We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't stay here again!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Washington, DC - Gaithersburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Motel 6 Washington, DC - Gaithersburg
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Won't stay here again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I stayed here for one night while traveling to Washington, DC with my husband. I should have known better considering how much cheaper it was than other hotels in the area - we paid $64.99 for the night. We requested a room (in advance) that was smoke free and pet free. Well it was a "non-smoking" room but the rooms on both sides were smoking. The man at check-in told us if this did not suffice we would not be penalized and we could stay somewhere else. However, there were no other hotels with availability in the area. The room smelled very strongly like stale smoke, and while we didn't see any pet fur, there was an ant in the bed as soon as we pulled back the sheets. I would highly recommend that they keep their smoking rooms and non-smoking rooms as separate as possible - not intermixed throughout the corridors.

The bathroom was gross - the tub had all sorts of residue on the floor that looked like vomit. There was hair on the shower curtain. We were afraid to walk around without shoes on which made it very difficult. The bath towels were EXTREMELY small and they didn't give you any shampoo - soap only.

Within 24 hours I had 5 bites on my back side. Not sure what they were from, but I could only assume this hotel. I've never had bites like these in a concentrated area.

It's sad that this is what you get for $65. That is only "cheap" by American standards.

I would never stay here again. It's worth paying a bit more to stay at a nicer chain. I can't believe Motel 6 would actually allow someplace like this!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms! I would recommend a 2nd or 3rd floor room so that there is a less chance of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldengirl217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    5
    12
    8
See reviews for
11
2
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I have been to a lot of motel 6 in my life and this was the most downgraded one of all. The bed is caves in on one side, the bathroom is tiny and the tub looks filthy. I want to take a shower and there was a Roach climbing up the wall. I dang near pooped my pants. For $72 a night I would expect something a lot cleaner and at least an upgraded TV. Can you say old school.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angellov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stay at everything from 5 stars in U.S. and Europe to motels on road trips across the U.S. usually 40 stays a year. So our expectations are pretty well balanced. We use budget hotels like Comfort Inn or Econo lodge on road trips particularly when that is about all there is. This hotel is cheap at about 70 a night for a couple and we took it because they take pets and we had one along this time.

The motel needs work, while fairly clean everything is worn, even a few broken items and you don't even get shampoo. Towels the size of dish towels. I would expect somebody is going to renovate this place or else it just turned over and a family is trying to get on their feet running it. Nice enough staff but keep your expectations in check. Right near I-270

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor and the back of motel which is on a rail line
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjmarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

My husband and I chose this hotel because it was very close to his parents home where we had planned to attend a family birthday party. The hotel rate was cheap enough, but the property was filthy! Even though we had chosen a non-smoking room, the bedspreads had multiple holes from cigarette burns. When I went to use the shower, the surface of the bath tub was dirty with some kind of grey silt and hair. We chose to use the elevator to go to our room on the 3rd floor. There was food caked on the floor of the elevator, and food wrappers on the pathway to our room. We travel all over the world, and we have never encountered a more dirty environment in a hotel. My husband took pictures of our room and its surroundings and has sent them off to the corporate offices.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Penngal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Plata, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

I use them about 4 to 5 times per year. I always have clean linens, and the room is clean. The staff is always friendly and accommodating to my needs. If you are looking for something fancy or room service, try one of the super expensive hotels in the area. But if you want a nice room to sleep in, and be close to area restaurants and local parks and clubs,and not pay outrageous prices? pick Motel 6 Gaithersburg.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank screwball3964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

I am my college booked this motel. The motel looked nice on a approachable place. However the room given to us was not so good. There were still smoke stubs and sheet wasn't supposedly changed. In fact the room was infested with bugs and all the time I was suspecting something was wrong. I had to get my apartment fumigated a few weeks after that.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keanu_maverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

For starters, this location was HORRIBLE. It was positioned in between a freeway/train track and a car dealership! If you stay on the side facing the car dealership (which we were) you would be fine noise wise, but the view was horrendous. If you stay on the other side you hear trains passing by all day and night.

My family members checked us in and were treated rudely by the front desk staff. The cleaning staff also seemed to either give us dirty looks or just were not happy period.

The room itself was decent and was on the 3rd floor, so the use of the elevator (centrally located) was needed. Inside the room there was a sink outside of the bathroom (I hate when places do this!) as the bathroom was very tiny.

There was a person who looked to be a drug dealer loitering the parking lot when we arrived. After we dropped our luggage in the room we went to do a bit of shopping (which was close nearby) and when we returned the police in about 6 cars were in the middle or an arrest or something. We never did find out what happened, but just them being them left an unpleasant taste in our mouths.

I would personally pay a little more for a place in the same area. The proximity to Washington D.C. was actually great, so if you can find another motel/hotel in the vicinity, try that place first.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaithersburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg
TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg
#11 of 15 in Gaithersburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#6 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Washington, DC - Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Washington, DC - Gaithersburg

Property: Motel 6 Washington, DC - Gaithersburg
Address: 497 Quince Orchard Road - I-270 at Quince Orchard Road, Exit #10/11, Gaithersburg, MD 20878 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)
Region: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Washington, DC - Gaithersburg 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Motel 6 Washington, DC - Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Washington, Dc - Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Motel 6 Gaithersburg
Motel Six Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Motel Six
Gaithersburg Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing