We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Road Noise Unbearable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cherry Hill Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My family and I stayed at Cherry Hill Park for 3 nights while visiting the capitol and the Smithsonian museums. The tent site we had was very small, was strewn with half-rotten leaves from last fall (we stayed in August!), it was very uneven, it had no grass, rather gravel, sticks and leaves. Worst of all it was about 150 feet from the freeway - the I95! Obviously, the road noise was very loud and unabated throughout the night, making sleep very difficult. About the only positives were the nice pool and clean washrooms. While it is one of the only choices that is accessible by MetroBus, I would recommend staying a little farther out of town and simply parking at a MetroRail station for each day you plan to spend downtown. Not worth $50+ a night. The road noise simply ruins the campground.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank BradPenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
There are newer reviews for Cherry Hill Park Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for a week, and it was a great spot to access DC. The park is nice with larger sites, and good spacing between. There are a lot of sites to choose from, and overall the park staff is great in assisting you in finding the right site. There is a bus service to the local subway system, but we oped to drive to the station, much faster, but you do have to pay for parking when you get to the station, but worth the time savings. We would stay here again if ever in the DC area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you want to visit DC - this is the best campground to stay!!
The service you receive is great. They even organize metro tickets for you to visit DC.
Very very clean campground. Nice sides, enough room.
Will take you 1 hour from here to be in center of DC on the National Mall via bus and Metro/subway.
I have seen 15 campgrounds both East and West coast, this is the best of them all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Looking to have a family camping vacation in DC? This is the place to stay. Super nice campground. Clean restrooms, gravel-grassy level lots, great staff. Camp store that's has everything! Metro bus to metro station right into DC. Highly recommended!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Happycamperfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This has to be the best campground we've ever stayed at! We planned to visit Washington DC with our family. We stumbled upon this campground via the Internet having no clue that this would turn out to be such an amazing experience for our family. The key words to this campground are: organized, professional & knowledgeable staff, clean, kid friendly, convenient & modern (on site restaurant and canteen, 2 pools; no parent supervision required for kids 14 and over as lifeguard on site which is great for parents& 1 spa, park with play structures, location of carts, wifi, outdoors movie theatre), upcoming renovations for 2015 which will add even more state of the art amenities.
ATTRACTIONS: If you are planning to visit Washington city, the best way is to drive to College Park parking lot (great advice from the staff!). It is FREE on Sunday's and $5.10 weekdays. From there you can hop on a Metro that will bring you directly to your destination. Personnel is there should you require assistance. It cost our family $32.00 both ways, which was well worth it! We arrived at the Archives exit. However, depending on where and what you plan on visiting, you will need to verify the metro route. If you are planning to visit the Pentagon, please don't make the same mistake that we did :(. You need to reserve this on line at least 2-3 weeks prior to your vacation. We wished we would have known this prior to taking a metro all the way to the Pentagon only to be disappointed re: not being able to be part of the daily tours. However the memorial tribute was well worth the trip to the Pentagon. The campground also offers bus tours for those who do not wish to overthink it nor wish to drive. There are also buses that leave directly from the campground. Enjoy your stay!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Enzo_Jazmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Outstanding camp ground close to Washington DC.
Pros
Employes are very helpful with information on how to get around
Buss transportation (Metro stop) right at the camp ground
Two swimming pools, great WIFI
Lots have good shading but are close (your fire pit is next to the neighbors dump connection)
Sites are well maintained and level
Cons
This park is located next to the beltway and you will hear traffic most of the time (ear plugs for night time sleeping) is recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My Family and I stayed here for 4 nights and had a wonderful time while visiting our nation’s capital. We go camping several time a season because we love campaign and the outdoor. Neighbors are always friendly you see everyone outside cooking on the grill or fire pit and roasting marshmallow by the fire at night. What a great lifestyle! Not here. I think I was the only one with a fire each night. Then it finally downed on me that this is not a “staycation” type of place. Everyone staying here was there to visit DC and I can’t imagine a better campground to do so. With the subway station just down the street and the Bus station right in the campground you couldn’t ask for more.
The RV part section on the camp store almost rivals Camping World. If you need something to fix or update your camper they have everything from bolts and washers to toilets( and yes all the cool stuff too). The staff is very friendly and helpful and they are currently adding allot of new stuff to the campground. I was a little disappointed that something’s like the put-put were closed during this but it looks like it is going to be pretty impressive once they are done. I would definitely stay there again if I was going to visit DC.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Park
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#3 of 12 in College Park
473 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus College Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
9.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia / Laurel
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Laurel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Hill Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Hill Park Campground

Address: 9800 Cherry Hill Rd, College Park, MD 20740-1210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in College Park
Price Range: £149 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Hill Park Campground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the closest RV park and campground to Washington, D.C., Cherry Hill Park is the perfect place to stay while camping and exploring our nation's capital. In addition to sites for RV and tent campers, Cherry Hill Park offers lodging in yurts, group cottages, and premium log cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cherry Hill Park Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Hill Park Campground Hotel College Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing