We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bruce House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cumberland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bruce House Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Cumberland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
north carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were two couples cycling from Pittsburgh to D.C. Pam was there to greet us upon arrival and provided a safe/secure place for us to store/lock our bikes. Since we already had and early dinner in town, and were not planning to go out again that evening, Pam provided coffee, tea, wine, cheese and crackers, for us to nibble on while we played cards in the dining room--nice touch! We stayed in the Columbia room on the first floor--very spacious w/fireplace and sitting area-it was very clean, private bath was spotless, i loved the 'sit-in' shower and cozy bathrobe provided. Pam did ask if anyone had allergy considerations for breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was individually plated, presentation was beautiful, altho, portions were rather small for cyclists with many miles ahead to ride. French toast with a gourmet raspberry sauce, 2 strips bacon, 1 strawberry, 2 melon balls and a kiwi slice, juice and coffee. Having latent autoimmune diabetes, i didn't think to request a protein source (bacon is not protein) when Pam asked about allergies the night before, since every previous b&b had served a protein source like eggs, peanut butter, cheese and/or yogurt. As we got up to leave after breakfast, Pam asked about the uneaten food--when i explained my situation, she offered to make up some eggs, but we were already getting a late start and since I always carry peanuts and protein bars, i was able to eat those. I don't fault Pam for the situation, but it made me aware not everyone, considers 'protein' a necessary part of breakfast. So, if that is a concern for you, make sure to specify with Pam the night before what your expectation is.
I thought the Bruce House was excellent in every aspect, except for the breakfast small portion and lack of protein--hence the 'very good' instead of excellent in the value category. I would stay here again, i would just make sure to talk to Pam about specifics on the breakfast menu.

Room Tip: If you have any dietary concerns, make sure to confirm specifically what will be served for breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank assunta1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
89
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hurricane, WV
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I didn't stay at the Bruce House Inn: I should be clear about that up front, but I found it online and made reservations for my wife, mother-in-law, and 1-year-old. They loved it. My wife much preferred it to other places we've stayed in Cumberland, so I'm pretty sure she'll want to stay there again. She reported that it was charming and comfortable and a good value, and because they were the only guests the night they stayed the staff was especially accommodating. Not much of a view, though, from the ground floor, she said. I'm hoping to stay there myself the next trip.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ChairmanMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We have now stayed in the Bruce House Inn twice. We have family in the area and it started out as a convenient place to stay when the "house" was full. Now, it is so much more to us and I think that we will always stay here even when there is room with the family.

We have stayed in the Washington Room both times. It is a well appointed, large room with a very large bathroom. There are many small touches that add to the charm, including robes, bed chocolates, a book to read and a lavender sachet. The room and bathroom were immaculate.

The innkeeper is Pam and she is in a word fabulous. She is accommodating, interesting, helpful and just plain nice. On our last trip, we came for a funeral. She worked with our schedule and also helped with a last minute room for family. (The Crow's Nest - also well appointed with twin beds and a large bathroom.)

The breakfasts were divine! Local bacon, yummy pastries, fresh fruit and yogurt and each day, a wonderful main course. (French toast, waffles and even Eggs Benedict.)

I highly recommend the Bruce House Inn both for locals looking for a place for family and for those traveling to the area to check out all Cumberland and the surrounding areas have to offer.

Room Tip: Both the Washington Room and the Crow's Nest (had twin beds) were lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lvebytes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

What a wonderful little bed and breakfast. The breaskfast was oustanding! All fresh and delicious foods. Beautiful plate designs. The lobby is a cozy little tearoom with a fireplace. There is tea, coffee, and hot chocolate and cookies all throughout the day you can help yourself to. Pam the hostess was so very sweet. My bank screwed up the payments and even though it wasnt her fault, Pam gave us a free night for all the worries and trouble. And she gave a discount for our next visit because we bought our friends their honeymoon night with her.

The room was stunning. Great view of the city. And the robes were super cozy. Claw foot bath tub was amazing as well! The bed was nice and firm and comfy. Great location, super close to the heart of historic downtown. We stayed in the george washington room. A lovely room. Pam let us look at all the different rooms too. It is a very beautiful Inn.

We had a great time and we will be back in May!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We called Pam the innkeeper who gave us a discount on the train ride from Cumberland to Frostburg. She passed the savings on to us, how nice. We rode train, and then walked to downtown pedestrian mall for a drink. Had a drink in the Baltimore Street bar, nice/ok. Walked by City Lights, had read on TA, and made reservation for dinner. Drove up the hill to the inn. Cute, quaint and clean. We had the Crow's Nest room on the top floor. Bathroom had a cool clawfoot tub with a rain shower, new sink and toilet. The bedroom was adorable, twin beds, really comfy and beautiful comforter and linens. Had a TV and a heater if needed. Breakfast in the am was coffee, tea and OJ. Pam made poppy seed muffins with fruit, then eggs benedict. Great dining room and sunny. Would reccomend and definitely stay there again. Wine and chocolates were offered the night before. Dinner/bar at City Lights was great!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperPam, Owner at Bruce House Inn, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! I'm glad you didn't mind being 'Lucy and Ricky' for a night...and loved that you were already making that joke. Thanks for your patience while we sorted out the train tickets. I'm so glad you enjoyed our lovely little town, and hope that you will come back to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffersonton, VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Bruce House is a beautiful house with nice touches. Plus, Pam was an excellent host and we felt very welcome. Her breakfasts were amazing. We stayed in the Columbian room and were so pleased. I would recommend this inn to any one.

Room Tip: We liked the 1st floor, no steps. Nice big room with new bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperPam, Owner at Bruce House Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We try very hard to provide a great experience for our guests, and are always pleased when guests take the time to let us know they enjoyed their stay. Thanks again for choosing the Bruce House, and we hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here before leaving for a week long tour on the GAP by bike. Our bikes had a indoor, locked area. Breakfast was eggs benedict with muffins, and fruit served in the dining room with fire in the fireplace. There was wine for an evening happy hour or cookies and coffee. We stayed in the Monk's room on the 3rd floor. It was quiet, clean and comfortable. There were extra heaters if we felt we needed them but we were very cozy. Deb, our host, was aware of all the special needs of each of her guests and had great dinner suggestions.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank roadieplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperPam, Owner at Bruce House Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for the kind words, and for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your visit! I'm glad you chose to stay with us, and hope the rest of your journey was enjoyable. Have a wonderful holiday season, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumberland
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
0.5 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#2 of 4 in Cumberland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Braddock Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruce House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruce House Inn

Property: Bruce House Inn
Address: 201 Fayette St, Cumberland, MD 21502-2832
Region: United States > Maryland > Cumberland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the romance of the past, with the conveniences of the present. The Bruce House is an 1840 Federal home located in the beautiful historic district. Beautifully furnished rooms all have private baths. Enjoy our famous gourmet breakfast, or savor a glass of wine by the fireplace. Free wi-fi, secure bike parking, walking distance to all major attractions. Find out why the New York Post called us 'a chic B&B that is a find!' ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing