We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent! Wonderful & luxurious rooms, terrific food, very relaxing!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of John S. McDaniel House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Easton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
John S. McDaniel House
Ranked #3 of 5 Easton B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
“Excellent! Wonderful & luxurious rooms, terrific food, very relaxing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

We had a wonderful and very relaxing weekend at the John S. McDaniel B&B! Our room & bathroom were beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The food was delicious!! The owners are very friendly and helpful to point out all the great things to do in and around Easton (many within walking distance of the B&B). Sailing around Tilghman Island with Captain Wade was a great way to spend an afternoon!! Overall, exceptional value and completely relaxing - especially on the huge porch enjoying a glass of wine!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JH_Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
14
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

We have stayed in many, many b&bs and I AM quite fussy so when i say this place is excellent I really do mean it. The location is great - everything you want to do is a short stroll. The decor has been painstakingly restored with careful attention to achieving authenticity without compromising on comfort. Our room was spacious, comfortable and quiet with a wonderful large bathroom stocked with loads of fluffy towels, magazines etc. And then there's the breakfast - real gourmet standard, exceptional. Just loved this place, the owners have got it just right, not precious, just perfect.
The house has a fascinating history - do ask Mary Lou to tell it!

  • Liked — decor, breakfast, location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pennyarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
313 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2008

This historic inn was recently renovated with very good results. Our room had a very large bathroom with an excellent shower head and soaking tub with jets. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The room itself was pleasant but could have used better reading light.
Marylou made large breakfasts and there were snacks and drinks available at all times.
The location is very good for walking to shops, galleries and restaurants.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms and lots of privacy
  • Disliked — Not being able to eat breakfast without host and hostess chatting with us
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbrown46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2005

It is clear that the house has gone through improvements and is clean and comfortable. The host was polite and helpful. The atmosphere was very relaxing and my wife and I enjoyed our stay.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2003

I wish I could have found a review before going to the John S. McDaniel House in Easton, Md. The house looks nothing like the picture posted. I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw it. The windows are rotted, paint is missing on 1/4 of the house (chipped, etc.) wood missing from part of the house. All the doors inside creak along with both sets of stairs. The inn keeper was not friendly and not truthful. When we wanted to drink a bottle of wine with our family in the parlor, she got huffy and told us we had wine glasses in our room and wouldn't we rather drink it up there. Instead of bringing us a corkscrew they took our wine bottle and didn't bring it back for 20 minutes! Many more complaints but not enough time to write them. I do not recommend this B & B at all!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easton
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Easton Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Easton
Hampton Inn Easton
#2 of 9 in Easton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Easton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Easton
Quality Inn Easton
#6 of 9 in Easton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Easton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John S. McDaniel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John S. McDaniel House

Property: John S. McDaniel House
Address: 14 N Aurora St, Easton, MD 21601-3617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Easton
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Easton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing