We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and perfect suite!”
Review of The Wayside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Wayside Inn
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Super comfy room, bed, pillows, towels, etc. Breakfast was varied and delicious... the B&B is very close to Ellicot City which is a little, quaint town with a couple of amazing restaurants and interesting, little stores. We will visit again next year...

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MaLuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Wayside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

You had us at "perfect suite!" Thank you so much for following up with us after your stay. We're already looking forward to having you back next year!

Safe travels,
Wayside Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

This is hands down our favorite b&b thus far!! Absolutely amazing! Beautifully restored and remodled the innkeepers are amazing super friendly folks felt like home. We stayed for my wife's 30th birthday and could not have imagined a better place to stay! As we walked in the front door we could smell the homemade chocolate chip cookies that had just come out of the oven, which were delicious! The room we stayed in was as beautiful as the rest of the inn and super clean. Breakfast was wonderful! Best we have had in a long time and not the normal plain old breakfast either, 3-4 course spread of delicious-ness, yum!!! We will definitely be going back soon!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeandShannonFissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Wayside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Your favorite B&B thus far? We're honored! Thank you so much for celebrating your wife's birthday with us. We're already looking forward to your next visit!

'Til then,
David, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a great facility with wonderful food, service, good humor and any kind of help you might need. Ten of us 'invaded' and David and Susan took us in as their own and helped us to have a terrific reunion. The location is fine as well.
I will recommend the Wayside Inn very highly!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Wayside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thanks for recommending us, Dave! It was our pleasure to host your reunion last year. I hope you'll keep us in mind next time you're planning a get-together!

Best,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I travel cross-country to work in the BWI area, usually for 2-3 consecutive days, and I really count on getting a good night's sleep so as to minimize jet lag effects before starting my work in the area. The Wayside Inn is a great place to get a good night's sleep; it's in a very peaceful and pretty setting and the innkeepers always provide a great breakfast (and conversation) with which to start the day. At the end of the day there are nice places to eat in nearby Ellicott City as well, and Dave is always helpful in making plans or arrangements for dining in the area. From the business travel perspective this is a great place to stay (cost is good too); I can imagine that it is equally great for couples and family stays as well.

Room Tip: They're all great. The floors everywhere are a little creaky, but that's part of the charm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mister_stinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Owner at The Wayside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

It's great to hear you feel right at home when you stay with us! We understand the toll jet lag can take on any kind of trip, so reading that you can "count on getting a good night's sleep" at our place means more to us than you know. Can't wait to have you back!

'Til then,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

David and Susan were the perfect hosts! We had guests staying in our home for our wedding. They came from Denver and New York. My husband and I decided to run away from the mad house so we booked, on line, reservations to this wonderful bed and breakfast. David met us at the door with a big smile even though we we 41/2 hours late!
The house was beautifully done in great taste. The room we had chosen had a private entrance. It was clean and fresh and lovely. HUGE TUB!!! And to top off our stay the breakfast was unbelievably delicious. This is a must stay even if you are local!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfarrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at the Wayside Inn in late September with a group of friends. We stay at a lot of B&B's when we travel with our friends and the Wayside Inn was by far one of the best. The Innkeepers, David and Susan could not have been more cordial. The rooms were great, the food delicious, and the company excellent. We felt right at home and would return there without hesitation.

Thank you David and Susan for a wonderful time!

Connie and Bob D.

Room Tip: All rooms were great and fully equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My wife & I had an amazing time at The Wayside Inn - we were staying for our 1 year anniversary. I have stayed at Wayside 5 times now and it has been fantastic each time that I have stayed there. Dave was very helpful in setting reservations at a French Restaurant, though we ended up having Mexican in Ellicott City. David also helped with directions both down to Ellicott City & to Patapsco State Park, which my wife & I went to afterwards on Sunday. The breakfast was amazing, as always, and we were able to stay in the Banneker Room, which allowed us to have the opportunity to use the jacuzzi, which was very relaxing after a long work week!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvmymeg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicott City
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Columbia
Residence Inn Columbia
#2 of 2 in Ellicott City
137 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
499 reviews
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
4.5 mi away
Turf Valley Resort
Turf Valley Resort
#1 of 2 in Ellicott City
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wayside Inn

Address: 4344 Columbia Rd, Ellicott City, MD 21042-5910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ellicott City
Price Range: £124 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wayside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two hundred years of history await you at the Wayside Inn. Conveniently located in historic Ellicott City, Maryland, and within a short drive of either Baltimore or Washington, D.C., the Wayside Inn is the perfect place for you to escape to the past. A historic building providing modern amenities and fabulous, full breakfasts combine for an unforgettable escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Wayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing