We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elk Forge B&B Inn, Retreat and Day Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Elkton B&B and Inns
Bird in Hand, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a lovely 2-night stay. The property was beautiful inside and out. The room was clean. The bed and bedding were exceptionally comfortable. We had a whirlpool tub and cozy robes. There was not much room in the bedroom, but it was plenty for us.

The breakfast was very good the first morning, but on the 2nd morning (as noted by another guest), the young man, whoever he was, innkeeper? Owner? I don't know. But he showed up at 9:15am, muttered something about oversleeping and rushed about trying to throw breakfast together. It wasn't ready until almost 10, and we never did see anything hot. I think what finally came out was scarfed down immediately by some of the other guests that were also waiting with tapping foot. The homemade granola was wonderful, and a little healthier breakfast fare sure didn't hurt us when we spent 3 days sampling every good restaurant we could find in the area. The delay didn't throw us off too much, but some of the other guests obviously had plans and were growing steadily grumpier. We took a walk and enjoyed the outdoors. We were definitely ready to get our day started by the time breakfast arrived.

As much as we loved the walking trails and exploring the property, we also noticed that the landscaping hadn't had much TLC in quite some time. I'm sure the staff are very busy, but I found myself pulling a weed or 2 as I walked and wishing I could fix up the perennial beds just a little. It's pretty, but it could be amazing. One afternoon we took a nap in the hammock, and I loved it so much that I've promised myself I'll buy one before the month is out. All in all a wonderful stay at a beautiful property. I'd recommend it, and I'd consider staying there again if our travels lead us to Elkton anytime soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    65
    32
    21
    7
See reviews for
17
188
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland, USA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We spent a night in the Brandywine suite when the days were reaching the low 90s. The Inn was very pleasant in appearance and climate control. The location is convenient to cute towns and great parks.

Our greeting on arrival was warm and informative without being smothering at all - some B&Bs can take this too far, but our greeting was just right. The Inn provided great guidance when asked about nearby restaurants (we'd noticed the nice list on their web site) and attractions.

The grounds are beautiful; noise from the adjacent state road is not intrusive. The paths, which reach a stream, are well-maintained and interesting though not too long.

Our suite had a primary room with beautifully hand-painted walls, nice furniture, and a very comfortable bed that was very clean. The bath was nice, with a claw-foot tub adapted for a shower head. The second room had a two-person Jacuzzi that we did not use, and a very nice desk. The wifi worked well, with coverage thoughout the Inn.

Breakfast was excellent in quality and quantity, but the service could have been more attentive as others have commented in their reviews - we were on our own to sort things out. Fortunately, it was clear enough to us.

Overall, a very good value and a great weekend. A notch below wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catonsville, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The location was great. The grounds were excellent. Walking trails and lots of trees to give you a feeling of being away from everything. The building was nice, although a bit in need of repairs in some places. That was not a big deal, though. The room was adequate, with a nice whirlpool bath. TV/DVD/VCR was handy. The young man who greeted us on Friday afternoon, was pleasant and polite. The one person from housekeeping we encountered was also polite and helpful.

Now for the breakfast. On Saturday morning, breakfast was supposed to be from 8 a.m. - 10 a.m. At 9 a.m., the kitchen was still dark no food. Guests were standing around. After calling on the courtesy phone we were told that the person was running late. So, we got food, but the relaxing atmosphere was definitely interrupted. At least, the same young man was quick and efficient when he did finally arrive.

Sunday morning, I came down later just in case. At about 8:45 a.m., there was little food out. After waiting a while, a young lady began to bring out a few things at a time. She, however, appeared annoyed and did not speak to us or smile at all. Coffee ran out for a time, and we were unable to sit down to a relaxing breakfast, because of constantly getting up to see if there was food. The young lady attending the dining area, seemed a bit flustered and hurried, and her body language bore that out.

At a bed and breakfast, "bed" and "breakfast" are fundamental parts of a visit. We almost drove out to eat, because of the late preparation on Friday morning. Others may have. You shouldn't have to do this at a B & B.

The two breakfasts didn't ruin our stay, but will make us reluctant to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My daughter had a "deal" offered through Amazon for 2 nights and 2 breakfasts at the Inn, and since she is a "spa lover" and we were both anxious to get away from work and family problems, we decided to go. Since it is less than a 2 hour drive from where we live, it seemed like a great choice. Let me say that the exterior of the Inn is beautiful. The photos on their website are exactly like the place and it is quite charming. We got in early and were able to check in and the man at the desk suggested the "Country Club Suite" and gave us a key and directions to the room. The suite is not quite as elegant as the pictures indicate, but it was large and did have all of the promised amenities. This is a rather "non-directive" B&B. Other reviews had alluded to this, but we saw that as a "plus" since neither of us is particularily interested in making small talk with strangers. However, The Elk Forge Inn carries the "you're on your own" policy a bit far even for our liking. We were not shown around the Inn itself, told where breakfast would be served, shown where the Spa was, etc. While the breakfast was fairly typical and certainly good, we were pretty much on our own in terms of figuring out things such as how to use the waffle iron, where to sit, etc. After breakfast we had scheduled spa treatments and when we went in search of the spa we discovered that it was locked. I give credit to the young man at the desk for trying his best to remedy this situation by calling their masseuse and explaining the mix-up (made during our reservation) but it seemed almost impossible to find a time for both of us to receive our massages and facials and still make our early afternoon scheduled visit to Winterthur. This was a major disappointment to my daughter. In summary, I would give this inn somewhere between 3 and 4 stars, although I think that more attention to details by the staff, as well as some sort of guide or manual, would be of help.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset, New York
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Discovered this little gem quite by accident. Had never been to a bed and breakfast before. Very charming. Old home from the 1800's. Fully electrified. Two person jacuzzi in the room. Full modern bathroom. On the third floor, no elevator. Needed help getting bag upstairs. Beautiful property . Nice deck to sit and read. Hammock. Short hiking trail. Breakfast lovely. Waffles, eggs, sliced fruit, juices, coffee. And you eat on china in a fan cooled room. Indoor fountain, soft music playing.very nice.

Room Tip: We requested a room with the 2 person jacuzzi. It was on the third floor, a bit of a hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We used a Groupon deal and stayed in the Lancaster Room for one night.When we entered, we were not greeted by a host / hostess. We had to search for someone to ask questions. It was pretty much was this way the whole stay. The room was very nice and comfortable, the sheets were soft and the bed comfortable. The room was clean, but a bit neglected and needed some repairs. The door to the bathroom was a slotted, folding door, allowing fan noise from our and the neighboring room's bathroom into the bedroom. The water was nice and hot and I loved the bear claw bath tub! The breakfast was good, served from 8-10 am. Hot coffee and other beverages were available at all times, along with a jar filled with home baked cookies. The building was located right off of a busy road right up the road from what appeared to be some sort of a quarry. The road and truck noise were not what we were expecting. There were two very short walking trails.Overall, it was an ok stay, but would not go back. Not the usual warm and friendly B&B experience due to the lack of warm and friendly interactive hosts! There were people who worked there, and could answer questions, but we never knew their status, because they never really introduced themselves to us unless we asked!

Room Tip: I only stayed in the main house, but would suggest staying to the rear side of the building away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pomfret, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the long wood sweet at over $300 a night, was not what I was expecting. Very old and run down. Fireplace and phone both didn't work and good luck trying to get ahold of someone if you have a problem. Dead and alive bugs everywhere. Breakfast was worse than any normal hotel. However the bed was very comfortable and I paid extra for rose petals and candles for the room and that was nice. Overall definitely not what it looked like on the internet and wouldn't pay that much to stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Fire4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkton
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Elkton - Newark S. - UD Area
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newark - Elkton
4.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Elkton
Hampton Inn Elkton
#2 of 8 in Elkton
333 reviews
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#4 of 24 in Newark
267 reviews
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Forge B&B Inn, Retreat and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Forge B&B Inn, Retreat and Day Spa

Property: Elk Forge B&B Inn, Retreat and Day Spa
Address: 807 Elk Mills Road, Elkton, MD 21921
Region: United States > Maryland > Elkton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Elkton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elk Forge B&B Inn, Retreat and Day Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Colonial Manor House with each room and suite individually decorated. Warm charm, relaxing setting, wonderful free breakfasts and a Day Spa on the property in case you would like a massage, facial or other spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Elk Forge B&B Inn, Retreat and Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Forge Bed And Breakfast Inn, Retreat And Day Spa
Elk Forge b&b Inn, Retreat And Day Hotel Elkton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing