We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Campground but a different atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cherry Hill Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Campground but a different atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My Family and I stayed here for 4 nights and had a wonderful time while visiting our nation’s capital. We go camping several time a season because we love campaign and the outdoor. Neighbors are always friendly you see everyone outside cooking on the grill or fire pit and roasting marshmallow by the fire at night. What a great lifestyle! Not here. I think I was the only one with a fire each night. Then it finally downed on me that this is not a “staycation” type of place. Everyone staying here was there to visit DC and I can’t imagine a better campground to do so. With the subway station just down the street and the Bus station right in the campground you couldn’t ask for more.
The RV part section on the camp store almost rivals Camping World. If you need something to fix or update your camper they have everything from bolts and washers to toilets( and yes all the cool stuff too). The staff is very friendly and helpful and they are currently adding allot of new stuff to the campground. I was a little disappointed that something’s like the put-put were closed during this but it looks like it is going to be pretty impressive once they are done. I would definitely stay there again if I was going to visit DC.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    105
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
201
102
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint James City, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Close to Washington. Transportation available. 4pm every day they have an employee who gives you detailed info on the tours, transportation, etc. Very very clean. Lots are fairly close together, but where we were located there was plenty of shade. Noisy due to interstate traffic that never stops, but it's not like the park can do anything about that. Excellent cable, Wi-Fi average. Great restaurant in park, sandwiches and such. Nice pools and laundry facilities.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our first time travelling the US in our motorhome. We were quite impressed with the facilities at Cherry Hill and the helpfulness of the staff.
Our site was a pull through with alternating entrances where one site entered from the front and the next entered from the back. This had us facing our neighbours with a shared picnic area. Not a big deal but a different configuration. I did notice that some sites are labelled " premium" and these had bigger lots, patio furniture and no facing neighbours. I don't know the additional cost but I would Certainly consider this option for additional stays.
The swimming pools were clean and accessible as was the 24 hr laundry room.
I would recommend that the "change machine" be placed inside the 24 hour laundry room as I was unable to do my laundry after the cafe closed at 10 pm.
Transportation to Washington DC was easy enough. The local bus, number 83 I think, has a stop at the campground and goes to the subway station.
We would recommend this campground and hopefully will return.

Room Tip: Ask about the premium sites
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jacksmom_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at the church hill park campground. Very well run park with nice sites. Store was great the kids love the 2 pools and writing the bikes around the park.

Dislikes: The park was very open and when the storms came up it was quite windy so be careful with your awnings. Also depending on your site, the highway is close and can be heard.

Suggestions:. We found it easier to drive our car to the train station and park, then to take the train to the city. Otherwise at the end of the day you may be stuck for 30 minutes or so waiting for a bus to the camp. Worth the $5 today in my mind.

Secondly, I suggest driving into DC one late evening to see the monuments. We did this the first night, plenty of parking and were able to see all the major monuments and move the car round for the ample parking. Though when we asked the staff if we could do this they looked at us like we were nuts. We sorta are so did it anyway.

Overall, the park was a great place to stay while visiting our nation's capital.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Deadpanroxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
204 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Cherry Hill campground has everything a camper/rv traveler needs. They are so close and convenient to the metro to get into Washington DC, making this the perfect place to stay when visiting DC. We stayed here the week of July 4. We were gone most every day all day. There are 2 pools, laundry, restaurant/grill, bath house, and full hook ups for the rv. Their staff is very helpful with DC info and helping you make the most of your trip. The park is clean and neat. The spaces are a little close to each other, but not too bad. The grill has wonderful food and friendly servers. The only negative was the cleanliness of the rest room. In fairness though, we did visit the restrooms late at night (about midnight most nights) and I think their cleaning crew were probably done for the day. The restrooms are well laid out, it was just that late at night the showers and toilet areas needed some cleaning. I would most definantely recommend this campground. One of the best things is how convenient Cherry Hill is to the Washington Metro. There is a bus that picks you up right at the campground and takes you to the College Park metro station and then it is about a 30 minute ride on metro into DC. Or, you can drive to the College Park metro stop. It is only about a 10 minute drive. Cherry Hill just knows how to make a campground work for the campers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janadair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We didn't make time to enjoy the amenities of the rv park since we spent most all of our time in DC. Park is clean. Staff very friendly and helpful in explaining the confusing transportations of DC. The first day we took the metro into DC using the metro pre-loaded cards we purchased at the RV park office. So convenient! We parked at the metro garage recommended by the office. I wasn't a fan of the metro so the next day we parked at Union Station and took the Big Bus tour from the station. Will do that again. You're only a 30 minute car drive into the heart of city, 20 miles. We'll definitely stay at Cherry Hill again when in the area! We felt safe. There were good food places to choose from as well as shopping in the area.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Missmonicab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitts Hill
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I agree with the other reviewers, great place to stay. Convenient to shopping (grocery and home depot close by AND the all important Starbucks for you caffeine junkies), interstate and train depot. Staff super friendly and knowledgeable. They offered transportation orientation the day we got there. If you are not savvy about metro systems and mass transit, please go. It is very helpful. If you can't or don't, go visit Barb in the bus pick-up area. She has the system down pat and has everything already printed out to hand to you. They have all the amenities you could need and then some. They do have a contact for dog walking. Our "neighbors" were very impressed with her service. They offer at site propane refills. Just give them the info at the office and when you return exhausted from exploring DC, that will be one thing off the list of things to take care of. Sites were large in length and average depth. You will not be disappointed with the laundry facilities. Everything worked properly, was clean, and air conditioned. Yes, you do hear traffic noise from the Interstate however we camped in a fifth wheel and the only time I really noticed it was early in the AM. When they opened the pool and turned on the waterfall, it was for all intents and purposes negated. Every evening they offer a family movie in the open air theater which was nice, but double check with the office to confirm what is going to be shown as this is subject to change. They have free WiFi however we kept getting booted off. They have multiple terminals around cafe and office if you need to access your email, free of charge. Showers were clean and good water pressure.

All in all this is a superior campground and well deserved of its reputation. They work hard to earn and maintain it. A must stay if camping in the DC area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeniseLittlejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Park
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
437 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
1.6 mi away
Sheraton College Park North Hotel
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Laurel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Hill Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Hill Park Campground

Property: Cherry Hill Park Campground
Address: 9800 Cherry Hill Rd, College Park, MD 20740-1210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Hill Park Campground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the closest RV park and campground to Washington, D.C., Cherry Hill Park is the perfect place to stay while camping and exploring our nation's capital. In addition to sites for RV and tent campers, Cherry Hill Park offers lodging in yurts, group cottages, and premium log cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cherry Hill Park Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Hill Park Campground Hotel College Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing