We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn on Decatur

The Inn on Decatur
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cumberland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn on Decatur
Ranked #2 of 4 Cumberland B&B and Inns
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

My spouse and I stayed at The Inn on Decatur the night before our marriage at the Allegany County Circuit Court (thank you Maryland for legalizing same sex marriage!).The room was beautiful, lovely old wide board floors, high ceilings, all the details were carefully thought out. The bathroom was immediately next door, off the hall, which was not a problem (there's only only one other room, with its own bathroom). No TV - no problem - but good wi-fi (essential!). Good off street parking. Quiet neighborhood, very close to downtown historic district. Innkeeper Gail Hall made a great breakfast (something for everyone!) and told interesting tales about Cumberland.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hill, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a beautiful B&B located in the heart of Cumberland, a town rich with history. Gail was very helpful with her recommendations and is a wonderful host. We did a day on the GAP and a day on the C&O. The Inn has laundry on site, the rooms are large and comfy, well decorated.
Gail puts out the most incredible spread for breakfast, you won't go away hungry, that's for sure. The lunches she packed for the trail were substantial and tasty. There is on site locking bike storage and ample parking. The covered porch was great for morning coffee.
We hope to return for a kayaking trip and would look to stay here again. You won't be disappointed if you stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the bathroom inside the room. Room in the back hears trains, room in the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrsski2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Knowing less than little about Cumberland, I picked it for a weekend trip. I stayed at this Inn and was very happy with all the accommodations. The place was nicely decorated and clean. When we arrived we had snacks on the kitchen table. The next morning, breakfast was more than what I had expected. What a great freshly made fruit salad! Gail did everything possible to ensure we did not stay hunger. She made local restaurant suggestions and the pedestrian walk was only a few blocks away from where we staying. Parking was available on the backside of the Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wallyscholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

After 185 miles on the C&O Canal, it felt great to stretch out, clean up and luxuriate in this charming B&B. The ever gracious Gail tended to all the needs of a weary traveller: box fan to dry out damp gear, recommendations for dinner (Baltimore Grill for delicious food and healing fluids), toiletries and towels galore, Full Homemade Breakfast, even a bowl of candies on the bureau that were a throwback to my youth. On the back of the inn is a covered balcony, great place to relax and watch the trains. There is a secure shed under the house for bike storage.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iborbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

we stayed at The Inn on Decatur for two nights during our bike trip from DC to Pittsburgh.
took a day's rest in Cumberland where there was lots to do and suggestions from Gail, our innkeeper.
our room was large and nicely decorated with antiques.Laundry facilities were available. located within walking distance to the walking mall and town attractions, the Inn is a great spot.Also very bike friendly.The Innkeeper runs a bike touring company and is well versed on the C and O and GAP. breakfast was outstanding, lots of fresh local things and plenty of it.
Woul recommend again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmcarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

My husband and I were doing a craft show recently in Cumberland, Md. and found this little gem. There are only 2 rooms, but both are huge! One (George's Room) has an en suite bath room that is so big you could have a party in there. The other has the bathroom 1 step outside the door. The bathroom was filled with all sorts of wonderful bath salts, soaps, lotions, etc. to use as you like. Gail runs a company for cyclists touring, and a lot of them stay at her inn. I expect this is part of the reason for the wonderful bath salts.........soothes sore muscles. There is a kitchen just outside the door that is the guests' private kitchen to use as we like. The room had a couple of bowls of candies, games, and books to enjoy. All in all, it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank born2dans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed at the Inn on Decatur for one night during a bike trip from Pittsburgh to DC. The room was huge and had a great en suite bathroom. Pretty, no cheeseball decor. The breakfast was fresh and abundant, with jams and butters from Amish country. The host was friendly and very knowledgeable about the bike trail. The only downside is the kitchen is right next to the rooms so we could hear the host preparing breakfast for an hour before we had planned to wake up.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scsnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumberland
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
0.2 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#2 of 4 in Cumberland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Braddock Inn
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Decatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Decatur

Property: The Inn on Decatur
Address: 108 Decatur St, Cumberland, MD 21502-2413
Region: United States > Maryland > Cumberland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cumberland
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing