We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carrot Cake”

Cafe in Nordstrom's
Ranked #34 of 261 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: American, Cafe
Restaurant details
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Carrot Cake”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Some of the most delicious carrot cake I've ever sunk my teeth into. Seriously. If and when your sweet tooth calls, check out the Cafe in Nordstrom's. You'll be glad you did

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maurice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic 'hidden' secret restaurant”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I absolutely love the baked salmon and vegetables prepared in a Mediterranean style with olive oil and herbs/spices. The spicy black bean soup was equally superb.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weird service model is annoying”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The food at this cafe is very good. The service situation is annoying. You stand in line to place you order and then take it on a tray to your table. If you want a drink, you get it yourslelf at the soda fountain. Then, suddenly, a person shows up and says, hi, I'm your server. Really? Then how come I just carried my own food and got my own drink? The server then proceeds to come back and ask you if you need anything 15 times (interrupting conversations) so you know they are your SERVER. Yes, we get it. When you are about to leave, they show up with 10 cent candies on a check tray with a note that says thanks for letting me server you so you will know they are expecting a tip. Sigh.... So of course, it is not employee's fault that you are tipping them for mostly self service, so i leave a tip. I'm sure Nordstrom's pays them less to compensate for their tips. But I inevitably walk away annoyed and wishing I had eaten somewhere else where the service model is more clear. Nordstroms, either make them real servers or find them a job elsewhere in your store where I actually would appreciate their service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OellaMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best mall secret.”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

I know I'm going to regret this but I have to say it for the benefit of all those who go to the mall in Columbia. This is the best place to eat. My wife and I eat here all the time. Most recently I had a bowl of she crab soup , it was excellent. We split a balsamic pizza. It was the best pizza I've had since I was in Rome. It was fantastico! The only suggestion I could have for the people at Nordstrom's would be to try and get the folks through the line faster. It's cafeteria style but there is a very pleasant wait staff who helps you with everything you may need. Including fetching additional items like dessert if you like. I ask the young lady for half decaf and half regular coffee and it wasn't a problem

Helpful?
Thank Jack0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Elegant and Quiet”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We eat here quite often and, amazingly for a restaurant in a department store, the chef will alter how he cooks a dish to meet my wife's food sensitivities. The service is rather interesting in that you go through a line t pick your meals and then a server will bring your choices to your table, refresh drinks, etc.
The food is always fresh and good. Desserts, unhelpfully, delicious. We usually go after the dinner rush and the noise level is acceptable. Elegant, well decorated setting - a welcome break from food court madness.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Little_Lew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe in Nordstrom's also viewed

 

Been to Cafe in Nordstrom's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing