We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience for a first-time camper” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cherry Hill Park Campground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cherry Hill Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great experience for a first-time camper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I'm admittedly not a camper, and our family stay at Cherry Hill was my first time at a campground. I was pleasantly surprised! The campground was clean and had lots of amenities; my family particularly appreciated the pool, the fire pit, and the camp store, which had almost everything we could possibly think of needing! While I didn't use the public facilities, my husband and father did, and they had no complaints. The only issue that we had was with road noise: the campground is just off I-95, and there was some resultant nighttime noise. If we returned, I'd likely seek a site a bit deeper into the campground, further away from the interstate. Still, this didn't impede our largely positive stay.

As other reviewers have noted, the campground location is definitely a plus. We were just down the road from restaurants, grocery/drug stores, and a Target, which made it easy to run out for anything we needed. The campground is a 5 - 10 minute drive from the College Park Metro station, and we made use of this fact to go into D.C. on two of the four days while we were there. The trip was easy and convenient, as the station is on the green and yellow lines. It took ~45 minutes to get into the city. Overall, Cherry Hill Park provided a great opportunity to camp while simultaneously taking advantage of all D.C. has to offer, and we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenandRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    103
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
193
98
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here in early August. What a jewel! The staff is friendly, plenty to do for kids and adults, clean, store items are reasonably priced, restaurant food was good. I would highly recommend this campground. If you are a traveler wanting to see DC and not spend a fortune in hotels this is the place for you. Simply catch the bus to Metro and head to DC. Also located close to Home Depot and Shopper's Food Warehouse for your food needs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 987Frank89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

My family and I stayed at Cherry Hill Park for 3 nights while visiting the capitol and the Smithsonian museums. The tent site we had was very small, was strewn with half-rotten leaves from last fall (we stayed in August!), it was very uneven, it had no grass, rather gravel, sticks and leaves. Worst of all it was about 150 feet from the freeway - the I95! Obviously, the road noise was very loud and unabated throughout the night, making sleep very difficult. About the only positives were the nice pool and clean washrooms. While it is one of the only choices that is accessible by MetroBus, I would recommend staying a little farther out of town and simply parking at a MetroRail station for each day you plan to spend downtown. Not worth $50+ a night. The road noise simply ruins the campground.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BradPenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for a week, and it was a great spot to access DC. The park is nice with larger sites, and good spacing between. There are a lot of sites to choose from, and overall the park staff is great in assisting you in finding the right site. There is a bus service to the local subway system, but we oped to drive to the station, much faster, but you do have to pay for parking when you get to the station, but worth the time savings. We would stay here again if ever in the DC area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you want to visit DC - this is the best campground to stay!!
The service you receive is great. They even organize metro tickets for you to visit DC.
Very very clean campground. Nice sides, enough room.
Will take you 1 hour from here to be in center of DC on the National Mall via bus and Metro/subway.
I have seen 15 campgrounds both East and West coast, this is the best of them all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Looking to have a family camping vacation in DC? This is the place to stay. Super nice campground. Clean restrooms, gravel-grassy level lots, great staff. Camp store that's has everything! Metro bus to metro station right into DC. Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Happycamperfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, QC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This has to be the best campground we've ever stayed at! We planned to visit Washington DC with our family. We stumbled upon this campground via the Internet having no clue that this would turn out to be such an amazing experience for our family. The key words to this campground are: organized, professional & knowledgeable staff, clean, kid friendly, convenient & modern (on site restaurant and canteen, 2 pools; no parent supervision required for kids 14 and over as lifeguard on site which is great for parents& 1 spa, park with play structures, location of carts, wifi, outdoors movie theatre), upcoming renovations for 2015 which will add even more state of the art amenities.
ATTRACTIONS: If you are planning to visit Washington city, the best way is to drive to College Park parking lot (great advice from the staff!). It is FREE on Sunday's and $5.10 weekdays. From there you can hop on a Metro that will bring you directly to your destination. Personnel is there should you require assistance. It cost our family $32.00 both ways, which was well worth it! We arrived at the Archives exit. However, depending on where and what you plan on visiting, you will need to verify the metro route. If you are planning to visit the Pentagon, please don't make the same mistake that we did :(. You need to reserve this on line at least 2-3 weeks prior to your vacation. We wished we would have known this prior to taking a metro all the way to the Pentagon only to be disappointed re: not being able to be part of the daily tours. However the memorial tribute was well worth the trip to the Pentagon. The campground also offers bus tours for those who do not wish to overthink it nor wish to drive. There are also buses that leave directly from the campground. Enjoy your stay!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Enzo_Jazmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Park
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Laurel
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Hill Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Hill Park Campground

Property: Cherry Hill Park Campground
Address: 9800 Cherry Hill Rd, College Park, MD 20740-1210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Hill Park Campground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the closest RV park and campground to Washington, D.C., Cherry Hill Park is the perfect place to stay while camping and exploring our nation's capital. In addition to sites for RV and tent campers, Cherry Hill Park offers lodging in yurts, group cottages, and premium log cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cherry Hill Park Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Hill Park Campground Hotel College Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing