We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rooms in the new wing are nice”
Review of Turf Valley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turf Valley Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“rooms in the new wing are nice”
Reviewed 18 September 2005

We were concerned about staying at Turf valley after reading the negative reviews. We were pleasantly surprised with the nice rooms, hotel lobby, good food at the restaurant and the pretty grounds. We were in the new wing which has large rooms with a separate sink and mirror in the bedroom which helped with three girls getting ready at the same time. In the evening we hiked the path around the golf course (after the golfers were finished playing). The staff were very friendly and helpful. I recommend you ask for a room in the "new wing"-it had a small balcony overlooking the golf course and fountain. Free internet service with printer in the lobby was very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smgapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    95
    49
    35
    29
See reviews for
80
64
20
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2005

Family of five stayed two nights in May, 2005, for a wedding. The room was ok, but small for a junior suite. No room for the rollaway once the sofa bed was made up. Also, so noisy! I could hear the people in the hallway, in the parking lot, in the next room. The toilet flushing in the next room sounded like it was right next to me. Don't think I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hurndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2005

Just returned from a wedding reception and two-night stay at this facility. Although the grounds were lovely, that is where it ended. Two nights of small children running the halls into the wee hours, screaming, and playing on the elevators while the staff watched was too much. We had the misfortune being in the room next to theirs. Loud television and beds used as trampolines. When we complained directly to them, they would later open their door and shreik down the hallway. When the front desk was advised, they looked at you with blank stares. Nothing was done except to tell them "no running-don't play on the elevators".
The flowers in the hotel lobby and restaurant were dying from a lack of water. We were told they would be replaced the following Monday!
When we checked in on Friday afternoon, dishes and trays from room service were in our hallway. They were still there the following morning, even though the paper thin walls and doors allowed us to hear room service making a delivery. They had been removed by the middle of the afternoon. Additionally, dust webs were observed hanging from the air vents near the lobby elevator.
To close an outdoor swimming pool at 8 on an extremly hot day is unreal. In fact, we were chased out at 7:45 on Saturday evening. We were told we could use the indoor one, but it closed at 9.
A member of the wedding party has a handicapped daughter. When they tried to go to the dining room, the mother was informed the daughter was not attired properly. When asked what she needed to change to, she was met with no reply. Other people wearing similar clothing were being seated.
Other people in the party had problems getting into their rooms with their key cards.
This hotel was way overpriced for the value we received. I belive this facility is managed by Marriott, but is not up to their standards.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 July 2005

We scheduled a low key day on our road trip to Washington DC. We thought a resort that offered a large pool and tennis courts would make a relaxing stop on our visit. After viewing the website for the Turf Valley Resort, it appeared to be everything we were looking for in a resort hotel. We were very mistaken. The surrounding area, and the grounds of the resort are lovely, and the highlight of the resort. The rooms, including the luxury suite, are small, musty, outdated and very overpriced. The fitness center was very dirty and the equipment was in need of repair. The service was even more disappointing than the accomodations. With the exception of the bellmen, the resort staff memebers were rude, inattentive and appear uninterested in the satisfaction of their guests.

Save your money and skip this "resort" experience.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 June 2005

For an older hotel was not as bad as some of previous reviews make out to be, we were worried, but a wedding in the hotel brought us here.
diamond in the rough would be my discription
staff at desk young, but eager to do good job
electricy went out in building and was handled as best as situation could have been.
wedding ceremony was not affected and was lovely at the gazebo outside.
reception was in beatiful room viewing the golf course, food was great.
bride must have spent a lot of time planning such a nice event.
golf and brunch in the resturant was first class all the way, worth the stay.
was told by staff that improvments are slated for later this year, we may come back just to check it out, and visit family

  • Stayed June 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2005

We were in town for a wedding party to be held at this hotel, but I wish it had been elsewhere. We tried to check-in at 3:50PM but were told, by this idle staff member, that we would have to wait until 4PM, a stupid rule, but we agreed to have a drink in the lounge and return after 4pm. At 4:20 I returned to the desk only to be confronted with a bus load of patrons waiting in line and a thoroughly befuddled desk staff. At close to 6pm I was finally in possession of my room keycards. Upon placing the card in the reader to our room several times, the door finally was opened from the inside by a rather irate woman asking "what the heck we were doing trying to get into her room?" Back to the desk for re-assignment.

After getting another room issued, we proceeded to that room only to find it far less appointed than pictured and described. A queen sized bed was promised, a double was delivered. There was very little room to move about in this tiny room. As other posters have mentioned, the walls are like tissue paper when it comes to sound control, the walls actually shook when the door to an adjoining room was closed. The bathroom lacked soap, had a dirty mirror, towels were like sandpaper. The coffee maker did not work. Light from the hall was visible around the door at night. Pillows were like a bag of air (no substance to them at all) The mattress was terribly worn out, sagging at all points and lumpy in many spots.

Yes, the elevators are slow, very slow, but the doors are set to close a nanosecond after opening. The room was not cleaned at all the second day, I had to call the front desk three times to obtain fresh towels. The furniture throughout the entire facility is 1970's garage sale vintage and style. It is in serious need of refurbishment. The brick wall along the handicap ramp in the front of the hotel is in danger of collapse, it is listing at least 10° from vertical.

The bar adjoining the lobby closed down at 11pm on a Saturday night. There were at least 30 people having a nitecap or two, and the bar surely could have made a tidy profit that evening if they had only stayed open.

This could be a far better place if only they would invest in a serious update of the facilities, and find a competent management team. This place obviously is lacking one at the moment.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank OhioH20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2005

Stayed at the Turf Valley Resort and Spa in Feb. 2005 for spa package. Received a wonderful couples massage, elegant dinner at Alexandra's restaurant on premises, and room service breakfast. Breakfast was not too good-had better at Golden Corral. Gratuities were included for everything except the spa. My husband and I thought the taxes (MD state and Howard County room tax) were ridicuous! Would we stay here again? Possibly, but would not do a package deal.

Helpful?
6 Thank LisaDSBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicott City
5.6 mi away
Residence Inn Columbia
Residence Inn Columbia
#2 of 2 in Ellicott City
130 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
455 reviews
5.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Owings Mills
Hampton Inn Owings Mills
#1 of 5 in Owings Mills
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turf Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turf Valley Resort

Property: Turf Valley Resort
Address: 2700 Turf Valley Rd, Ellicott City, MD 21042-2047 (Formerly Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turf Valley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Turf Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turf Valley Hotel Ellicott City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing