We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Battleaxes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Battleaxes
Ranked #1 of 1 Wraxall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprise find”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed whilst on route to Wales. When we pulled up I was a little apprehensive as I don't usually stay in hotels with pubs/restaurant. However I was pleasantly surprised by what we found. A great old building which has been done out really well. Wasn't sure on the decor of the hallway, but that was my personal taste. The bedrooms are wonderful. A king size bed and a fabulous bathroom. Plenty of room. The food in the restaurant was excellent and we would definitely have come here for a meal if we lived around here. Staff polite and helpful. Would certainly stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    91
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
44
149
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed over as part of a family celebration. The rooms are just fabulous. They are all very unique. Everything from the furniture, bedding, bathroom fittings are just luxurious. We had dinner in the restaurant and again we couldn't fault anything. A really varied menu, good choice of vegetarian and fish. The service was superb and the whole ambience of the place is just great.
Breakfast didn't disappoint. Again, good choice, vege breakfast lovely.
Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of the property are quieter. At the front of the hotel is a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianbennett2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUCKLAND
Level Contributor
284 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We were planning a day visit to Bristol but did not w want to stay in the city. We stumbled upon this hotel in betterpricehotels.com and it seemed to meet our requirements. It did!
The room was spacious and comfortable and nicely fitted out. It was at the rear, and nice and quiet. We had a king size which was very comfortable.
We enjoyed a splendid dinner and a very good breakfast next morning.
Recommended

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LARRY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We loved it.
On our way from Ilkley to Padstow we looked in Alistair Sawdays Special Places - Pubs & Inns - and founf this wonderful rest for the weary. The bedroom was brilliant, I nearly broke my ankles on the depth of the carpet pile. Oh what a comfortable bed, it was stunning. Now we move to the restaurant.
We were only here for the night so could only have dinner and breakfast. The menu is very simple but the fare is anything but. I had chilli which, instead of being made with beef mince was made of slow cooked brisket, brother was it tasty and oh so tender. Breakfast was brilliant - we went for the bacon sandwich instead of the oh so generous FULL English.
Befor eyou ask...yes we would go back and yes we would recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: We had room 1, its doubnle aspect and at the rear...it was super quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We loved it - from the moment we arrived to our reluctant departure - everything was just so NICE! Staff are super friendly, the interior design is LUSH, the food is really good, looking around the restaurant everyone was tucking in and enjoying whatever it was that was in front of them - whether it was breakfast, lunch or dinner and we sampled it all! Bed was MASSIVE with good linen, loved the cafetiere coffee, sweet toiletries, the towels were GOOD. Everything was quality and tastefully put together.
So the negatives...no biscuits to go with said coffee, needed a moisturiser to go with lovely toiletries, an iron and board in the room and bathrobes and slippers and you'd of had to get the police in to remove me from the property!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolousinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I've got to be honest and say that this was the nearest B & B that I could find for Bristol during the weekend of the balloon festival. But fate dealt me a great hand. It is 20 mins away from Bristol but in the middle of some lovely North Somerset Countryside and yet only 10 mins from the M5, so handy if you need a stop-over on the way to Devon & Cornwall. The view from Room 3 was superb as were all the facilities. The furniture is all good, "shabby chic" stuff, some of it, really quite stylish. The staff were very friendly and relaxed, the food very good, if a little basic but the Manager reports that a new menu is on the way. All ingredients are fresh & local. All in all, a real find.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Found this randomly online and couldn't have been more pleased. Very unique, excellent location, fabulous food, great ambience, lovely room with the most amazing bathroom (room 5) and the staff were all so friendly. Will definitely be back

Room Tip: Room 5 has just the most amazing bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumchelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wraxall
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Portishead Hotel
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walton Park Hotel
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Bristol M5
Days Inn Bristol M5
#1 of 1 in Easton-in-Gordano
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
5.7 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
3,465 reviews
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Henbury Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Battleaxes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Battleaxes

Property: The Battleaxes
Address: New Battleaxes Bristol Road | North Somerset, Wraxall BS48 1LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wraxall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wraxall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Battleaxes 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian building with Gothic features lovingly restored in the last year. Our guest rooms have a chic air with modest design flair coupled with the beautiful country surroundings with views across the stunning Somerset fields. A real treat for business and leisure guests to get away from city center hotels and hustle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Battleaxes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing