We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice photos, shame about the reality of the place”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in College Park
A
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice photos, shame about the reality of the place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

This place needs better management just to start the work of improving the quality of stay. My reservation was based more on the photos and description, but when I arrived through the doors leading to the bar, there were only holes where the door locks belonged. The carpet was filthy all
the way to the front desk. The front desk looked like what you'd expect from a road stop for truckers, and the attendant did not try to win my business with a winning smile nor a hint of interest in the transaction. The interior looked dark and dated. For the same price I could go somewhere else and not worry about fleas and bedbugs, which are likely to be in a joint like this. I changed my mind about the stay and moved on. I felt strongly enough about it to write this candid and honest review, as a public service to fellow Americans. Best of luck to you, and please return the favor with full honesty and candor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    58
    61
    48
    68
See reviews for
105
41
23
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We needed a place to stay in College Park to pick up our son at UMD and break up a two-day drive from Boston to North Carolina for Thanksgiving. This hotel was very convenient. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, breakfast was adequate and check-in and out was easy. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I Was With My Wife And Daughter To Spend A Weekend To Get Away And Have A Pre Birthday Celebration. The Staff At The Hotel Are Nice But The Staff At AsianFusionRestaurant hardly Acknowledged Me And Were More Interested In Talking To My Wife About The Quality Of The Food That Was Served. The Only Thing They Asked Me Was If I Served In Afghanistan! I Said No, But They Continued To Brush Me Off. The Staff Is Comprised Of Either Indian Or Muslim! Mostly Muslim. Overall.... Not Impressed With Asian Fusion. Or Haji Fusion. Learn Better Customer Service...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank granny666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I enjoyed staying here for a long stay. Staff was courteous, helped me with many different issues.
Great deal for the price. The Chinese food was great - Try the restaurant.
The shuttle service is excellent. It keeps the cost low. They drop you to the train and pick you up.
Laundry is close by.

Room Tip: Liked the ones in the back. Very quite and easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

the location was great the rooms are large the staff was very helpful with my needs.they pool was warm.the check in process was easy. location to res and metro access was good close to the university on Maryland.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernest a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattsville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I held my 65th Birthday Party on August 3rd, 2013 at this hotel and it was excellent. The Manager Margaret Bachan did an excellent job on the food and accomdation. All of my guests had a good time. Overvall excellent service

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolly48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were visiting the University of Maryland for their family day, we reserved 2 rooms and to start all of the rooms windows face corridors which is very disturbing for us in particular, inside the room we had one of the rooms was ok and looks like it had been refurbished and was decent, the other one was in a very neglected state and didn't have a fridge or microwave as the other one, the carpet was scary and the beds, lets just say that when you removed the covers the sheets were all wrinkled like someone just got out of the bed and placed it over. If you most stay here bring flip tops , soap, shampoo and perhaps your own sheets. The pillows very soft and basic.
They do have continental breakfast until 10:00 am which was good enough for us. The staff is friendly and the place has indoor pool and some amenities for those looking to expend some time indoors. We weren't. Over all we could not find something else so we had to come to this place.

Room Tip: Request a room that has been refurbished recently, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jucalo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these College Park hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Park
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
0.6 mi away
Days Inn College Park
Days Inn College Park
#9 of 11 in College Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
1.4 mi away
College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 8601 Baltimore Avenue, College Park, MD 20740-2130 (Formerly Best College Park Inn & Fundome)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn & Fundome, an affordable, contemporary Maryland hotel conveniently located a few miles from Washington, DC. Enjoy well-appointed guest rooms, first-rate service and ample amenities, including an on-site restaurant, meeting rooms and the Fundome, an indoor activity area with heated pool, whirlpool, putting green and shuffleboard. Our convenient location makes it a breeze to reach the spectacular attractions that comprise the nation’s capital as well as the University of Maryland, Baltimore and Chesapeake Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion College Park
Clarion Hotel College Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing