We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Venue in Maryland to say I DO”
Review of Turf Valley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turf Valley Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Always a bridesmaid, never the bride. That's me! All my friends from college are almost all married. I have seen multiple wedding venues in the DC/Baltimore metro area. From the glamorous Four Seasons in Baltimore to vineyards in Frederick county.

This past weekend for the first time I attended a wedding at Turf Valley. The venue is so beautiful, service and food so top notch, I actually rushed to catch the bouquet.

For anyone looking at options this is the place to consider. You have it all here. Dedicated staff, beautiful grounds, easy to navigate (close to BWI airport and ideally between DC and Baltimore), lots of parking, hotel rooms for out of town staff, and still money left in daddy's bank for the honeymoon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMMA81_ZETA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

Visited this place in June, temps in the 90's, very hot and humid. That's INSIDE the room, as the A/C failed 2 out of 3 nights. Maintenance came to fix, then disappeared. An hour later, received a call from the desk telling me I'd have to move my room. An hour later, someone showed up at my room with an attitude, asking why I didn't come get the key! This was at midnight. New room, temps in the high 70's, no one bothered to turn on the A/c there. Maybe the concept is to provide in-room saunas?

Food? $37 for room service crab cakes that were cold. One hour later the MSG headache kicked in. Facility is dated, dirty, and smells musty. Staff is indifferent. Never did get to golf....

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel would be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chipfromct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Good service is an expectation every guest has from a hotel. When good and friendly service comes at a great value the hotel is a winner. For us if we are able to bring Lucky (our dog) along then your hotel becomes our second home.

Our daughter and grand children live in Marriottsville. So we come here the past year and so to visit them every holiday. The front desk is very friendly and capable of managing all request and challenges. The restaurant provides the best outdoor dining experience. The value is very much worth it - renovated rooms, complimentary internet and parking, indoor and outdoor pools. My wife is disappointed that the Spa is always closed on holidays, but she is happy that Lucky is with us on each trip.

The grounds are gorgeous and the neighborhood is great for walking. A 5-10 minutes drive gets you to the Historic Ellicott City and a 25-30 minute drive you will find yourself in Baltimore's Inner Harbor.

We look forward to coming back for Fourth of July and truly appreciate how you have not only welcomed us, but also our newest edition to the family, Lucky.

Room Tip: We have stayed in their executive king and king suites - both are great for dog travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenny_Lucky_Hillary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed here several times, this time in room 613, each time a little better than before. Fabulous, spacious room with huge bathroom and cavernous shower. Nice caliber staff here and the restaurants serve good food. Very comfortable king bed, room included mini refrig, couch, ez chair and kourig coffee maker....and the coffee cups were included in the room price. Really, this place is very solid, with 36 holes of golf surrounding the hotel.

Room Tip: Room upgrades are not that expensive, good value
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank Fusebuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Comfy towels, nice suites (refrigerator, microwave), comfy beds.
The staff is very helpful. The place has a quiet serenity throughout.
The restaurant looks very good, with intriguing offerings and a pretty good wine list. This reviewer did not eat at the restaurant either time, however, due to time constraints.
The price?
About $150 a night for the junior suite.
The only drawback- there are no other eateries within close proximity. One has to drive about 5 minutes to Elliott City to fond other eateries.
Understand, thought, that this IS a conference center AND RESORT. Obviously, it was built with the understanding that you would be staying there, playing golf, getting a spa treatment, and eating all on-site.
Very nice, indeed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I was the wedding rehearsal coordinator and videographer for a wedding this past weekend and I have to say everything went smoothly all due in part to the highly trained and personable staff at the Turf Valley Resort. Didn't matter where I went in the hotel, the staff were friendly and had no problems with striking up a conversation and making nice. I did not stay overnight, because it is definitely way out of my price range. It is a resort after all...in the middle of Ellicott City, which was surprising. All said though, what they offer at that price range is worth it from what I could see. The rooms are neutrally colored and very pristine. Nothing special or distinct...your basic dec with a desk, bed and table. The bridal suite is huge and cozy. The grounds of the property were gorgeous. In the background of the wedding gazebo is a fountain.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonicdpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I haven't stayed in the hotel but I attended the Taste of Home ( organization that benefits deployed National Guard troops) at Turf Valley last week and they put what can only be considered a first class event. The staff was friendly and helpful from the pro to the bag boys. The course ( they have 36 holes) was in great shape and the food after the event was far better than any " outing" fair I've ever had. Turf Valley obviously knows how to do things right !

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank GV27OCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicott City
5.6 mi away
Residence Inn Columbia
Residence Inn Columbia
#2 of 2 in Ellicott City
136 reviews
5.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turf Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turf Valley Resort

Address: 2700 Turf Valley Rd, Ellicott City, MD 21042-2047 (Formerly Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
Price Range: £93 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turf Valley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Turf Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turf Valley Hotel Ellicott City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing