the afternoon canoeing in river Stour. We had a lovely time. It was sunny and the river was filled with beautiful bends.

We were dropped off to the bus stop afterwards by the staff member. The commute was a 15 minute bus ride to and from Canterbury bus station.

I would highly recommend canoe wild as an outdoor adventure on a sunny day!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chirenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canoe_Wild, Manager at Canoe Wild, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for the really encouraging review that you left. I am pleased that you found your half day experience to be just as good as you thought it would be, plus more due to the beauty of the weather and the transport to the bus stop making transport plans less hassle.
Hopefully we will see you and your girlfriend again soon, maybe you would consider taking up a BCU 1 star course for a day or two and gaining a qualification whilst having fun and learning new things?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canoe Wild also viewed

 

Been to Canoe Wild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing