We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice But Breakfast is Expensive”
Review of Courtyard Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Columbia
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed 2 nights and were pleased by the location and the convenience to the interstates. It is a little hard to find as it is tucked back at the end of Stanford Boulevard. Room was clean and comfortable and shower was very good too!
Had breakfast here on Saturday. $25 for 2 and the meals were not prepared on site but microwaved when ordered ( like Dunkin Donuts). Not very tasty. On Sunday, we went to the Stanford Grill just up the stairs (near the front of the main entrance) for a nice brunch.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

I was in town for a wedding in Glen Burnie. I drove for 2.5 hrs to get to Columbia. They let us check in early I loved that immediately. The room was clean...bed made...towels were fresh. Mild complaint...noisy kids running up and down the halls and the walls are thin...not paper thin but you can slightly hear the tv and conversations in adjoining rooms. All in all not bad and I would absolutely stay again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank K. E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I stayed there on August 9th for one night. Arrived at about 4pm, went to a family birthday party, returned at 2am, slept, showered, and left.
We had a single king bed room and opted out of having breakfast included in our rate, already having plans for breakfast elsewhere. We did not have any experience with the restaurant, but would have if we had the time.
There was no wait on check-in, the one person on the staff that we dealt with was very polite and helpful. No problem finding a parking space at 4pm or at 2am. We used a room-key secured side door after finding that there was one close to our room, much closer than the front desk area. The room had everything we needed: coffee maker, mini-fridge, etc. No smell from the cranked-up A/C or anything else. Never heard any noise over the A/C and TV from outside (the courtyard) or the connecting room door or the hallway either for that matter. Other than a few spots on the wallpaper likely damaged by previous guests, the room was perfectly clean, nothing to even nitpick about. [We manage an apartment building and notice _everything_]
Lots of plugs for chargers and what not on the desk.
Tried an HDMI cable in the TV for Netflix/Hulu/whatever via my smart phone, no go - I use it successfully at just about every hotel I stay at.
The TV is straight-on from the couch, but perpendicular to the bed, so the wardrobe blocks it a bit, but not a big deal.
The shower head was a bit low for me, I had to duck, but that goes for 95% of the hotels in the world - I'm 6'3".
With this site and the many others that are available, we actually found the best rate by booking directly with marriott.com with the AAA discount.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

You would think that breakfast would be included for the price. I had an overall good experience with the room itself. Staff was friendly and it was ideally located near venues. I could not hook up to the wifi. The rate of the hotel was bumped up for the weekend. They were not military friendly. I was told that there was a flat rate for military. Which was not good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Mike W, Thanks for sharing your experience from the most recent stay with us! We are always honored to serve the men and women which serve our country and apologize the military rate was not available during the time you stayed. We do have a great Bistro which offers a vast variety of items for breakfast, dinner and full bar service. Though it is not free, we feel it offers value to our guests in allowing them to stay in if desired. Please reach out to me directly if ever back in the area as we would love to serve you again in the future!
Warm Regards,
Len Goodman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

As a global traveler who spends a bunch of nights in hotels annually, this particular Courtyard hotel is just okay.

The hallways are very dark, which makes it feel a bit strange, but the room is always nice. The wall AC units are loud as usual, but it does have AC. This hotel doesn't really offer a room service option, but there is a decent restaurant near by, but it's pretty expensive.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Ewokman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColumbiaCourtyardMD, General Manager at Courtyard Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hi Ewokman! Thanks for taking time to share your feedback! Happy to hear you enjoy the rooms... Though we do not offer room service, we do take orders over the phone and can pack to go, making it easy to grab and go. Hope to see you again soon!

Len Goodman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed here for two nights this week. The location is perfect - close to restaurants and shopping. Both the room and lobby were very clean. Front desk staff were pleasant during check-in. The hotel does have a bit of an odd layout but it would not keep me from returning to this hotel in the future.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Mindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights, pre-paying $79/night via the Marriott site for a standard king bedroom. The hotel and room were clean and well-decorated, and the staff were all friendly and professional. Wi-Fi worked well. The dim lighting around the vanity area isn't great for putting on makeup, unless you're planning to go somewhere else that's dimly lit, but that seems to be what hotels at this level like to go with these days. The positioning of the thermostat was such that the airflow from the A/C unit took a while to get to it, so we had to fiddle a lot to find a setting that would keep an acceptable level of coolness in the room without freezing, and the A/C unit itself was a bit noisy for sleeping soundly (we just ended up turning it off at night). We ate dinner at the Bistro both nights, and the food – while limited in selection and somewhat pricey – was tasty and filling. They could use an extra person on staff at the Bistro in the early evenings, because just one person was taking care of all the orders both nights, and it took a while to get our food. We didn't try breakfast because we typically don't eat much for that meal; we just brought breakfast bars with us to eat in our room. There are plenty of other nearby restaurants within walking distance, too (we ate lunch at Panera Bread one day), so you have options. All in all, a decent stay for a short getaway. As a plus, it's only about a 10-minute drive to Merriweather Post Pavilion (where we saw Queen + Adam Lambert) – as long as you don't hit a massive backup of concert traffic along the way!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CatControlled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbia hotels
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
2.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Columbia

Address: 8910 Stanford Blvd, Columbia, MD 21045-5805
Region: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range: £63 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Columbia hotel is located near the Columbia Business Park and in close proximity to Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). This suburban Baltimore hotel is convenient to downtown Baltimore; the Baltimore Convention Center, Ravens football stadium, Baltimore Inner Harbor, and Camden Yards. In addition, the Courtyard Columbia hotel is situated between Columbia Pike/Route 29 and Interstate 95, providing easy access to both the University of Maryland and Washington DC. Designed for the business traveler, yet inviting for all, Courtyard Columbia knows what is important to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Columbia Hotel Columbia
Columbia Marriott
Columbia Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing