We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hard Times Cafe College Park

Hard Times Cafe College Park
Ranked #3 of 107 Restaurants in College Park
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We came for lunch and it was fairly busy. They only had a few servers but our server Shannon was excellent. We liked that they gave samples of their four chili options which came with no beans. We did not care for the vegetarian but the other three were good. You could have beans added if you wished. We liked the chili dogs and chicken wrap. We did not care for their French fries which were neither crispy or served hot.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beconthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    33
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good chili, bar atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Hard Times serves alcohol and has a bar with several seasonal beers on tap as well as domestic and imported beers. The chili is good and they have a take-out service. There are televisions and a jukebox, so it's not a quiet enclave, just be aware if you had intentions of studying while you eat! They used to have key lime pie, but not anymore, and I really miss it!

There is an outside eating area, but it allows smoking and so it always reeks of cigarettes. Do not sit outside if you can't handle cigarette smoke.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Park, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I like the wings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

I like their grilled wings, especially the chili lime ones. The manager is very friendly there. Their burgers are pretty good as well. They did get rid of their burger night last time I went, but they still have specials daily. The place is a pretty typical bar/ restaurant otherwise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia1588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Place Where Everyone Knows Your Name”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This place has a nice atmosphere, friendly servers, and delicious food - several kinds of Chilli specialties. One of those out of the way places that you just have to experience!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great dinner and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Took our family there on Valentine's Day. Expected to be crowded but we were seated right away. Food and service was great! This was our second time at the Hard Times and I wouldn't hesitate to go back again the next time we are in College Park!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank luckyduck12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hard Times Cafe College Park also viewed

 
College Park, MD
 

Been to Hard Times Cafe College Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing