We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad, remember what you are paying”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn College Park
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in College Park
Reviewed 8 September 2006

I am a student at UMD and recently had some friends from Europe stay with me for a few nights. They wanted to go take a few days to just relax in a hotel and wanted a cheap one. I figured why not stay nearby so they could come back. I was a little skeptical about booking this based on the reviews but they said they can deal with it and if its that bad they will go somewhere else for the 2nd and 3rd nights. Well it was $80 a night with tax and they saw the room and it was plenty sufficient. 2 double beds, tv, iron board and iron, coffee maker, etc. Free continental breakfast with toast, cereal, etc. free newspaper. And the have a pool. It is close enough to things that they could walk 15 minutes to get to some stores or take a taxi and be down at the shopping center a mile away for 8 dollars. To get to the nearest metro station you can get a bus or taxi which are not hard at all. Oh and it is clean and certainly not disgusting.

Being British they have lower expectations for hotels as hotels in the UK are not as nice. However I saw the room for myself and lay on the bed. It was plenty decent. Sure it is not a 5 star hotel but for the cost it serves its purpose just fine. In College Park there is the Hampton Inn which gets better reviews but is nearly twice the price as this hotel. Just remember what you are paying and keep that in mind.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MDuser12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2006

This motel claimed on their website to be "Close to the Metro Station." We booked our trip to D.C. through BWI, and had no trouble getting from the airport to the Greenbelt Metro, which was advertised as close to the motel. What we found instead was a city bus, that could get us within .5 mile of the motel, which ran only once an hour. We ended up dragging our six kids and luggage up a hill and across the busiest street EVER to get there. The staff was consistently unhelpful all week, even to the point of refusing to come up and cut off a luggage lock that we inadvertently snapped shut with our keys inside the bag. There goes a brand new $125 piece of luggage, which we had to cut through with a pair of toenail clippers to access! They wouldn't even loan us a pair of scissors to get through the lining, and instructed us to call the police for help.

We quickly abandoned the city bus idea when it took us 2.5 hours to get into D.C. on the night of our arrival to meet family for dinner. For the rest of our 8 day stay, we called two cab ridess: one in the morning, and one at night to get us to an from the Metro station, which ran us an extra $50 a day we had not planned on spending. Out of those eight days, we were able to get a van twice, and the rest of the time, we had to take two cabs at a time to accomadate our family. The hotel itself was older than the hills, poorly maintained and the beds were were so hard that they were almost impossible to sleep on.

Although it looked inviting and was part of our criteria for the trip, the pool hours were such that we never did get in (12-8). The busy street in front of the hotel was a nightmare to cross, or for the cab drivers to get out on, all the while the meter was ticking. This street was a main thoroughfare for emergency vehicles, and the sirens never stopped wailing morning noon and night. Although the speed limit was 35, crossing the street took 15 minutes of standing there looking for an opportunity, and then a mad dash across 4 lanes of traffic averaging 65 miles an hour. Overall, we found the staff to be rude, short, and unhelpful, even for customer service issues which were not over and above the normal questions and requests that people make when staying in a motel. An elderly gentleman lost his keys the last day we were there, and was obviously distraught over not being able to access his vehicle to go home to another state. They just stood there behind their little window, and said: "Oh well, sir, I guess you'll have to find someone to help you." and it obviously wasn't going to be one of them, because that would require that they get up off of their rear and actually work. Don't stay here, you'll regret it.

1  Thank gardenluvnnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Charlottesville, VA
11
Reviewed 26 June 2006

Hotel feels more like a prison with heavy security doors and safety glass. The pictures on the website make the hotel seem much more attractive than it really is. There is a heavy odor of masked cigarette smoke in the lobby and hallways. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
NEW YORK, NEW YORK
314
Reviewed 18 February 2006

This is a terrible hotel owned by an indian family. 1. The room is not clean with terrible smell. 2. The room is extremely small and the bed is not comfortable. 3. Terrible breakfast food. Many ants in the dining room, inside the joice machine, inside the milk, around the bagels. I can not eat, and then I told the manager. He told me to ignore the ants and eat the food. He poured me some juice, remove the ants and said it is O.K. to drink. Unbelievable. ... Never stay in this hotel and do not eat their free breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer zur Rückseite und nicht im basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
Thank Renildo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Park
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#3 of 12 in College Park
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#6 of 12 in College Park
338 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus College Park Hotel
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Lanham Washington D.C
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn College Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn College Park

Address: 9113 Baltimore Avenue, I-95 & Route 1 South, College Park, MD 20740 (Formerly Ramada Limited College Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in College Park
Price Range: £55 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn College Park 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn College Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited College Park Hotel College Park
Ramada College Park
College Park Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing