We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Step Back Into History on the Eastern Shore”
Review of Tidewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tidewater Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Easton
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Step Back Into History on the Eastern Shore”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Tidewater Inn has always been a beautiful hotel; but, reprevious owners had let it fall into a sad hotel. The current owner, Carl Freeman Company, have revamped with the hotel and restaurant areas. The beds are inviting with crisp white linens. The staff tries to take care of any request ... even a mimosa before breakfast when the bar is not officially open.

Make sure to try the bar pizza with crab meat. You won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie_marie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTidewater, Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for sharing such wonderful feedback. We are slowly but surely working on improvements. We will be working on our European bathrooms next. We can't make them bigger but we will be adding more shelving. We look forward to your next visit. Oh, not that you should know, but we were bought by a private investor and have been managed independently for about two years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    143
    67
    47
    23
See reviews for
92
189
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Ours was worse than a typical chain hotel room and ridiculous for the price. It was clearly carved out what used to be a larger room. It was awkwardly shaped and barely large enough for the double bed. The bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen: there was no tub, it was hard to maneuver around the door and the shower was so tight that I (a normal-sized woman) had trouble turning around -- someone over six foot would actually have had to crouch. For some reason, the bedsheets were not actually long enough for the bed and by the time we woke in the morning, we were sleeping mostly on mattress. Icky.

On the good side, the room had original-looking art, instead of normal generic hotel prints, and the lobby was lovely. And there is internet.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StarvinGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTidewater, General Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
I greatly appreciate you feedback. We do have challenges with our rooms and market ourselves as a "European Boutique" hotel since we were built in 1949 as a hotel. Each one of our rooms are different in size and decor and in the 40's bathrooms were not built very large. Although, we have an action plan to improve our bathrooms with better shelving and lush amenities. We are unable to enlarge them. We would love for you come back and possibly experience one of our larger rooms. We will be happy to send you a complimentary night stay with us. Please contact me directly at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This is a beautiful, historic hotel that has been modernized. Our room was perfect for my son and me. The beds were very comfortable with new linens, plenty of room with two baths(new linens) and two closets. The staff is very pleasant and were helpful in finding a small cocktail table for us, handling luggage, etc. The restaurant is excellent, again, with a great staff. The chef prepared a wild duck for us which was gourmet. He gladly provided the recipe and contributed to making our stay a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick898989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTidewater, General Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback and comments about your stay with us! We are glad you had a memorable stay with us and your trip to Easton, MD. I will pass your comments on to our Food & Beverage Manager, the Chef and Front Desk Manager as well as the wait staff. We look forward to having you back with us in the very near future. Alex Zullo/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

As a resident of Salisbury, I have had little reason to spend the night in Easton. That changed in January when I attended a Doncaster preview meeting with 20+ consultants throughout our District. The accommodations were excellent and every one was so friendly and helpful. There are many exceptional restaurants in the area but because of the "lightly falling snow" we opted to eat in. The food was fantastic and once at again, the service extremely good for a Monday evening. I highly recommend anyone planning to come to the shore, make sure to stop in Easton and if it involves an overnight, please stay at the Tidewater Inn. It's a nice well-kept hotel reminiscent of days gone by!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTidewater, General Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review and comments! We are glad you enjoyed you stay with us and your trip to Easton, MD. I will pass your comments on to our Food & Beverage Manager as well as the wait staff. We look forward to having you back with us in the near future. Alex Zullo/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The Tidewater Inn was a great place to stay in Easton, which is a town definitely worth checking out if you are in the DC or Baltimore area. The Tidewater Inn was a well-kept hotel from a time gone by. The hotel and rooms were well kept and featured interesting and very pleasant common areas including a sitting area with plush sofas and a courtyard with patio furniture. The hotel is in a great location for accessing the main downtown of Easton. There were many restaurants, shops, and cafes within a short walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTidewater, General Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. We strive in the personal touches for our guests and appreciate your feedback that I will happily share with the hotel staff. We hope to see you again in the future and thank you again for your feedback. Alex Zullo/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The food quality is extremely wonderful. The service is totally trained for fine dining. Rockfish was delicious, salad was tossed lightly, and veggies were cooked perfectly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTidewater, General Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. We strive in the personal touches for our guests and appreciate your feedback that I will happily share with the hotel staff. We hope to see you again in the future and thank you again for your feedback. Alex Zullo/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Beach, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I was at this Inn for a conference and I think the Inn had taken on more than they should have, having been completely or nearly completely full immediately prior to our conference and totally slammed immediately after our conference by the annual Waterfowl Festival (when the entire area fills up). Many of the rooms were not available until well after 4 p.m., and the staff did not seem to have the ability to get rooms ready for people who were waiting rather than what seemed to be randomly. The next day the Inn wanted everyone out very quickly in the morning, and one couple, one of which had severe health problems and asked for additional time, was told no. Given that all the rooms were vacating on time or early, surely housekeeping would have been busy enough that one room could have remained occupied for an additional hour. The Inn does not have sufficient parking for all guests if they fill up and additional parking in town was hard to find and usually quite a walk. I was surprised that there was no hair dryer in the room, and it would have been nice to have a small coffee pot in the room or coffee in the lobby for guests, but neither was available. The room was comfortable but I would have liked to have been able to turn the heat off and could not. Staff was courteous and as helpful as they could have been, given the impossible schedule they had.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTidewater, General Manager at Tidewater Inn, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Thank you for your recent stay at the Tidewater Inn, as well as offering constructive feedback on your experience. Please accept my apologies for the problems you encountered. Waterfowl is always a busy and challenging weekend for us as you can imagine. We are constantly working on improving our hotel rooms and recently implemented a new hot water and heating system. I have forwarded your comments on to our maintenance staff with regards to the heat problem you experienced in your room as well as housekeeping department. In addition, our suites do have coffee pots, along with refrigerators and we do offer complimentary coffee in the lobby starting at 6:30am every morning. I apologize that there was none available for you during your stay. Should your travels bring you back to Easton, I hope that you might give us a second chance, so that we may offer you the kind of experience that you would expect from the Tidewater Inn. Alex Zullo/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easton
8.0 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
7.2 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
459 reviews
8.1 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Easton Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Easton
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Easton
Hampton Inn Easton
#2 of 9 in Easton
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tidewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Inn

Property: Tidewater Inn
Address: 101 E Dover St, Easton, MD 21601-3001
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Easton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Easton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tidewater Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidewater Inn is a charming and elegant hotel located on the Eastern Shore with roots that trace back to 1712. A romantic hideaway nestled in historic downtown Easton, Maryland, surrounded by boutiques, art galleries, gourmet restaurants and the famed Avalon Theatre. The Inn features 95 well-appointed boutique guest rooms, a tavern style restaurant and banquet rooms. A luxurious retreat just outside of Baltimore, Washington, DC and Wilmington, the Tidewater Inn is appointed with modern comforts, state-of-the-art conference space and exquisite banquet rooms ideal for weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tidewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidewater Hotel Easton
Historic Tidewater Hotel
Historic Tidewater Resort
Tidewater Inn Easton Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing