We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable weekend Stay”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This hotel is in a great location. Many restaurants to chose from that are in walking distance. The rooms are nice and clean with full size mini-kitchens. The hot breakfast that they are offer was very nice. The Hotel staff were also very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie4253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    187
    62
    40
    19
See reviews for
294
95
34
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I have high expectations of Homewood Suites and this one fulfilled them all. The ONLY negative I can think of is that the 2 bedroom suite has a pretty small living room. Service was awesome and the room was immaculate. The maid went out of his/her way to ensure there was enough coffee for 3 people. I will stay again!

Room Tip: Got carried away...no real "room service" available, but all else was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelVA98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormanE45, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Dear travelVA98,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and we are happy that it was an enjoyable time for you. Also we wnt to thank you for posting such a positive response on Trip Advisor.
You are correct, our 2 bedroom suites does have a smaller living room area, but this is mostly so that the bedrooms can be a bit larger.

I wlll pass this review to our Housekeeping Manager so he can share with his staff. We all like to hear good news!

Thank you and we hope you come back to our home soon.

Sincerely,
NormanE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Two night stay for three business travelers. We received an enthusiastic welcome upon late arrival. Suite was clean, very comfortable. Lots of pillows without having to ask for extras. Staff was friendly and helpful. Buffets were tasty and plentiful. Location in a quiet cul-de-sac allowed quick walk across the street to Olive Garden, Applebee's, TGIF for additional food choices.

A fellow guest left a bagel in the toaster which created a fire alarm. Smoke filled the hallways, but the staff was quick to react, informing guests and setting up fans to remove smoke.

Convenience to BWI Airport is a plus. We will definitely make this our preferred stay when in the area on business again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasGma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Booked 3 suites for ourselves and other family members coming into the area on last minute basis. We honestly didn't know what to expect, since the rates seemed freakishly low. Reception was great, providing quick check-in. The 1BR suites are on par with, or better than, suites we've had at more than twice the price. (Doubletree, Embassy, for ex.)

Didn't really need kitchen, but it seemed well-equipped, and the ice-maker was appreciated. Large flatscreens in LR and BR, roomy bathroom (vanity/sink are separate, in BR area.) Amazing storage, which, again, we did not need, but anyone staying longer would be glad to have. Even the vanity area had drawers and cupboards for storage; this was a welcome change from the usual scenario where some of my cosmetics have to go back in my bag, or else on the floor. Grooming products from Bath & Body Works were a nice touch.

Our entire party enjoyed the breakfast offerings. The buffet is presented in a user-friendly, no-bottleneck traffic design, also an improvement over suite properties such as Residence Inn.

Our one complaint is that the bed did not seem like a true king. This might not be an issue for most people, but, at 6'8" tall, my husband doesn't sleep all that well with feet hanging off the foot of the bed ! Since it was only for 2 nights, not a big deal.

All in all, this hotel provides excellent value for the $$.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mofongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormanE45, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear mofongo,

Hope you are having a wonderful day!!

Thank you for your recent stay with us and most importantly giving us such a high rated review on Trip Advisor.

It really means alot to us and we will do our very best to maintain our guest loyalty. As for the king bed, i was informed that there are actually two sizes for the king bed. There is a larger king bed called the California king (i think that is what it is called). But being a tall man myself, I know what it is like to have your feet hanging over the bed. Not comfortable. :)

But overall, I really do appreciate you staying with us and being a senior contributor, the high rating is a plesant plus.

If you have not alreday, with the high volume of travel, please consider becoming a Hilton Honors reward member. The perks are really nice.

Sincerely,
Norman Eaton
General Manager

Booked 3 suites for ourselves and other family members coming into the area on last minute basis. We honestly didn't know what to expect, since the rates seemed freakishly low. Reception was great, providing quick check-in. The 1BR suites are on par with, or better than, suites we've had at more than twice the price. (Doubletree, Embassy, for ex.)

Didn't really need kitchen, but it seemed well-equipped, and the ice-maker was appreciated. Large flatscreens in LR and BR, roomy bathroom (vanity/sink are separate, in BR area.) Amazing storage, which, again, we did not need, but anyone staying longer would be glad to have. Even the vanity area had drawers and cupboards for storage; this was a welcome change from the usual scenario where some of my cosmetics have to go back in my bag, or else on the floor. Grooming products from Bath & Body Works were a nice touch.

Our entire party enjoyed the breakfast offerings. The buffet is presented in a user-friendly, no-bottleneck traffic design, also an improvement over suite properties such as Residence Inn.

Our one complaint is that the bed did not seem like a true king. This might not be an issue for most people, but, at 6'8" tall, my husband doesn't sleep all that well with feet hanging off the foot of the bed ! Since it was only for 2 nights, not a big deal.

All in all, this hotel provides excellent value for the $$
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a two bedroom suite for two nights. Quite convenient to BWI. Very clean, comfortable beds. Kitchen area small but very functional. Many restaurants across the street for dining. The breakfasts are the best we have experienced in this type of hotel. The hot food was plentiful and kept hot. The pans were filled frequently. There was a good selection of fruit, cereals, waffles etc. Coffee was hot and abundant. Clearly Homewood Suites was not just giving a token breakfast. The servers were very pleasant and helpful. They seemed to enjoy working here. Would certainly come again when we are in the Baltimore area.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RMHBJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormanE45, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear RMHBJH,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your positive review on Trip Advisor. I did notice that you are a senior contributor on Trip Advisor and that must mean that you travel often.

We are so glad that your travels brought you this way and hope you return home (back to us) soon.

Sincerely,
Norman Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and enjoyed everything! The breakfast and evening buffets were great. This is the first place we've ever stayed that actually kept the trays full and the food hot for the entire time the buffets were open. Our rooms were very clean as was the rest of the hotel. We had a two bedroom suite (for 5 people) and it was very spacious and comfortable. The kitchen was a definite plus. During our stay, the only sounds we heard were from the people above us dropping something on the floor. The hotel was very quite. There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance, and a mall across the road with a huge Costco. The people that work at this hotel were extremely helpful and always had a smile on their face. This hotel is close to Fort Meade and has access to all the major highways. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blossomjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormanE45, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Blossomjt,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. By you staying 3 nights, you were able to get a good feel for our hotel and am glad we passed the test :)

It means a lot, especially with such a great review on Trip Advisor.

I hope you continue to have great experiences during your travels with the Hilton Brand of Hotels. AND, if you are ever in the Columbia, Maryland area again, please remember your family here at Homewood.

Take care fo yourself and your family.

Sincerely,
Norman Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We had a group of five people so we booked a suite with two queen beds, one king bed and a sofa bed. This suite had a small kitchen, a living room with the sofa, chair and a desk. All three rooms had big television sets, there were lots of pillows on the bed, the towels were big and fluffy.

Most impressive of all was the room, the hotel and the grounds were clean and very well kept.

We enjoyed breakfast each morning and to our surprise dinner each night. It was wonderful!

Every member of the staff was very friendly and very helpful. I would recommend staying at the Homewood Suites.

Our group was able to enjoy our plans during the day and come back to the hotel, have dinner (in our suite if we wanted) and then relax all together in the living room while watching television and discussing our plans for the next day.

We enjoyed it very much. Clean, friendly and close to shopping! Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrightstatemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormanE45, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Wrightstatemom,

Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel. We are happy that you chose us for your lodging pleasure and it is our desire that cyou do not be a stranger and come back home (Homewood Suites).

We value your review of your stay and thank you for such a positve rating.

Sincerely,
Norman Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
3.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
467 reviews
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
Address: 8320 Benson Dr, Columbia, MD 21045-3116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Columbia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#6 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Homewood Suites Columbia
Hilton Columbia
Homewood Columbia
Columbia Hilton
Columbia Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing