We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minerva Indian Cuisine

Minerva Indian Cuisine
Ranked #43 of 334 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbus, oh
1 review
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Went on a Sunday evening. Restaurant was busy. Waiters were totally indifferent to us. Good took forever to come. Had to repeatedly ask for water. We were served by three different waiters - all had a very bad attitude. Food was decent when we finally got it. When we asked the waiter for the second time why we were not getting water - he said he was too busy to bring it to us! We decided not to tip the waiters and the cashier had the nerve to ask us why we were not leaving a tip!!! We told him it was due to poor service. His response was 'that is a typical Indian attitude!'

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aromasenses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    41
    11
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never Again!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Food is great. However our 5th time, apparently having a black person as part of our group means no service. We waited over 15 minutes after being seated to watch 5 servers walk by, look, and not even take a drink order. We will never go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigpapam109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top-notch food and great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is in our neighborhood so we eat there frequently. The atmosphere is somewhat dated but the food is absolutely delicious. This is our favorite place to eat when we're craving Indian food. The Fish Tikka Kabobs are succulent, the naan is some of the best I've ever had, and the Butter Chicken is outstanding. We always get the Dinner option b/c you get a tray with rice, naan, a vegetable, dal, soup, raita, entree and a dessert all included. The prices are excellent but even more so when you get the Dinner. The waiters are very competent. The only thing I'd change is that, like many Indian restaurants, they have tvs everywhere, and they're usually on. So, it can be distracting. But otherwise, we love this place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MuseumGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
“Poor Dinner Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Very poor service. We ordered for extra naan. It took them 30 minutes to get the naan. Poor and slow service. Food was not that great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank deen1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Indian lunch buffett !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Wide selection - goat, shrimp, chicken, vegie, soup, desert
Excellent service
Best Indian lunch buffett !
Will go again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yunitech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Minerva Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Gaithersburg, MD
 

Been to Minerva Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing