We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misses the mark”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crisfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marquis Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Crisfield B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Misses the mark”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I've thought about this review for a while to ensure I was being fair and wish there were a 'below average' rating, instead of 'poor'. I have stayed in numerous B&Bs around the country and the world and am pretty easy-going in my expectations.

We were traveling through the area for one night and Dave kindly relaxed his 2-night minimum for our last-minute reservation. He was at the property to greet us and was very welcoming. The house has wonderful charm but felt somewhat unkempt in curb appeal and inside. I own an old house myself and understand there are always projects but for a public establishment, there was more needing attention than one might expect.

We stayed in the Ms. Adeline's room - decor and room size were fine, and the private bath was renovated, though there were no towel racks and no vents, so it was very hot. The window AC unit showed a temperature of 86 deg when we arrived and never got below 78 deg through our entire stay, which was terribly uncomfortable. The bed also had a deep sag across the middle; we found it somewhat more comfortable sleeping backwards.

When we came down for breakfast, fresh coffee was waiting but the coffee mugs were all dirty. Breakfast was fine, but the little touches were missing. When we paid, the room rate was a bit higher than listed on the website, which we had not been made aware of.

Dave and Carolyn are open, friendly and helpful people but their B&B just misses the mark for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trvlgirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    3
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
12
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forestville, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I must agree with David's review of Marquis Manor. After spending a week in the hustle and bustle (and spending) of Ocean City, MD with two teenage boys (13 and 15), my husband and I chose to break up the commute home with a treat for ourselves. After a quick call to confirm the kids were welcome, we were on our way, just a short distance off our mapped route of Rte 50. After settling in to our separate rooms, we relaxed with drinks on the screened, breezey front porch. The boys were immediatley invited to grab a couple bicycles and began their tour of the area, which included a ride to the water and of course, they found the ice cream/slushee stand on Main Street. Carolyn and Dave were just attentive enough, answering our questions regarding Crisfield's waterman history (enjoy two books on the mantle regarding local history) and making recommendations regarding where to visit during our short stay. And when we just wanted to sit and relax, they seemed to disappeaer. When the boys arrived we headed over to the American Legion for a visit and returned to enjoy the serenity of the manor. We were invited to use the hot tub, or the small fire pit, but took a tour of the house and settled in. The rooms were very comfortable and the bedding top quality. Both rooms had tvs and self controlled air conditioning units. When I finally woke, coffee was fresh and hot, along with a variety of teas, snacks and granola bars. Our hosts confirmed our night was comfortable and provided extra towels and asked if we needed anything else. We sat on the porch and were called in to the dining room for eggs benedict and fresh fruit. What a treat! After the week we had, of catering to the boys and running, this truly was a wonderful treat to help with the transition of heading home. I would absolutely recommend Marquis Manor to anyone looking to relax, couples and families and look forward to many more visits in the future. Dave and Carolynand the Marquis Manor are truly an asset to the community of Crisfield!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skaneateles, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We spent a lovely weekend at the Marquis Manor earlier this month. Our room was attractive and comfortably cool on two of the hottest days of the year. The bed was exceptionally comfortable -- better than home -- and breakfasts were delicious. With a refrigerator stocked with soft drinks, a table full of snacks and coffee brewed early in the morning, we never had to go out for much of anything! The seafood feast that came with our package was fresh and spectacular: a dozen meaty crabs, dozens of fat clams, five pounds of shrimp, and corn on the cob. Dave and Carolyn Marquis, our hosts, even threw in a slice of peanut butter chocolate, 10-layer Smith Island cake, a treat that no one who goes to Crisfield should miss. The house is a beautiful example of Victorian architecture from Crisfield's heyday, located on a quiet street, an easy walk from all of Crisfield's attractions. Dave and Carolyn clearly will go to great lengths, figuratively and literally, to make your stay enjoyable. What more could you ask for?
As to the complaint that the house is a work in progress, that is true, and it almost surely will be for a long time to come. If you nose around a little, you will find a bit of wallpaper pealing here, or a missing piece of crown molding there, but unless you have a major OCD problem none of these nits are going to detract from your stay. As for bed linens, towels, toiletries, etc., we were fully stocked, and Carolyn made it clear that we would be provided anything else we requested, including items we had forgotten like razors and toothbrushes. We don't change our sheets every day at home, and don't expect it on the road, but if you do, just ask.
Dave and Carolyn have put a ton of sweat equity into a house that, eight years ago, was overgrown and crumbling. Thank goodness they were insane enough to adopt it. Go stay with them and you will not only get your money's worth, you will make a small contribution toward preserving a little piece of Maryland history

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My wife and I travel to Crisfield often, and stay at Marquis Manor at least twice each month.
Marquis Manor B&B is a circa 1900 Victorian Home, with a pristine setting, surrounded by numerous gardens and lots of trees. Nature surrounds you, yet the property is located within the City Limits of Crisfield and only minutes away from shopping, dining, and water oriented activities. The Manor is fully and tastefully decorated from the period. We find the rooms to be spacious and extremely comfortable. We have always found the rooms to be spotless and well equipped with fresh towels as well as accessory items which one may have forgotten.
Mr. & Mrs. Marquis are always very delightful, and helpful. Each morning we are greeted with a delicious breakfast second to none. As far as we're concerned, Marquis Manor B&B is the only place to stay while in Crisfield.

Room Tip: We like all the rooms however, the Cocoa room is our first preference, while the Blue and Gold room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

This place was filthy – everything in the house was dirty! The bathroom had a small sink in a cubby hole in the wall. Doesn’t the Health Department inspect? The night we stayed was cold and the room’s only heat consisted of an electric heater - no heat in the bathroom at all. We slept with extra clothing and were still cold. The room never did get warm. We ate breakfast downstairs and had to wear our winter coats. The radiator heat in the main part of the house and the guest quarters was not working. One of the owners stated that they used a wood stove to heat their quarters and that the furnace was not working for the rest of the house. The owners were pleasant but I’ve never had a worse night’s stay. We booked two nights but left after the first night.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Visiting_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marquismanor, Owner at Marquis Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
This review was done December 9th. We were experiencing furnace problems and let the guests know ahead of time. The night outside temp did not get below 44 degrees for this night. Normally we do not take guests this time of year, but these particular guests had to be in Crisfield for one night so we booked the reservation. We do all of our maintenance and renovations during this time of year and let them know beforehand. This was an unfair review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This treasure is something I wouldn't expect to find in this little bay town. I was visiting on business and attempted to get a hotel room for the evening. Upon pulling into the pines motel, I immediatley left due to its curb appeal which did not seem like a safe or cleanly place at all. Then I went to the only other hotel available which is the paddle wheel where noone was available and isn't in a great location either. So as a last attempt I asked a local at the gas station if they knew of any B &B's in town and he sent me to Marquis Manor, which was a life saver. There was a gentleman working in the yard of the B&B who happened to be the owner, and booked me a room on the spot. I had dinner with the owners at their cafe the Blue Crab and had a tasty wakeup with fresh coffee on the balcany with a gourmet meal. The home isn't a Marriott but thats what I liked most about it. It is over a 100year old victorian. So much character and warmth this house exerts. The price was well worth the care I received and I will be returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MabandMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Never before have we felt this comfortable at a B&B. Dave and Carolyn welcomed us and made us feel like this was our home. meals were when they fit our schedule, and they were helpful in arranging access to local attractions. All we had to do was show up and enjoy. Great place for a romantic weekend get away with a variety of activities at your disposal.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uniq54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crisfield
16.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pocomoke City
16.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Pocomoke City
136 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Charlotte Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Kingsbay Mansion
Kingsbay Mansion
#1 of 1 in Marion Station
6 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Washington Inn and Tavern
The Washington Inn and Tavern
#1 of 4 in Princess Anne
33 reviews
17.1 mi away
Alexander House Booklovers Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Marquis Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3 S Somerset Ave, Crisfield, MD 21817-1508
Region: United States > Maryland > Crisfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crisfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full service Bed and Breakfast which caters to outdoor activities (Jane Island State Park) such as golfing, kyaking, fishing, crabbing, bicycling, hunting, eco tours and local heritage and cultural pursuits of the Cheasapeake Bay. We also specialize in weddings, private parties and corporate packages and are near enough to Ocean City and Chincoteage for a trip to the Atlantic Ocean. Our location in the historic area, with walking distance to everything, makes Marquis Manor Bed and Breakfast an ideal destination for those that seek a unique experience near the Bay. Time stands still, traffic is nonexistent and your relaxation is our main priority. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing