We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Site of the Jazzfest”

Merriweather Post Pavilion
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Site of the Jazzfest”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My only advice if you are attending an event with lawn seating, arrive early because parking and finding a spot on the lawn is a mess, bring an umbrella or a chair with a cover to protect you from the sun and potential rain, and bring plenty of sunscreen. Next time I will pay more for Pavillion seating which is assigned and has a covered roof.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SMP272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    99
    35
    13
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Concert vibe great, facilities outdated”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Have visited this venue countless times. Concerts first rate, but venue and facilities extremely outdated. Bathrooms need total replacement. Lighting poor. Grass area muddy and needs residing. Landscape includes hills that are very steep for normal bodied people to navigate. Disabled or older persons would find walking very difficult. Pavillion needs to be expanded for more seating. Alternate stage needs better location (competed with main stage for sound). Although I attend all day concerts from noon to 10pm, there is no opportunity to leave venue and go back to your car at any time. Lastly in this day and age, Wi-Fi and charging g stations should be readily available.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BBR-Reggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved this venue!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just saw Jack Johnson here and I had never been - my only real experience w/an outside venue like this was the Mann in Philly. This is am amazing outdoor venue! I've never seen one like it, it has a zillion diferent booths, wiht numerous food and drink choices. Even a Starbucks kiosk! And bathrooms were decent, at least it had TP! Which is big at a concert venue! We had seats under the Pavillion and they were great - and the lawn area is a lot bigger than most! I wish I was coming to see another show here soon as I could have hung out here for a while longer! And the venue is very eco-green and also has great acoustics!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NanCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
530 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“High school graduation”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

the MP pavilion is a local classic. It is an outdoor stage with covered seating up close and open seating in the back. You know in advance it is outdoor but everything is outside. If the weather is good (which it wasn't) it is great. If it is bad you are outside and have to deal with it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TooOldtoRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best venues around......”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Easy to get to, nestled within the woods, it's got great character, and the acoustics are great! Joplin, Hendrix, The Who, Elton John, and hundreds more have played there since it opened in the late 60's! I have seen Depeche Mode, REM, B-52's, Peter Gabriel, and many more there. It's awesome! My daughter just went to SweetLife Festival there!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merriweather Post Pavilion also viewed

 

Been to Merriweather Post Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing