We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Johnny's Bistro on Main - CLOSED

Johnny's Bistro on Main
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Came for lunch. Good atmosphere reasonable prices, good service and the food hit the spot. They also offer free samples of their soup. Very nice

Helpful?
Thank Jtbs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    27
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food fairly priced.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The house salad with the basil honey vinaigrette is delicious. The pizza is all very good. Never had a bad entrée.
The best meal I have ever had I made myself. I like to cook and when I go out I don't like being disappointed and I have never been disappointed at Johnny's Bistro.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terrillary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

My husband and I had lunch at Johnny's Bistro, we're first time customers. The restaurant was cozy with little tables and a fireplace. The hostess/waitress was pleasant and attentive. We were given menus and a sample of the soup of the day. Our sandwiches were tasty and the mulled cider was delicious. The bathrooms were the cleanest I have been to in a restaurant. The owner was friendly and came out to introduce himself and ask about our meal. I would most definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly4aday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You may be charged by the bite”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Located on the main street through historic Ellicott City, this cafe looked like a cute place to stop and a good option between a sandwich shop and a sit-down restaurant. We were seated by a friendly hostess who handed us menus, but then were told we had to order at the window in the back. Odd to have to stand in line and pre-pay for food.
The mushroom soup was tasty, the panini was good, but the grilled salmon over greens was gross. We each took a bite, and something was definitely off. Here's where things get strange...
We asked the waitress to replace our $14 salad with the $8 hummus platter. Since we had to prepay, we decided to not make a big deal about getting a credit. We enjoyed the hummus, meager portion that it was, but were surprised when the waitress brought us a bill. "What is this for?" we asked. We were told that since we ordered hummus, we were being charged -- but we had returned the inedible and more expensive salad?? After much ado, which included the owner yelling at the server in the kitchen, we were told that we would be charged $5 for our 2 bites of fish. Ummm, OK. Weird. But since we had already written off the cost, that was fine. So it was essentially a wash, and we left.
No sooner had the door closed behind us than the owner came running out onto the street asking us where we were going. He accused us of leaving without paying the bill. This was a very uncomfortable conversation to be having out in the street, in plain sight of patrons and passersby. But after explaining the situation, we emphasized that in fact we were owed $1. At this point we didn't care about the buck, we just wanted to go our way and never return. When he realized his error, the owner was apologetic but blamed the mistake on his staff. Truly not a man in the holiday spirit.
Bottom line: after reading some of the other reviews, our experience was not the only one like it. No need to stand in line to order food, no need to risk being charged by the bite for the kitchen's mistakes, no need to be berated by the owner. Eat somewhere else!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IlanDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A pleasant treat that satifies.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had wanted to try Johnny's on our first trip back to the area and finally made it. The attraction was the varied and interesting menu. There are pizzas, varied sandwich choices, daily soups, specials and entrees. Since we all like different things this was a perfect choice. They gave us a sample of the soup and chili of the day. What a great upsell maneuver..it worked. We decided on a starter of chili, followed by a Kobe Burger and Flank Steak sandwich. All 3 were very good. The burger was very good...and we just wished the menu had more types offered. In such a big burger town, you would think they would offer burgers as their own food group....as: Soups, Salads, Burgers, Entrees etc.
The other critique we had was the lighting is very low and even though they were open, we could not tell from the street. We were seated in the back and there were lamps with low wattage bulbs that made it very difficult to see. If this were a bar where romance was the goal it would be fine, but not to eat and socialize. A server comes around, gives you your menu choices, then directs you to order at a window, then your food is brought to you when ready. Although somewhat efficient, since the tab is paid first, it does not give the diner the opportunity to gauge the service to come and tip adequately. Tweak the burger choices and put in 60 watt bulbs and we'll be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gavin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johnny's Bistro on Main also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing