We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turf Valley - More Valley than Turf”
Review of Turf Valley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turf Valley Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oakland, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Turf Valley - More Valley than Turf”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

For years I have heard about Turf Valley Resort. A lovely place. Great golf (I don’t play). Fabulous conference venue. Superb hotel.

Only some of it is true.

For the most part it is a nice facility. And after a long, cold winter it was a bright spot of greenery to attend a conference there this past week. Lovingly landscaped with trees in flower when I arrived and staff setting up for an outdoor wedding. Mostly attractive buildings set amid all the greenery. A welcome respite from a winter that still lingers at home.

The staff were uniformly helpful and friendly. I’m sure it wasn’t their fault that the house wi-fi system hardly ever produced a decent connection and was a source of constant frustration. It’s too bad they don’t upgrade this system since eventually they will lose business when business people realize they aren’t able to connect. In this day and age, you really can’t call yourself a “conference center” and not offer a dependable internet service. In addition, the hotel charges $25/day for this rather iffy privilege - highway robbery!!! Guests get it “free”, but as mentioned, it’s difficult and frustrating to find a decent connection.

Public areas of the hotel are quite nice. Clean and modern with a sky high atrium above the lower level restaurant looking out on a part of the golf course. We had good weather both days of the meeting so the views were lovely. They have a spa on site, but it’s a bit hard to find as it’s tucked away into a far corner of the lower level. I did not use any of the spa services.

They need more restaurant seating for large groups, but I am happy to say that their food is EXcellent!! Someone in that kitchen knows what they are doing and we enjoyed every meal we had - including the mass feed at lunch - the best large meeting/conference food I have ever had!

Rooms were clean, if dated. Small by current hotel standards, except possibly in New York city, the bathing/toilet room was quite small, with few amenities and the rest of the room seemed clean, but poorly lit. At night, though, my room was lit up like a stage due to large amounts of infiltrating light from the brightly lit parking lot (which my room overlooked) and the overly bright lights from the corridor seeping through the poorly sealed door. Surprisingly, additional light pollution from electronics (TV, radio, other typical hotel room light polluters) was at a relative minimum. Would it be too much trouble to dim the lights in the corridors after 10 PM both to save electricity and reduce ambient light in guest rooms?

All rooms had individual heating/cooling units. The one in my room was so loud it was impossible to think. Earplugs made no difference. Thankfully, nights were still cool, so I could turn the unit down and then off for the night to get some sleep. However, excessive noise from units in neighboring rooms were a source of constant sleep interruption. Bad. You wouldn’t like me when I’m tired. Heck - I DON’T like me when I’m tired!

So the highly touted Turf Valley Resort was not particularly what it was cracked up to be, but generally serviceable and really has great food! Go for the restaurant -Alexandra’s - but not for a good night’s sleep.

Room Tip: Given the excessive loudness of the heating/cooling system, I'm not sure there would be a good r...
See more room tips
Green Features: iffy… the usual save towels and those amenities offered seem to have been environmentally produced, but other "green practices" were ignored such as turning down lights in public corridors and/or adding real green practices such as low-flow shower heads or solar panels.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsg1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    94
    49
    35
    29
See reviews for
80
63
20
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Family-owned, this is one of our favorite places to stay in Maryland. The owner, Pete, was more than accomodating on two different stays. We actually held our wedding reception here with out-of-town guests from Chicago, Long Island, and Wisconsin - and all had a wonderful time. The lobby bar has plenty of seating and remained open all night well after our reception ended at 11PM. During our second stay, we loved the live jazz music in the lobby, which leads down to the main dining restaurant "Alexandra's." The restaurant overlooks the 18th green of the main golf course (there are two). We had crab cake, salmon, and lamb for dinner - cooked perfectly. Great beers on tap. Executive suite is the way to go - with large sofa area, large bathroom, and great views. Loved the indoor pool - it was warm the entire time with a "hot" hot-tub next to it (we all know that hot tubs aren't always hot). Outside, they also have a pool for guests as well as a member's grill with fantastic beers on tap. I've golfed both courses, and both are exquisitely manicured and offer varying types of challenges for a seasoned golfer. Great golfing range. We've also used the spa - and Robert was our masseuse - he is the best. Stay here and you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Tons of room configurations and options. View over the 18th green with the large pond and fountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Spent the night before a conference at the hotel and had a very nice experience.
While the location is not very convenient if you don't have a car, it is in a lovely wooded area that contains its golf course.
The room was spacious, clean, and the bed was nice and firm. My only "complaint" was it had only a big walk in shower and i sometimes enjoy a soaking bath.
The bartender poured a full dose of scotch and kept the drinks coming.
If i get another trip into the area, i'll plan to play some golf as the course looked to be in great shape, and nicely laid out

Room Tip: avoid the ice makers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Do not spend the night in this hotel. I had to spend the night last Wednesday for work. I could not sleep all night. Around evening time, I noticed the heating system was not working, yet was blowing something out loud. They sent maintance and fixed the heat. Later that night, everytime I fell asleep this loud heaing system would come on and roar waking me up all night long. By 5:30 am I got up and ready and left the room. My meeting was not until 8:30 am.

When I checked out, the front desk said that they would tell maintance. They did not give me a discount or refund my payment. They did not get a manager.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crd1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The hotel is in a nice setting in the suburbs. It is very convenient off I-70 West and Rt 40.

The hotel is very nice about adding improvements to the traveler experience. Alexandra’s Restaurant has done a 360 turnaround since I was there last. The food is so upgraded! The seating, colors, lighting and service are much better too. The restaurant expanded and has two private rooms for private parties.

The golf course is very convenient to the hotel; 36 holes.

The new shopping center over the hill from the hotel is very convenient. There are like 5-6 restaurants and a new Harris Teeter supermarket.

The brown/orange tile in the lobby dates the first impression for guests. But it’s a big project to replace so I’ll give the hotel some latitude on that comment. The electronic reader boards in the lobby are a big asset to finding meeting rooms and other activities.

The one complaint is the internet signal is intermittent.

Overall, the experience was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mightygiants71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We just used Turf Valley for our annual shareholders meeting and dinner. Everything was perfect and the staffs attention to detail was second to none. The meeting room was setup as requested and the break went off without a hitch. Maria's was perfect for the dinner and the menu and food was excellent. Service was attentive and they even bagged the partial bottles of wine for us to take with us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GV27OCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is the second year that we've celebrated New Year's Eve at Turf Valley. The food and drinks were once again outstanding. Victoria is the best and always ensures her guests have the best time they can. Top shelf drinks, a lavish buffet, great music and superior service. I can't ask for anything better for a New Year's Celebration.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishboy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicott City
5.6 mi away
Residence Inn Columbia
Residence Inn Columbia
#2 of 2 in Ellicott City
130 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
454 reviews
5.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Baltimore West - Catonsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turf Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turf Valley Resort

Property: Turf Valley Resort
Address: 2700 Turf Valley Rd, Ellicott City, MD 21042-2047 (Formerly Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turf Valley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Turf Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turf Valley Hotel Ellicott City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing