We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place for Weddings”
Review of Turf Valley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turf Valley Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Germantown, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place for Weddings”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I was the wedding rehearsal coordinator and videographer for a wedding this past weekend and I have to say everything went smoothly all due in part to the highly trained and personable staff at the Turf Valley Resort. Didn't matter where I went in the hotel, the staff were friendly and had no problems with striking up a conversation and making nice. I did not stay overnight, because it is definitely way out of my price range. It is a resort after all...in the middle of Ellicott City, which was surprising. All said though, what they offer at that price range is worth it from what I could see. The rooms are neutrally colored and very pristine. Nothing special or distinct...your basic dec with a desk, bed and table. The bridal suite is huge and cozy. The grounds of the property were gorgeous. In the background of the wedding gazebo is a fountain.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonicdpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    94
    49
    35
    29
See reviews for
80
63
20
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I haven't stayed in the hotel but I attended the Taste of Home ( organization that benefits deployed National Guard troops) at Turf Valley last week and they put what can only be considered a first class event. The staff was friendly and helpful from the pro to the bag boys. The course ( they have 36 holes) was in great shape and the food after the event was far better than any " outing" fair I've ever had. Turf Valley obviously knows how to do things right !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GV27OCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I suppose it's what your expectations are, but this place is nothing more fancy than a Best Western. The rooms are basic; the TV is the size of a Mac monitor and the bathrooms are totally generic.

On the plus side, we had a nice view of the golf course. It was obstructed by the white, hard water water stains on the window though.

The restaurant had mediocre service but good food. The check-in staff was 'eh."

I was here for a conference and the big conference room was decent. We had lunch provided and it was bleh.

However, the price reflected the reality: $150/night. What do you expect?

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flybyday88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I never write any reviews but my visit was so bad that I thought I would share. This room cost me $168.00 a night. I went because of the balloon glow which wasn't what advertised. There weren't 20 balloons there.
This resort should shut its doors until the rooms get renovated.n
Uncomfortable bed, nasty grey worn out comforter, holes in my blanket. No shower cap. ac was noisy it made a loud bang everytime it came on. I got no sleep all night. Room was near elevator so I heard ding ding and people talking all night. dogs barking at 6:30 am. There was such a large gap around the door that the light from the hallway made my room light, i piled towels around the door. I was told I had a view of the balloons from my room all i could see was the peak on the front of the hotel. One of the elevators were broken. Rude staff especially at the front desk on Saturday morning. Both of our room cards stopped working on Saturday morning. They fixed one but an hour later it quit working again. We couldn't get in the pool or the fitness room or our room. The 7 dollar breakfast coupon - all we got was a buffet. The service was terrible. Once they bring your drink you never see them again. Very limited selection which is reg 14 dollars. When I complained to the manager he ignored me.
The only good thing about this hotel was the outside. I left at 9am and couldn't wait to get out of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lady_rider_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
392 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We have stayed here several times over the last couple of years. It is a great value. The rooms are large (2 Queens) and very comfortable and well appointed. The hotel restaurant was excellent. Their catering services for our group went very smoothly. Food was excellent for our large group. The hotel staff was excellent and could not have been more helpful. Historic Ellicott City is nearby for day trips and other restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I held a surprise 60th birthday party for my partner. The sales staff was extraordinary in helping me for over a year of planning. The dining staff served a fantastic, tasty buffet. The hotel staff was kind supportive and helpful to myself and over 100 guests. Overall, Turf Valley Resort is at the top on my list for Resorts, Hotels and Restuarants. I am very pleased that I chose the Facility.

Room Tip: Go for the King suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy21157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Clean rooms, lovely views from the pool and hot tub and the very excellent restaurant. Pleasant and professional service from everyone. It is surrounded by a golf course so even non-golfers have the view. Convenient shuttle service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicott City
5.6 mi away
Residence Inn Columbia
Residence Inn Columbia
#2 of 2 in Ellicott City
130 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
454 reviews
5.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Baltimore West - Catonsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turf Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turf Valley Resort

Property: Turf Valley Resort
Address: 2700 Turf Valley Rd, Ellicott City, MD 21042-2047 (Formerly Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turf Valley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Turf Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turf Valley Hotel Ellicott City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing