We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun experience”
Review of Pure Wine Cafe

Pure Wine Cafe
Ranked #6 of 168 Restaurants in Ellicott City
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ellicott City
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great fun experience”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We visited this quirky little wine bar several times this past year and although very crouded, it was a great experience. Good selections of wine ( a little pricey) and all kinds of mucnchies, small plates and even entrees. We had fun ordering a mix of things and sharing. Everythinmg was good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank furman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    29
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ellicott city, md.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great local cafe”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

As much as I hate to give great press to this restaurant (more people will come) I must. My husband and I go here about every other Friday night. It is very small but has a DC feel. PJ,the owner is almost always on premise, greeting customers and offering wine insight. The food is delicious but if you are looking for a large menu with big portions this is not your place. I have never left feeling hungry but do not take a doggy bag either. Tapas like portions of great food. Their fish tacos are our favorite. Flaked fish, not greasy fried fish you often find in most restaurants. The menu changes it seems with the seasons but a few popular dishes remain on the menu year round. The only suggestion we have (and have discussed with PJ) is to have more California wines by the glass. Be aware there is not much room to stand while waiting for a table. There is an upstairs dining room and can't wait for the patio to reopen when the weather warms up!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ex-laxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
739 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,317 helpful votes
“Like wine- it's getting better with age.”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Second visit. Same cool staff eager to serve you. The word is out- Pure Wine was packed this time! Still trendy yuppie atmosphere. Good wine selections sans sommelier, or was there anyone? Original contemporary art displays on the wall that you can buy. I would love to come back again and again except that this is a 40 min drive from home.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ebbtide123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
739 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,317 helpful votes
“Diamond on the rough.”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This has the makings of a really good wine bar. Interesting location but a bit discombobulated interior design. Some touches of a trendy bar here and there and then some. The main space shouts dive-y neighborhood. The music is insipid...not matching the vibe the bar wants to create. The upper levels spaces are staid. Perhaps build another bar on the upper floor? However, the menu and wine selections are spot on, something you would perhaps expect in NYC or Philly. The wine cellar is genius. It is a work of art. The servers are beautiful and friendly. Certainly worth a stop in this antique-y town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ebbtide123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Meal In A Nice New Setting”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We love small, well made dishes, which makes Pure Wine Cafe perfect for us on the food front. We rarely dined there, however, because the space was so small and reservations unavailable. With the expansion of the space into a small upstairs dining room and roof cafe, reservations now are taken. Our meal on 10/12 was flawless; house cured meats were fresh and exquisite, rockfish tacos great. The duck breast - a "large plate" - had a polenta cake below that was flavorful and light (hard to achieve). The side of brussels sprouts we added were imbued with elegant spices. The sommelier gave a great wine suggestion that pulled all these dishes together. We asked that our dishes be served as three courses and our server was happy to accommodate (service was great, by the way). Truly the best meal out in a very long time and we left not feeling the least bit stuffed. My idea of a good time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Torph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pure Wine Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Pure Wine Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing