We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway at Rocky Gap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Getaway at Rocky Gap”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Rocky Gap Resort and Casino is a lovely place to getaway for a short weekend or a long vacation. I enjoyed the nature scenery, food, drinks. The atmosphere was very welcoming as well as the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Choose lakeside for a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback! I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    438
    152
    67
    60
See reviews for
255
600
37
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I noticed that there was a groupon for Rocky Gap however they did not have dates available. I went to the website and saw that the price was reasonable so I decided to book a trip anyway minus the groupon.
The scenery at the resort was absolutely breathtaking, the pictures you see don't even do justice to what you will actually see. There are panoramic views of the mountains and the lake from every section of the resort.
Check in was fast and friendly. The front desk staff was very welcoming. The guy who brought our bags to our room was exceptionally friendly. He explained the entire resort and all of it's amenities to us. We ate at the sports bar which had typical bar food, we ate pizza and wings which were both very good. Our waitress was very friendly there as well. No matter where you walked you were greeted with a smile by the resort staff.
We are at the breakfast buffet, the food was great there, very fresh and plenty of everything. Note* brunch starts at 11 and it's only about $5 more
It was so peaceful at this time we felt like we were the only people there, the resort was fairly empty at least we thought. When we went in the casino we realized that's where everybody was hiding. The casino is fairly small but has everything you need. I personally play table games while my grandmother likes the slots, it was good enough to satisfy both our needs. The only negative was the heat, at some points it didn't seem like the heat worked and/or cut off and it was freezing in the room.
There is not much else to it, it's a place to go, relax and thoroughly enjoy yourself

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leish918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for the lovely review! I am so glad you and your grandmother enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope you will visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I just needed a place to stay for the night. No need for casino. Staff friendly & helpful, room clean. Chose lake or golf view option. Was told no lake available. Ended up overlooking LARGE generator & construction. See attached pictures. Had to wonder if it was because it booked through Groupon. Was told they couldn't change King to 2 queens to get lake view even if they had it. It would have to be King for a King. I'm guessing High Rollers get lake front. Nice grounds and views once outside. I just feel that I drove 4 hours for a better view no matter what the room view was advertized as. Pool/jacuzzi nice. Price for a Thursday night $130.

Room Tip: Call and ask availability of lakeview before booking (if that's what you want). Get persons name...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I hope you will return when you can stay longer and enjoy all our resort has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Very comfortable rooms with lots of amenities--excellent buffet--fun casino and comfortable atmosphere--the music was way too loud for my liking--great cocktail service on casino floor--quick response for needed items in the room--would stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psych07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback! Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Small cozy casino. Only an hour from casino less Central PA. Has Golf course on property and a small beach on the lake. Professional Comedy Club. Free soda and coffee. Beer & Liquor in the the $4-$6 range. Will return and probably stay for weekend . Liked what I seen. Smokeless casino. Smallest Casino I have ever visited, but enough to keep me busy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed here me and my partner beautiful view..rude people...carpet terrible seems like a motel ....If your of color be prepared to be looked at like they never seen someone of color ..lol..SO many racial remarks its terrible ...left messages with upper management no response

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank love544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyR492, at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
First, let me profusely apologize. It is inexcusable for anyone to feel unwelcome at our Resort. We take allegations of racism very seriously and would like to know more about your experience. I have contacted my boss, our Director of Marketing - Wanda Holtschneider. She would very much like to speak to you. She will be back in the office Monday, April 21st at 8 am. Please call her directly at 301.784.8473 or email to wholtschneider@rockygapcasino.com.
Again, I apologize for this incident and hope you will contact us, so we can make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I enjoyed my first visit to Rocky Gap. The slots were awesome friday night! Nice hotel room too! I hope to visit again this summer to try the golf course. My entire visit was stress free and relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimberlyR492, Executive Marketing Assistant at Rocky Gap Casino Resort, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for the review - so glad you enjoyed your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flintstone
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Cumberland
6.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
6.4 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Best Western Braddock Inn
22.6 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
166 reviews
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Gap Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Gap Casino Resort

Property: Rocky Gap Casino Resort
Address: 16701 Lakeview Rd NE, Flintstone, MD 21530-1059 (Formerly Rocky Gap Lodge and Golf Resort)
Region: United States > Maryland > Flintstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flintstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Gap Casino Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular resort that promises cozy comfort in the woods - it is situated in the heart of Rocky Gap State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Rocky Gap Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Gap Lodge And Golf Hotel Flintstone
Rocky Gap Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing