We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, one of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, one of the best”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a newer hotel and the rooms are fresh and modern. Clean room and comfortable bed. Breakfast area was awesome. Everyone at the front desk, housekeeping and breakfast area was friendly and greeted you professionally. There wasn't any noise from traffic or trains to wake you up in the middle of the night. This was one of the best hotels I've stayed in a long while.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drivingmylifeaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Mark F,

All I really can say is Thank You for acknowleding the work that all of our team members do. I appreciate your kind words and will make sure to share them with the team.

We work hard and appreciate when those efforts are acknowledged by our guests.

Hope to see you again!

Chuck Chandler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    115
    31
    11
    7
See reviews for
165
81
36
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nj
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

very nice place, very clean (looked new), safe, helpful, fairly quiet (hate hotel a/c's but no-one has invented a quiet one, yet) .... we needed this for a family event and it fit the bill perfectly ... reasonably priced, too

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joisey-joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
joisey-joe,

I am thrilled we were able to meet the needs for your family event so well! Personalized service and value are two of the Hallmarks of the Hampton Brand. It's great to hear how well we delivered.

The first person to invent a quiet Ptac/HVAC unit will be a rich person.
Unfortunately like you, I have never expoerienced one either.

Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your experiences. We welcome you back as your travels bring you back to the Columbia area.

Chuck Chandler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was a great place to stay in Columbia. At first it looked a bit out of the way but we found that there is a thriving village hidden behind the grass banks at the side of the road. This hotel itself was clean, tidy and well presented. Well done!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Childsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
childsey,

Thank for the kind words! We do kind of consider ourselves to be a little nugget of comfort and convenience in the Columbia area,

The team works very hard to keep the hotel clean and tidy. Obviously, these are minimum expectations that you and our guests have. It is great when guests acknoledge their efforts.

We look foreard to having you back at the Hampton Inn and Suites Columbia/South when your travels bring you back to the area. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!

Chuck Chandler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Have stayed at this hotel once or twice a year in the midst of weekly travel to other cities. It's still one of my favorites. The layout of the king bed suite with partners style desk is perfect. There was always coffee for someone who can't figure out what time zone he's in. The staff is most helpful and not bothered when I show up at 3am with a request. Breakfast is ready early and has all I am looking for. The location in Columbia is good with access to surrounding locations via 95 or 29 and to Annapolis.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2millionandcounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
twomillionandcounting,

What a great compliment! When guests have some many choices and chose to come back and stay with us, it's one of the greatest forms of flattery.

Thanks for acknowledging the efforts of the breakfast team! They work very hard to exceed expectations of our guests and having breakfast ready early doe jsut that. It exceeds expectations.

Other reveiwers have pointed out the convenience of our location as well. We have great access to all of the major Freeways/Highways in the region. Glad the locaton works well for you.

Please come back, we look forward to having you with us once again.

Chuck Chandler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLUMBIA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia - South on a recent trip to the mid-atlantic. I was planning on visiting Baltimore, Washington DC, and Annapolis during this trip and thought it might be best to stay somewhere in the middle of the triangle. This hotel was a 30-45 minute drive from all three areas. It's right off of the highway and easy to find. The staff was helpful, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was hot. What more can you ask for?! I will return on future trips to the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Laura W,

Great feedback on how convenient our location is to all of the major attractions in the Greater Baltimore/DC area. I had really never thought about the convenience until you brought it up. I guess we just may take it for granted as "locals". Convenience to the highways/Freeways of I-95, Rte 32 and Rte 29 make it easy to get around. Train transportation to Baltimore and DC is not far as well.

Glad to hear the team was kind, your room clean and the breakfast was good. These are all things that a traveler expects and I am glad we hit the mark.

We look forward to hosting you again at the Hampton Inn and Suites Columbia South when your travels bring you back through the area. Thanks for staying with us.

Chuck Chandler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The desk staff was GREAT. Ask a question get a quick answer and with a smile. It was handy to many shopping areas(ex. walmart, target etc) gas stations and quick access to highways. The breakfast food and lounge to eat in where top notch. The rooms were small but they worked for what they were needed for. WULD STAY HERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amstevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chuck C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
amsteven,

Thanks for taking the time to repond and give us your thoughts on TeipAdvisor!

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and had a good experience at Breakfast and with the Front Desk team!

Our motto is "Your smile is the most important part of your uniform"! So, I am glad the desk team met your expectations with their approach to you, Next time your are in the area, especially if you are traveling with kids, please check out the Suites we have. They are oversized King bedded rooms with a parlor area and a pullout sofa bed. The are nicely sized and only slightly more in cost.

Our location in convenient to many things and we appreciate you pointing that out in your review as well.

Please come back and see us at the Hampton Inn and Suites Columbia/South.

Chuck Chandler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
Address: 7045 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046-1907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/South hotel in Columbia, MD, located only 15 miles from Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI), offering quality amenities, superior service and contemporary accommodations. This Hampton Inn & Suites hotel has 124 guest rooms and offers free WiFi, free hot breakfast, and parking. Enjoy other amenities including access to our 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, 24-hour fitness center, or swim in the indoor pool. Be near popular Columbia, MD attractions including the Columbia Horse Center, Columbia Ice Rink, Golfing at Hobbit's Glen and Fairway Hills, Savage Mill Shopping Center and Terrapin Adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing