We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very well run Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn - College Park
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very well run Hampton Inn”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We recently stayed at the Hampton Inn at College Park, MD for 2 nights. Our room was clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, it was supposed to be a non-smoking room and it smelled strongly of smoke (to the point that our eyes burned). Also, the shower amounted to a trickle of water. What truly impressed me was the breakfast. The staff that keeps the breakfast area cleaned and stocked were amazing! On Monday morning the breakfast area was packed and yet the two women staffing the area made sure everything stayed spotless and they did not run out of everything. It is conveniently located for activities at UMD and we were glad that we stayed there.

Room Tip: As you can hear the bell on the elevator, I would request a room farther from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madreRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    138
    65
    33
    35
See reviews for
215
49
23
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

Location is great, area is not. Regular Hamton type stay. Much better then others in area.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiseeye01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Multiple problems at this hotel, including broken bathroom door which was not fixed during our stay, and skeleton housecleaning staff which resulted in room not being cleaned until we complained at 5:00 p.m. Our room on the second floor was right next to all of the a/c compressors, which made an awful noise. Rooms are spacious and would be lovely if kept up (although no room should have a window that literally faces a bunch of a/c condensors). Breakfast absolutely awful...the worst I have had at a Hilton property...we went to the iHop next door the second day we were there. To top it off, I sent the manager an e-mail during our stay expressing our disappointment, and also called corporate. I did receive a credit for my stay, although I only found this out when looking up my bill as neither the manager nor anyone at the hotel bothered to contact me to apologize. (Perhaps he was busy as I heard multiple people complaining over the weekend about broken items in the room and about their rooms not being cleaned.) Frankly, I'd rather pay and have an excellent stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 3kids4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I did not appreciate the holds placed on my account. Upon checking in, the evening shift manager asked for a card for incidentals. I told the manager there would be no incidentals and that I prefer not to provide a card for this purpose. I travel across the state I reside in for my employment and stay in hotels on an almost weekly basis. I NEVER provide a card for incidentals. The manager explained the hold would only be $10.00 so I obliged this what I feel is ridiculous request. Upon returning home, I find that there were two holds placed on my account. One for $10.00 and one for $40.00. FOR WHAT???????? This is precisely why I do not provide a card for this purpose! Apparently, the night shift manager placed the additional hold, WITHOUT MY KNOWLEDGE OR PERMISSION! I consider that theft and I certainly will not return. It is a shame because the hotel and room were clean and I have no other complaints but this one and would have made a return stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Very convenient to UMD college park campus. Only complaint was that the fridge was not plugged in when we came and the card key was not working so I had to wait for the very slow elevator to get down to the lobby and get a new one at 11:30 PM (i was already very tired from a long drive).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LETROM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Park, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed here for a week during Spring Break and were very pleased with our experience. The staff are outstanding - they went above and beyond on numerous occasions. At least two times I was heading to the elevator carrying items in both hands and a staff member who was cleaning floors or doing something else went out of their way to press the elevator buttons for me. The front desk staff stop what they are doing to greet guests and offer assistance throughout the day. Linens were clean, very good housekeeping standards. Bed was a little on the firm side but the pillows were nice and they were in the process of improving/upgrading the internet infrastructure so it will be faster. It was perfectly adequate for our needs throughout the week.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCtrip12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This was a quick overnight stay but I was pleased with the stay. Only negative I had was that the wireless in my room was slow but not unworkable. My best experience during the stay was with the guy at the front desk in the morning. Very good personality with a sense of humor and helpful. Everyone at the front desk was friendly and easy to work with.

Breakfast was good. They had hot oatmeal with brown sugar, nuts, and fruit to add to it which is a first for me at a Hampton. Nice touch.

Everything was clean and well maintained. I'll return to this hotel if I'm in the area again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbcreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Park
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Days Inn College Park
Days Inn College Park
#9 of 11 in College Park
260 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn - College Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - College Park

Property: Hampton Inn - College Park
Address: 9670 Baltimore Avenue, College Park, MD 20740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn - College Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to all new Hampton Inn - College Park, Maryland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn - College Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - College Park Hotel College Park
College Park Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing