We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actual Overall Rating - Impossible to Say”
Review of Gunter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gunter Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Frostburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Failinger's Hotel Gunter (FHG) is unlike anyplace I have ever stayed overnight. Overall, the stay was fine. The room was clean and spacious, and all technologies functioned properly. Anyone born after 1945 might not recognize the public spaces in the interior of the building as a hotel; it is more like a gigantic mansion. Several portions of the space are essentially a museum. Some units appear to be apartments, leading to rather bizarre door numbering. All members of the staff are friendly and helpful.

FHG appears to be one of the better places to stay in Frostburg and provides great access to all of the restaurants and other establishments on Main Street; it is also just over a mile from a couple of grocery stores. While some locals seem to be a bit down on the place and think of it as spooky, perhaps because there is so many old artifacts, including a former jail, inside, other locals seem to take pride in the unique business and to hold celebrations and parties there.

Cyclists should ask for detailed instructions regarding how best to check in and bring bicycles inside. There also may be a 10% discount for cyclists at certain times of year. While some cyclists may consider the location a negative because of the long hills up to Main Street, the hill is both bikable and walkable; in some instances, a colorful, older local character may race you up the hill, making the ride up even more invigorating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HistorianOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I enjoy old hotels, and Failingers' is a fun one! The Hotel is full of Victorian bric-brac and has a lovely two story oak staircase.
It is in need of another restoration (the last was in the 70s?), and thus is not for everyone, but for lovers of historic Americana.
I give it four stars with a lot of acceptance of the problems that go along with these old hotels, such as sloping floors, old TVs and carpet that go along with the deal.
We were biking the Allegheny Passage, and the managers were accommodating and helpful in managing and helping us washing our bikes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBlackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A real old hotel that has been restored by the Faillinger family. I have been going there for years and they never fail to show the best hospitality to me and other members of my biking group. I would recommend this as an overnight stop for any one riding the Pittsburgh to Washington DC route.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank WILLIAM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed here in April, 2013. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was filling and included a few home-made baked goods. The room was clean and had the usual amenities: wifi, TV, clock radio, toiletries, plenty of lighting, etc. But what makes this place so great is it's like staying in some giant old mansion owned by an old eccentric who saved every memento of her life, from dolls to clothes to taxidermied animals to children's toys to ... just everything! The basement of the hotel includes the old jail (a real jail from the years when Frostburg was a stop on one of the US's major east-west highways) and room after room of relics from years gone by. The hotel's hallways and common areas are similarly decorated. Each room is unique, although lacking the overwhelming number of kitschy knick-knacks you'll find throughout the rest of the hotel. If you find yourself in or near Frostburg, stay here. You won't forget it. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 only because it lacks some of the amenities you'd find in a really top-rate hotel, like a gym, spa, bar, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SneezyG74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Gunter one night during a trip through western Maryland and West Virginia. The hotel is nothing if not unique. We stayed here because of the location and were glad we did. Read the other reviews for info on the decor and quirks. It is all true. Dolls, victorian wallpaper, bizarrely incongruous 'museums' and collections. There is a small jail and even a former cock fighting arena in the basement. Do not miss this area. Our room was incredibly small and too fussy for my taste, but we did not hang out there long. Instead, enjoy a beverage on one of the large porches and watch the main street. The location is really the best part of the hotel. Close to Frostburg University and short walking distance to diners, restaurants, coffee shops (2) and a great live music venue called Dante's. Enjoyed a foreign film at the historic Palace Theater which is practically across the street. Recommended as an interesting change of pace from chain hotels (which you may appreciate more afterwards).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with two doubles if you want more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phunktified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We loved this bizarre hotel experience passing through Frostburgh, MD on purpose. We made our reservation en route to Virginia from Michigan in August. It was already chilly-cool in this lovely mountain town. Gunter is in the downtown/mainstreet area. The hotel is a brick front edwardian-style building. It has a period-theme lobby with sad furniture. The sweet and attentive front desk manager was very helpful. The lobby has a double main staircase, it is decorated like a hotel from the 29th century. There are apartment residences as well as guest rooms, it is also adjacent to a bar which my husband and son loved. There is plenty of parking conveniently located on the backside. Despite the musty and dusty smell, our room was totally clean and comfy. The whole hotel smells dusty, and if you have allergies stay away. It is known for a private collection of dolls and other "collectibles." It has a bizarrely curated museum in the basement, which is full of dolls, clothing and even a coal mine railroad entrance. One of the parlor rooms is CHOCK FULL of dolls in a tea part motif. My ten year old daughter looked upon it, not with wonder, but horror. My young daughter declared it "pathetic." The whole collecting thing was rather creepy. And though I know its probably a point of pride for its owner, its kind of off-putting and may contribute to the musty smell.

Despite the hoarder aspect of the hotel, I would actually recommend this unique hotel for an overnight stay. The morning continental breakfast was adequate and we enjoyed our visit to the town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marcyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The hotel is just great. uper clean, great customer services and good price. The hotel common areas and the rooms were all immaculate and decorated in very good taste. We were able to extended our stay fortunately to May 27. They are also very helpful for bicyclists. Very grateful for their super services.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bicycle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frostburg
23.6 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
498 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Braddock Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Frostburg
12.2 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
78 reviews
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunter Hotel

Address: 11 W Main St, Frostburg, MD 21532-1384 (Formerly Failinger's Hotel Gunter)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Frostburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Frostburg
Price Range: £67 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gunter Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1896 and opened on New Year's Day in 1897, the historic Gunter Hotel is currently under new ownership and being renovated and restored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gunter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Failingers Hotel Frostburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing