We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Clarion Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“my stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

the location was great the rooms are large the staff was very helpful with my needs.they pool was warm.the check in process was easy. location to res and metro access was good close to the university on Maryland.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ernest a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    57
    61
    48
    64
See reviews for
101
41
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hyattsville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I held my 65th Birthday Party on August 3rd, 2013 at this hotel and it was excellent. The Manager Margaret Bachan did an excellent job on the food and accomdation. All of my guests had a good time. Overvall excellent service

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolly48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were visiting the University of Maryland for their family day, we reserved 2 rooms and to start all of the rooms windows face corridors which is very disturbing for us in particular, inside the room we had one of the rooms was ok and looks like it had been refurbished and was decent, the other one was in a very neglected state and didn't have a fridge or microwave as the other one, the carpet was scary and the beds, lets just say that when you removed the covers the sheets were all wrinkled like someone just got out of the bed and placed it over. If you most stay here bring flip tops , soap, shampoo and perhaps your own sheets. The pillows very soft and basic.
They do have continental breakfast until 10:00 am which was good enough for us. The staff is friendly and the place has indoor pool and some amenities for those looking to expend some time indoors. We weren't. Over all we could not find something else so we had to come to this place.

Room Tip: Request a room that has been refurbished recently, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jucalo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these College Park hotels

New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a slightly run down roadside motel in a suburb of Washington, surrounded by similar roadside motels. They charged me $200/night and I expected a nicer place for that price. There was nothing hugely wrong. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean, I was able to sleep and get on with life. There was a pool and a gym and a typical motel-breakfast of factory-produced bagels, cereal, and yogurt. All these things were fine as far as roadside motels go, but again for $200 I've stayed in much nicer places. The sheets and pillow cases were old and worn, the carpets were all very old and worn, decor was 1970s style (though not actually THAT old). We had a room facing the road and the noise was terrible, with fire engines and partiers coming and going all the time. They tried to add a $1 per night charge for the in-room safe, which I thought was outrageous, and when I objected they simply removed the charge. How stupid to insult your customers like that for $1. Next time I have to go to College Park I will try somewhere else, but if you have a reservation here you'll be fine.

Room Tip: Away from the road and reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jh137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Had a very small issue with the room but enjoyed all aspects of my stay. Liked how they transformed an old Holiday Inn outdoor motel into an indoor hotel. I enjoyed my stay and the staff was very friendly towards me. 95% of the room was clean and comfortable. The 5% is not even worth mentioning and I am sure was addressed immediately. Will return when returning to DC/Maryland area.

Room Tip: Had an interior room by shuffle board and it was quiet enough for me to rest comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrp-openroader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Felt very unsafe staying there. The people hanging around in the parking lot were sketchy. Front desk clerk was not friendly or pleasant. Was run down, dirty. Breakfast not on par with other Choice Hotels. Will not return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cesca33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed at the Clarion Hotel in College Park with my family for 2 days this summer. Our stay was organized by Carol Nelson of J and C Tours and Cruises. Ms. Nelson did a fabulous job in securing our stay at the Clarion. Our room was clean and comfortable. The fundome and its activities, which included a pool, shuffleboard, and a mini Putt-Putt, were very accessible. The free breakfast was great with many selections. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, too. We were travelling with a group that had to leave early for activities on one morning of our stay. The staff arranged to have breakfast served earlier than usual for our group. I would definitely stay at the Clarion and Fundome again.

Room Tip: The fundome is on the ground level and can be accessed right outside your room if you are staying on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Park
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn College Park
Days Inn College Park
#9 of 11 in College Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
1.4 mi away
College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 8601 Baltimore Avenue, College Park, MD 20740-2130 (Formerly Best College Park Inn & Fundome)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn & Fundome, an affordable, contemporary Maryland hotel conveniently located a few miles from Washington, DC. Enjoy well-appointed guest rooms, first-rate service and ample amenities, including an on-site restaurant, meeting rooms and the Fundome, an indoor activity area with heated pool, whirlpool, putting green and shuffleboard. Our convenient location makes it a breeze to reach the spectacular attractions that comprise the nation’s capital as well as the University of Maryland, Baltimore and Chesapeake Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion College Park
Clarion Hotel College Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing