We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wakefield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Get Real Backpackers
Salzwedel, Germany
1 review
“Very nice!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stay there only for one night but it was really great!

Brent is a nice guy and very friendly. The house is nice and in good shape! Everything was clean and ok. The pancakes for the breakfast are very good. Brent take us and Ruger (the lazy dog) to a goat chase. This was really cool. Brent gave us some good tips for our ongoing travel on the West Coast.

We recommend it and would stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The Place looks and feels like home. It is settled on an awesome hill with great view (!) and the owners of the hostel are so friendly that they even stoped their hunting session just to pick us up. It is deffinitely worth staying there! Cheers for the great stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KonradWitterstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saclay
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

this backpacker is just awesome.
in this hostel you will feel like at home. it is out of wakefield town but it worth it! from the top of the where the house was build you will have an amazing view from nelson and it suburb. come and enjoy the sunrise and sunset from the terrasse or the hill.

on your way to the east or west coast have a rest in this place. it is close to Nelson and Abel tasman park.

at get real backpacker you will hae a great real human adventure!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

While I didn't stay at the hostel, I did participate in a day trip that Brent led in the Golden Bay region. It was a wonderful experience, and we managed to see so much that day in a corner of the Southern Island that most people don't get to see. Thanks Brent!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Veggie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Fabulous place to stay. Fantastic service, friendly hosts, exceptionally clean, amazing views, great breakfast with proper coffee. We ended up staying much longer than we planned to as we were having such a brilliant time. The reviews were all correct and we were pleased we went by what was written on trip advisor. One highlight was the trip up to see the sun set from the highest lookout point in New Zealand that is definitely not written in any of the guide books. Thank you Trevor and Brent for such a fantastic time. I will be back....

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic. Room for campervans and tents too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielefeld, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This place has it all. A beautiful, quiet farm with lots of friendly animals, with a stunning view overlooking the bay up to the sea and perfectly clean, large rooms & facilities. But what makes this place special is its hosts. You do believe that they really want you to have the perfect stay and experience...they will be there for you! We have been taken on a tour and to places we would never have found by reading tour guide books and received lots of advice that really have been worth following. It's been astonishing. These guys know their place and share their knowledge. Our stay here has turned into one of those we keep talking about the most of this trip around the South Island. And we've been around quite a bit. An absolute recommendation for those who like pancakes, fun, fires, fishing, food, friendliness, hospitality, people, to sleep in, individuality, travels, animals, sports, stars, bikes, mountains and rivers, beaches and the ocean, love and their life, ...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nala B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

What a treasure this place is! Farm stay, B&B, Backpackers and home base after a Get Real Adventure filled day.

The vibe at Get Real is relaxed and comfortable. All the facilities are superb, clean and well maintained. And the 360 degree views surrounding this lovely, rustic homestead are stunning.

Brent whips up an awesome breakfast complete with great coffee. It's the perfect start to a new day before heading out for a day trip exploring the region.

Only adventurous locals could know all of these gems. It’s a wonderful way discover a place, experience new things and meet new friends. We ended our excursion at Mapua wharf with the best ever fish & chips and dancing away to the live band. And some lucky ones got to experience travelling back home with Trevor on his Harley Davidson.

Brent and Trevor are great and will truly look after you. And if you're wondering how much more you can explore the region, these local lads are the ones give advice and set it all up.

I'm coming back. This is my new favourite part of NZ and I'm not finished with it. And at Get Real, I'm yet to swim in the pool, bathe in the outdoor tub and sleep under the stars! Five stars all round! Thanks guys.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ioana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Get Real Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Get Real Backpackers

Property: Get Real Backpackers
Address: 74B Eighty Eight Valley Road, Wakefield 7095, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Wakefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a fantastic location with beautiful panoramic views across the valley through to Nelson and out to sea. We offer private and dorm rooms as well as space for camper vans and tents to stay. We are animal friendly and have self service in the kitchen all through the day and a great breakfast to offer with fresh pancakes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing