We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bar food and rotating craft beer tap”

Second Chance Saloon
Ranked #150 of 261 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good bar food and rotating craft beer tap”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This a little great neighborhood bar. Tasty fresh food. My favorites are the burgers and wings. They also have great happy hour specials. Tuesday is half price burgers and they also have wings and drinks on special the other days of the week.

Staff is friendly. They also have an outdoor patio, which is great on a nice day. They have 3 rotating taps of craft beer, so be sure to ask what they are.

The owners truly are invested in the community. Several local clubs hold meetings and regular events at Second Chance and the managers are happy to accommodate them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and great food”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Second Chance is my First Choice in Columbia. We have gone there many times and have never been disappointed. I really like their chili. The french fries are awesome - and of course the selection of beers makes it tough to order just one - and of course who does that. A place to go and kick back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Trying hard to like this place”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Other reviewers are right -- it looks sketchy inside, a hold-over from its original roots as Channings, a 1970s seafood restaurant. My experiences have been from group Happy Hours, with great appetizers (Old Bay wings done right), and a good selection of beers, often including Baltimore's Natty Boh in $1 bottles (National Bohemian, for the uninitiated). Local bands do play on weekends. However, my enthusiasm waned last summer (2012) when I paid the waiter out on the patio in cash for my tab, and a rather nice tip given the extra work he had with a patio crowd that was circulating into the bar and back. A day or so later, the host of our group informed me I had left without paying my bill, and someone in the group had covered for me. As it turned out, the waiter said about 5 of us hadn't paid, and we had each paid in cash. The manager was nice about it, and agreed to reimburse the person who paid for me, but it did leave a lingering image of the place, and our group host probably won't book us there again (that's 30-35 patrons....). Moral -- always pay by credit card when you're getting separate checks in a big group.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HospitalitySeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“My favorite bar in Columbia...and the food will surprise you!”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

First, there was Last Chance, which had an amazing selection of beer and decent food. Then, once it closed, there were two restaurants that came and went. Then, lovers of Last Chance took a chance and opened Second Chance in the same place. And they have done awesome.

There's a fairly small bar, some high-top tables, and some booths in an area separate from the bar area. Then there is a back room with a pool table. And, when it's warm outside, the back is an oasis in the middle of Oakland Mills with a bar, awesome tables and no view of the rest of the neighborhood. Makes you think you're somewhere else. You'll get great and timely service at the bar, good service at the tables near the bar, and the service in the off-bar area is sketchy...it can take some time until they notice you. So, be prepared. Also, note that when there is live music, it is in the bar area, which is small, and it's REALLY loud and even when the bands are good, you're not likely to really enjoy it.

Beer selection is good and the dozen or so taps they have would have been an awesome selection ten years ago, until Frisco and the Columbia Ale House opened with their 70+ taps. Still, they have a good selection, and a really impressive selection of bottles. The happy hour specials are awesome, hands down, and you can get anything on draft for $3 or so, which is unbelievable for some of the awesome selections. You cannot beat these prices.

Then, there is the food. Their wings, especially the Old Bay ones, are the best in Columbia. Period. And, even more surprisingly, they have the best tacos on the East Coast. They are simply amazing. Their salads are fresh and tasty, and their handmade potato chips are also awesome. Basically, everything is fresh, inspired, and awesome. You cannot go wrong.

Second Chance is great. Don't let its sketchy outside appearance and location in the Oakland Mills Village Center throw you. It's totally an awesome place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NiceGuy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

So, the place looks a little sketchy from the outside, and a little sketchier inside. But the people are nice, on both sides of the bar. The menu looks like decent bar far.

And then the food comes. And its all prepared fresh, from scratch. Its really, really good. Had different kinds of wings, very fresh, crispy and meaty. Pickle fries are great. Nacho chips and queso are both made there.

Even better, draft craft beer for $2.75 during happy hour. Very generous, good stuff on tap. Plus a decent bottle selection. Lots of TVs for watching sports. Plenty of space.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EllicottDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Second Chance Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Second Chance Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing