We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On our way to D.C.”
Review of Charlie's Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Charlie's Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Frostburg
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Its clean. Got a great nites sleep, and a great shower the next day. Great deal for the price. Dont expect everything to match. Its older, but so am I. Lol. The guy in charge is a straight shooter, with a good sense of humor. I would stay there again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights during the Holiday weekend while biking along the GAP. Accommodation was simple, for people who spend their time mostly outdoor and don’t need too much space in the room. What we got for $55 was a small double-bed room with a little refrigerator/freezer, a microwave oven, a TV set and WiFi (really working). Both the room and the bathroom were clean. We prefer sleeping at an open window, but this time we could not so we had to rely on AC even if we don’t like its noise. A restaurant is in 3 min walking distance. John, the owner, is a very friendly guy. He offered us a ride / pick-up to/from the trail-head if needed. He also gave us several useful pieces of advice how to plan our biking trips so we have enough of precious energy at the end to enjoy the tour. I wish we could find such a guy at our further journeys. I really recommend this motel.
Peter H.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleonora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

When I travel these days, I'll generally opt for locally-owned hotels instead of big brands/chains. You generally don't get a pool or soap with a logo, but you can discover some hidden gems. Charlie's has a spartan, basic look, but it's clean and quiet. I really liked the layout of the room. I'm a light sleeper, so I appreciated having an AC unit near the bed to drown out any exterior noise. Also, no windows directly to the outside, so I could sleep late and not be flooded with sunlight at 6am. And the price ($45) cannot be denied. For people who want luxury and all the amenities, this is probably not your best choice. If you're mostly interested in a comfortable place to get a night's rest, Charlie's Motel is probably your best bet for Frostburg.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parvenu138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John & Linda An... S, Owner at Charlie's Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We try to make people feel welcome and relaxed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Booked two rooms for the weekend mostly for the price and location. The rooms were nicer than I had expected. Mine had a microwave and fridge/freezer. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom and shower were small and cramped, but clean. Great location within walking distance to town and having the Tavern on-site was a good last stop before turning in. I would definitely stay there again. Not for the picky type perhaps, but if you are looking for a reasonably priced, basic, clean place to stay, this is your place in the Burg.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

If you're taking a trip along the Great Allegheny Passage this is an idea motel to stay at. It very close to the trail itself. Get off the trail and it's right along Highway 40, where there's several place to eat - both breakfast and dinner. A short distance into the downtown area where is a bicycle shop as well.

Entrance is along an indoor porchway, so you can bring you bicycle under cover and either leave it inside or outside your room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I needed two rooms for the night so I could drop my son off at his dorm at the local college the next day. I just wanted a cheap place to sleep comfortably, nothing more. Charlie's ended up being a good choice. It was perfectly acceptable to me, although I'm sure the wife and kids were a little shocked at first glance since we always stay in 3-star+ hotels when vacationing. Charlie's is very plain and basic, on the older side. However, it is very clean, has cold a/c, and quiet. Rooms are small, beds are comfortable, cable TV worked great, free in-room internet, hot shower with great water pressure (better than home), refridgerator and microwave, 75 cent soda machines on-site, quaint drive-in ice cream/food place across the street. We all ended up agreeing that Charlies perfectly acceptable. No complaints. I'll stay there again for sure when I visit my son at college. WARNING: DO NOT EXPECT LUXURY! DO NOT EXPECT FRESH PAINT AND NEW FURNISHINGS!. However, nothing at Charlies is disgusting, whatsoever. Simply a clean, basic, cheap place to watch some TV, sleep soundly, and get a good shower in the morning. If you get a chance, strike up a conversation with the owner. He is NOT named Charlie. He IS a character.

Room Tip: My guess is that there isn't much difference between the various rooms at Charlies, except that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank somerssalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I live in Frostburg and every time Frostburg has a big drinking event or pub crawl (which is often) I make the Hurry Back Tavern my last stop and rent a room at Charlie's. Yes the rooms are pretty basic but honestly what are you expecting from a hotel in Frostburg, MD? Beachfront massages? It's a great locale. Right next to the best local bar in Frostburg with the best bartender in Frostburg (Brenda) and nearby Sand Springs Saloon which has a mean bartender but great food. In the summer the Tastee Freeze is open and right across the street. There's a ballpark and playground right up the road also. The best part is coming in to meet the locals who are a hoot. I should know, I am one.

Anyways, I heart Charlie's Motel big time. It's a totally different experience from staying at a chain but it's worth it. The rooms are ok, cheap, and very close to the best bar in Frostburg. What else could you want?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gomerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frostburg
0.7 mi away
Gunter Hotel
Gunter Hotel
#2 of 6 in Frostburg
89 reviews
11.7 mi away
Casselman Inn
Casselman Inn
#1 of 2 in Grantsville
78 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Braddock Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Frostburg
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
500 reviews
5.2 mi away
Super 8 la Vale/Cumberland Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlie's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlie's Motel

Address: 220 W Main St, Frostburg, MD 21532-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Frostburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Frostburg
Price Range: £40 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charlie's Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Charlie's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing