We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Emmitsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Having stayed at the Sleep Inn several times, I was expecting a pleasant weekend with no issues at the hotel. I was utterly disappointed with the lack of hospitable management at this hotel. My group of friends was in town for a reunion and when we had returned from a night out, we were laughing and catching up. We did receive one complaint regarding our noise, at which point we lowered our voices and tried to wind down for the night. Soon after, we received a knock at our door with three police officers, kicking us out of the hotel.

Typically, you would expect hotel management to give you a warning such as "next time we get a complaint, you will be asked to leave" but we never got such a warning. Instead, we were blindsided at 3 AM in the morning and forced to get into cars and drive to another hotel. Thankfully some of our friends had arrived late that night and were able to drive safely to another hotel. Had that not been the case, we would have had no way of safely leaving this hotel.

I understand and agree that noise that bothers other guests should be taken seriously by management. I even admit that yes, we had gotten carried away in the excitement of reuniting with old friends. However, the respectful and lawful treatment of your guests should also be taken seriously. We were treated with utter disrespect and given no solid reason by management for our forced removal from this hotel. Additionally, it was unacceptable and absolutely unnecessary to waste the time of police officers in this situation. As a hotel manager, you should be able to properly handle situations of your guests, including insisting that they quiet down.

I suggest in the future you have your team revisit Hospitality 101. Do not waste the time of the police to quiet down a bunch of harmless young professionals who are not a menace to society in any way, shape, or form. Give your paying guests the opportunity to quiet down or at least provide a warning that the next consequence is being kicked out.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CL20122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2011

I have stayed a couple of times in this hotel. The rooms are clean and modern. The staff is friendly and it is very convenient to other Emmitsburg attractions and the highway. The two drawbacks, the rooms are small and the breakfast just OK. But the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiveStarPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stopped at this hotel while driving home from Myrtle Beach,SC in late September. We were exhausted and just needed a place to sleep. This was far better than expected for the price we paid. The room was spacious, modern and most importantly clean. A nice surprise!
We did not use any of the facilities but did take a look at what the property had to offer...everything looked just as promising as our room. No complaints and would absolutely consider it in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlyssaO1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed here while visiting the area and had reserved a King Bed room weeks in advance. We arrived very tired from traveling and sightseeing and the front desk clerk tells my wife and I that he had no kings ready for at least another half hour. He told us either to wait or take a room with two doubles. We took the two doubles. The lights were very dim
in the sink and mirror area, the vent didn't work in the bathroom and there was a rip in the wallpaper by the closet. The hotel could use an update, including access from the side of the hotel with a room key. We would stay here again in the future if the need arises.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldWoody44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed here as a more cost effective option for a last minute trip to Gettysburg and it was a good choice. It was about 11 minutes (10 miles) from the Gettysburg Visitor's Center. It was not congested or touristy like the hotels in Gettysburg.

It is a Sleep Inn, which is not a fancy hotel. For the money, the hotel was awesome. The rooms were very clean and were not outdated. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. There was a continental breakfast, which was great, since it was free. There is a small pool and workout room. Parking was plentiful and well-light.

We stayed on the first floor which is at the level of the parking lot and did not have any trouble sleeping.

There was minor construction overnight. We heard nothing and only knew about it because we checked in late.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinacaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stopped here, driving back to Virginia from Lancaster. We did alot that day, and were tired so we'll looked up the closest hotel to where we were on the road. Found this place in this small college town in Maryland.
We had never stayed in a Sleep inn, so we were a little apprehensive. But, upon arrival we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is tucked away on a back road, a little hard to find even though it's right off of US-15. We arrived late, about 8pm. So we didn't use the indoor pool or the business center. We checked in to our King room, and found it was rather well appointed for the price. Decent TV, very fast wireless internet, good size fridge, pretty comfy bed. The only negative in the room itself was that the bathroom :"door" was a sliding kind, that was hard to open and close.
Upon waking the next day, we had requested and received a late checkout at noon. However,at about 11am, there was a knock at the door. The housekeeper had decided to ignore the "do not disturb" sign. I told her to come back later, as we had a late checkout. She either didn't understand me or didn't care, and then tried to open the door, and despite the dead bolt beings turned, she was able to open the door, a little. I had to forcibly push the door closed, as we were not dressed. I had to yell at her to go way, before she finally did.
Other than that, one bad experience we had a otherwise enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjuva13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

My 9 year old daughter and I stayed at the Sleep Inn in Emmitsburg, MD while we were visiting Gettysburg. It was just an easy 15 minute drive from the Battlefield and historic downtown area. The room was basic but clean and quiet. The pool is indoor and small but my daughter loved being able to swim anytime, rain or shine, night or day. Complimentary continental breakfast (bagels, cereals, etc.) was fine and the dining room was clean. There were several places to eat nearby and also a grocery store. We ate at Chubby's barbeque one night - very casual and inexpensive - HUGE portions. At the other end of the spectrum was The Carriage House Restaurant - more expansive and expensive menu - excellent food and service but pricey. There was even a multiplex movie theater in nearby Gettysburg. This hotel was less expensive than the places I checked in Gettysburg. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katiewritesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emmitsburg
11.4 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,571 reviews
12.0 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 28 in Gettysburg
565 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
Aspire Gettysburg Hotel
#21 of 28 in Gettysburg
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Best Western Gettysburg
Best Western Gettysburg
#1 of 28 in Gettysburg
241 reviews
8.9 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
8.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg

Address: 501 Silo Hill Pkwy, Emmitsburg, MD 21727-9197
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Emmitsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Emmitsburg
Price Range: £66 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites Emmitsburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg Hotel Emmitsburg
Sleep Inn Emmitsburg
Emmitsburg Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Hotel Emmitsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing