We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent for my business stay, but not spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Turf Valley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turf Valley Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Decent for my business stay, but not spectacular”
Reviewed 23 October 2006

A business trip took me to Turf Valley and, while I was certainly comfortable, I probably wouldn't choose to return on my own dime. While my room was clean and comfortable and had a nice view out over the golf course, if I'd been there for a romantic getaway with my wife, I would have been disappointed. I found the facility lacking the touches (great food, high-end furniture, luxurious bedding, and so forth) that might contribute to a great weekend escape. Absolutely fine for me flying solo on business, but not enough to draw me back.

  • Stayed March 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank awelch2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    90
    49
    33
    27
See reviews for
76
61
20
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2006

My husband and I recently stayed at Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center and completely enjoyed ourselves. Coming in from out of town, the shuttle to the resort from the airport was timely and efficient. Our first evening there, the restaurant, Alexandra's I believe it was called, where we dined had excellent food and a very relaxing environment. We honestly had no problems with checking in or anything wrong with the rooms...they actually looked brand new (perhaps they have been remodeled). But when we originally read the reviews from this site, we were skeptical, which is why I thought it would be a good idea to compose my own review after our stay to enlighten those that are skeptical as we were. Since we both had come to relax and attend our high school reunion which was held here, I thought we'd give the hotel a try for convenience sake. It was well worth it in every aspect of our trip.

  • Liked — It was such a beautiful place!
  • Disliked — That I couldn't afford to stay for the rest of the week!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PRprincessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2006

My girlfriend and I spent June 24-25 here for a Girlfriends Getaway. Check in was terrible. We were quoted one rate on the phone and then the woman at the desk during checkin tried charging us about $27 more per person. Then she said she would upgrade us to a king suite because she ran out of the deluxe room we had made reservations for (over a month in advance). Well, that would have been fine if the king room had more than one bed. She said there was a pull out sofa and one of us could sleep on it. Well, for $350 a night per person we were not sleeping on an uncomfortable sleeper sofa. All of a sudden she "found" a deluxe room. Go figure. After about 20 minutes of arguing and almost leaving we finally got the issues resolved. Though when I requested to speak with a manager I was told that she (the woman I was talking to) was the supervisor and no one else could help me. I found that hard to believe.
There were no movie channels, no pay per view movies, nothing to do other than our spa treatments and sit at the bar in drink (which is fine for a little bit but not for 2 days!). Then on Sunday we ordered room service for breakfast and got pancakes and french toast. They sent up only 1 syrup for both meals. We had to call down to the restaurant and have more sent up to us but by the time they finally got up there my food was cold.
There were black hairs stuck to the shower wall, which grossed us out. And the shower drain didn't drain so we showered ankle deep in water. Yuck.
I was totally disappointed in this "resort". For the price I expected to much more.

The spa, however, was wonderful. The food at Alexandra's restaurant was fabulous. If you do go to the spa ask for Theresa...she's awesome!!!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank brandonsmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, DE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2006

June 8-11 stay for family function. Banquet staff excellent. Bedding poor. Linen like gauze in need of replacement. Pillows inadequate foam. Undergoing construction so step carefully. All in family had the same poor comments regarding beds and pillows. Sorry Turf Valley, never again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank newarktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylors, South Carolina
Level Contributor
136 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2006

We stayed at Turf Valley June 2-4 to attend a wedding.

Here is my opinion of the resort---

The corridor with our room had the air conditioner out of order. It was very warm and humid.

My basic complaint was with the air conditioner in our room. I felt that it never worked well the whole time that we were there. The lowest we could set it was 69 degrees. However, the temperature never even came close to being that low. We were able to verify that with a thermometer that we had with us. I asked the desk about moving rooms and we were told that nothing else was available.

There was no way that we could have slept on the bed closest to the air conditioner. If the air conditioner did come on, it blew strongly on the right side of the bed and was quite loud.

The second night I had to get up three times to press the button on the thermostat so that the air conditioner would come back on for a short while. When it did work, it would go for a while, turn off for less than a minute and then come back on again.

I know that you can not control the guests, but both nights we were awakened at 12:30 with laughter and loud talking in the hallways.

My sister was upgraded to a suite. We were surprised that the duvet in on her bed didn't even have a cover on it. It is much easier to wash a duvet cover than to try to keep a duvet clean. Both of us are reluctant to have blankets or bed covers up near our chins because of the infrequent cleaning.

We were also surprised that the rooms don't have safes. I put a Do Not Disturb sign on my door because I didn't feel comfortable with leaving valuables in the room during the day while we were gone.

The outside seemed to be well-kept and it was very convenient to most for us. However, for the price I was very displeased because of power outages, telephones not working and the air conditioning problems we had.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Maelrarny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
randallstown m.d.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2005

Me and my husband went to Turf valley for our first Honeymoon. We got the Spa Jacuzzi romance package. It was wonderful . The room was nice overlooking the golf course. The breakfast in bed was the best French toast I have ever eaten and the service was good. I have no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desiree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2005

After reading the previous reviews, I really hesitated reserving rooms there this past weekend.
Room - basic but satisfactory - we had a nice view of the golf course - I think we were in the new wing
Staff - fine
Hotel - didn't use any of the amenities - but walked the golf course - it was very pretty, spa was completely booked, free internet access in the lobby, dinner in the bar was surprisingly good -

There were at least 3 weddings going on - and we didn't have any noise issues at all.

For the price ($200/night) - we really had no complaints.

It was a short drive into the historic part of Ellicott City and 20 minutes to Inner Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mikki162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellicott City
Residence Inn Columbia
#2 of 2 in Ellicott City
126 reviews
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turf Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turf Valley Resort

Property: Turf Valley Resort
Address: 2700 Turf Valley Rd, Ellicott City, MD 21042-2047 (Formerly Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ellicott City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ellicott City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turf Valley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turf Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turf Valley Hotel Ellicott City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing