We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Motel is Awful/ Disgusting/ Scary--Avoid!”

Brown's Motel - Rooms of the World
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ellicott City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brown's Motel - Rooms of the World
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This Motel is Awful/ Disgusting/ Scary--Avoid!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

This is by far the WORST MOTEL that I have ever visited. After driving for hours and arriving very late I pulled over hoping for a restful sleep and experienced the total opposite. Unfortunately, I was driving with a child and couldn't afford to continue looking. The clerk was friendly but that didn't make up for the awful conditions.
This place is old and outdated/ small, dirty, dingy rooms with an old television set that didn't work. Small outdated dingy bathrooms- wouldn't dare use the towels! Very cold room/ heat didn't work- very uncomfortable place.
The door didn't seem very secure- I called the front desk that night and several times that morning-- no answer. I had to get the handy man to go and wake the manager after waiting in the office over five minutes ringing the bell to no avail. This place should not be in business.

The place should be checked for Violations by the State. It appears to be something from the dark ages. I would never go near this place again and would advise all others to avoid if you do not wish to suffer.
V.T.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ccjo106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

it was close to the m3 festival. it was late and there was one room left. a room we were told hadnt been remodeled as the other ones. so for $62 a night, we figured, we needed showers and rest. anyway... visible mold. no clean towels. floor was giving way in one area. broken drawers. shower nozzle had low water pressure as if it hadnt been replaced in 25 yrs. piece of random material used as a makeshift curtain. burned out lightbulbs. so gross. housekeeping never showed.we are at comfort inn now and for about $20 more per night i am thrilled.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zinger12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ellicott City hotels

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed here while traveling through on our bikes. The staff was friendly and the room decor was nice, but the room was a little dirty (old food in refrigerator, unemptied trash and some kind of straw on the floor). The toilet ran very slowly to the point where we thought it was broken, and since they only had one maintenance person for all of the hotel (who was busy helping out with other things) we never got it looked at while we stayed there.

There are not many accommodations in this area and this is by one of the cheapest deals you can get in the NE-Baltimore area cost-wise; just keep in mind you get what you pay for at this location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I'm local to the area and this place has a bad reputation. However, I recently needed a room in my price range so I gave it a try. I paid $56 for one of the deluxe room, such as it was. It was small and a little run down but very clean and because my room was towards the back, it was quiet. I slept well and the water pressure in the shower was fine. The room could have used more than one lamp because it was quite dark. I wouldn't go there with kids because there is nothing to do except sit on the bed and watch tv. A state park is super close but you can't enjoy it from the motel because there are no balconies and windows are small.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the main road towards the back. The deluxe rooms are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bg68ec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

Budget price (must ask for and insist on it) best for one/two persons--no frills. Clean rooms, but arrive/call early for best results.
Nice check-in lady--works with customers.
Rooms have unique motiffs representing various world destinations.
Has front entrance room near bed with a cute table and chairs.
Downside: Air Conditoning/fan may not work. Basic showers--no tubs.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stevewonder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicott City
4.2 mi away
Residence Inn Columbia
Residence Inn Columbia
#2 of 2 in Ellicott City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Baltimore West - Catonsville
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 3 in Catonsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore / Woodlawn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Motel - Rooms of the World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Motel - Rooms of the World

Property: Brown's Motel - Rooms of the World
Address: 8074 Baltimore National Pike, Ellicott City, MD 21043-3404
Region: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ellicott City
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Patapsco ST. Park ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing