We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Museum within”

C&O Canal National Historical Park and Visitors Museum
Ranked #2 of 36 things to do in Cumberland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wilton, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,367 reviews
681 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 805 helpful votes
“Very Nice Museum within”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Beyond being your starting point in Cumberland, there is a free museum giving fine representations of the building and use of the C&O Canal in this west Maryland area of young America. It also gives some history of the creation of the first National Road. It isn't a large museum, but I think it was a great way to step out into the surrounding areas to really take in the history of the area. It was here we found out about the Tiffany Glass in the Emmanuel Parish Episcopal Church. Great Tip!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruthandvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    62
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
551 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good museum”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

In the lower level of the beautiful Western Maryland Depot. Great displays and models, including a canal boat. Helpful staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Must see!”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The C & O Canal parks and visitors centers throughout the region are a must see for anyone interested in biking, hiking, history and/or general outdoor fun.

The park system manages this treasure with jealous regard for future visitors. With great gratitude, I can only suggest frequent visits and offer heartfelt support for our hard working US Park Service employees!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harriette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gearhart, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“There used to be a canal and we saw something”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We didn't do the museum. We saw a commemorative statue regarding the towpath, saw a memorial cross for the Irish laborers who died digging the canal, a section of stagnant water showing what the canal might have looked like and a canal boat that was a replica and on gravel near the canal replica. Signs and maps help understand what was once there. We were already there and enjoyed walking around the area. Wouldn't have been so nice on a rainy afternoon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jamesccasterline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed C&O Canal National Historical Park and Visitors Museum also viewed

 

Been to C&O Canal National Historical Park and Visitors Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing