We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic, and cheap”
Review of Charlie's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charlie's Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Frostburg
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Booked two rooms for the weekend mostly for the price and location. The rooms were nicer than I had expected. Mine had a microwave and fridge/freezer. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom and shower were small and cramped, but clean. Great location within walking distance to town and having the Tavern on-site was a good last stop before turning in. I would definitely stay there again. Not for the picky type perhaps, but if you are looking for a reasonably priced, basic, clean place to stay, this is your place in the Burg.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

If you're taking a trip along the Great Allegheny Passage this is an idea motel to stay at. It very close to the trail itself. Get off the trail and it's right along Highway 40, where there's several place to eat - both breakfast and dinner. A short distance into the downtown area where is a bicycle shop as well.

Entrance is along an indoor porchway, so you can bring you bicycle under cover and either leave it inside or outside your room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I needed two rooms for the night so I could drop my son off at his dorm at the local college the next day. I just wanted a cheap place to sleep comfortably, nothing more. Charlie's ended up being a good choice. It was perfectly acceptable to me, although I'm sure the wife and kids were a little shocked at first glance since we always stay in 3-star+ hotels when vacationing. Charlie's is very plain and basic, on the older side. However, it is very clean, has cold a/c, and quiet. Rooms are small, beds are comfortable, cable TV worked great, free in-room internet, hot shower with great water pressure (better than home), refridgerator and microwave, 75 cent soda machines on-site, quaint drive-in ice cream/food place across the street. We all ended up agreeing that Charlies perfectly acceptable. No complaints. I'll stay there again for sure when I visit my son at college. WARNING: DO NOT EXPECT LUXURY! DO NOT EXPECT FRESH PAINT AND NEW FURNISHINGS!. However, nothing at Charlies is disgusting, whatsoever. Simply a clean, basic, cheap place to watch some TV, sleep soundly, and get a good shower in the morning. If you get a chance, strike up a conversation with the owner. He is NOT named Charlie. He IS a character.

Room Tip: My guess is that there isn't much difference between the various rooms at Charlies, except that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank somerssalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I live in Frostburg and every time Frostburg has a big drinking event or pub crawl (which is often) I make the Hurry Back Tavern my last stop and rent a room at Charlie's. Yes the rooms are pretty basic but honestly what are you expecting from a hotel in Frostburg, MD? Beachfront massages? It's a great locale. Right next to the best local bar in Frostburg with the best bartender in Frostburg (Brenda) and nearby Sand Springs Saloon which has a mean bartender but great food. In the summer the Tastee Freeze is open and right across the street. There's a ballpark and playground right up the road also. The best part is coming in to meet the locals who are a hoot. I should know, I am one.

Anyways, I heart Charlie's Motel big time. It's a totally different experience from staying at a chain but it's worth it. The rooms are ok, cheap, and very close to the best bar in Frostburg. What else could you want?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gomerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I needed to save money on this trip. Charlie's was the place to do it. However, it's old and run down and could use a BIG face lift, inside and out. The bar is right next door, so that's a convenience to mellow with a few cocktails and just walk to your hotel room if cocktails are you thing. No DWI in your future. But I wouldn't stay there again. I'll upgrade next time. I'm planning on returning next fall again on a driving road trip I am planning. Sorry, Charlie. But you need to clean it up a bit. And maybe get towels that match and are thicker than a bandaid. I'm usually not a snob when it comes to hotels. I mean, I'm hardly in the room long enough to have it bother me. But this room was just dirty and lacked any...ANY ambiance whatsoever.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Yes, the decor is dated and yes, the sleep switch didn't work on the remote control. The bed was comfy and the room was immaculate. I mean spotless. The towels didn't match but they were clean and plush! I would give it an average at this point but the service was beyond friendly and the rooms quiet. When you stay at Charlie's and do so, drop into the bar. I met everybody in town! We were given the complete skinny on where to eat and what to do in our weekend in Frostburg. Would I stay there again? Absolutely.

Room Tip: Be presentable when you show up and they will give you a nicer room. Heard that from the bartender...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank patrickDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frostburg
0.7 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
85 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
487 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Frostburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
77 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Braddock Inn
9.5 mi away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#3 of 4 in Cumberland
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlie's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlie's Motel

Address: 220 West Main Street, Frostburg, MD 21532-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Frostburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Frostburg
Price Range: £38 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Charlie's Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Charlie's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing