We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun place to explore with the kids”

B&O Railroad Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A holiday exhibit of model trains is found at this rail museum in Ellicott City
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A fun place to explore with the kids”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Kind of small, but packed with railroad history, this museum offers a fun activity for the family. There is a nice diorama and small theater to watch a themed program. They have done a nice job in recreating the station.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bkmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    44
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
222 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Wow! Even if you don't love trains you need to see this place”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

This amazing place completely exceeded our expectations. Model trains, railroad history, full size trains, amazing architecture and history. We were there a little over 2 hours and learned a lot. I would love to bring my younger nieces and nephews back some day. There is a lot here for the younger children as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MNwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
“This is a great place for kids”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is a great place for kids. My kids had a great time there when they were 4-6 years old. The historic Ellicott City is interesting. We enjoyed walking along the street.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Annapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum, fantastic volunteers!”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We really enjoyed our trip to the B&O Railroad Museum. The museum is set up so well. Though we didn't have children with us, I was so impressed to see an attractive play area for children, with comfy rockers for tired parents. What a nice family-friendly touch. There is a lot to see and the trains are just beautifully restored, and the information on them provided is interesting and helpful. When one of the volunteers found out that it was our first time there, he gave us pretty much our own private tour of the roundhouse. He was very interesting and seemed very happy to share his great knowledge. The facility is so well done. Thank you for an enjoyable morning!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank valburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Train Heaven”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A must visit if you like trains. Required for grandfathers and boys under 8. A unique museum in the US, nothing else like it. The whole history of the railroad laid out before you.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed B&O Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to B&O Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing