We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The front desk and cleaning staff were very friendly and inviting. Every question and need I had was met with a professional attitude and a smile. I love the location, it has everything you need if you don't feel like travelling far to eat or shop. I would have given this an "Excellent" rating if not for the lumpy bed. The bed was also slanted so that the head was lower than the foot of the bed. That needs to be fixed.
I recommend this hotel and more than likely I will still stay at this hotel again, despite the bed, because it is clean, comfortable, and just over all a really nice place to stay.

Room Tip: My room was facing the lake. It was so pretty and wonderful to lay in bed and watch the snow fall or...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dru707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are glad you found our staff particularly friendly and informative. For your future stays, please consider contacting our Front Desk when you find something not to be to your liking and we will be happy to provide you with some options. Once again, thank you for your time and we hope to see you here soon.

Warmest Regards,
Courtyard Gaithersburg Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

I had stayed here few years ago and always liked the location. This time I had a terrible night.
To be clear; I stay at hotels 3 nights each week for my job. So when I say they have the noisiest and the most annoying AC system I had enough bad experiences to compare!
You don't have any control over the AC. You can not turn it down, you can not stop the cold air, nothing!
We did every trick to just make the AC quiet for few minutes.If you set it on 72 it blows warm air to 72 and it may go up to 72.5. Now it starts to blow cold air to bring it down. Again it would probably go to 71.5 and it continues. It constantly switches heating and cooling and makes LOUD noises. Finally at 3:00 am we called the front desk and somebody came and unplugged the whole system and it was 25 degree outside !!!
In summary, we didn't sleep and we had a long drive ahead of us the next day.
During check out, I told the lady that we had a terrible night and she said she is sorry!! And since we prepaid our stay (via Marriott.com, not a discounted website!!) she can not adjust the rate, but she will add lots of points to my account (oh yes, I do have status with Marriott). Guess what? They didn't add the points either!

The bathroom was terrible, too. The vent didn't work and it was near impossible to change the water to shower. You need to use both hands, arms, feet....

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah k, Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We are very sorry to hear about your most recent stay at our hotel and the challenges you experienced with our heating and cooling unit. The units are designed to cycle on and off until the optimal temperature is reached. In addition, there is a built in feature to the unit in which when the outside temperature is below a certain temperature, it cycles on and off to help prevent the internal pipes from freezing. In any event, we regret that the equipment kept you from getting a good night's sleep. We would like to not only follow up on your Marriott Rewards account so that we can confirm that the award points have been posted, but we would also like to invite you back, at your convenience and on us, to get a good night's rest (maybe when the weather turns warmer and you can enjoy one of our rooms facing the lake at Washingtonian Center. Most guests really enjoy the view and our location.
Again, please accept our apologies that your stay was not perfect. We value your business very much and take customer service very serious. Please feel free to contact me at sarah.kimani@marriott.com with your Marriott Rewards account number so that we may do an audit immediately and get you the points you were promised.
Many thanks!
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I love the staff at this hotel (Kathleen, Jeremy, Mariam, and "The Artist" (Sorry can't think of her name now), Carmen at the bar as well as the night staff Alex are the most customer friendly staff I have had the opportunity to meet in all my stays while working as a traveling consultant. Their attention to detail and always welcoming presence makes this place truly feel like a home away from home. The hotel is perfectly located around many wonderful attractions from shopping to dining to sightseeing. The rooms are always very clean and the housekeeping staff are extremely hospitable. I have stayed at many hotels in the Maryland area and week after week I choose to stay at Courtyard Washingtonian because it such an awesome place.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are the best
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are thrilled you find our associates hospitality to be exceptional; "The Artist" you mentioned is Candyse! We always strive for consistency in our excellent services and you are an affirmation of that. Thank you so much for your review, we sincerely appreciate your loyalty.

Warmest Regards,

Courtyard Gaithersburg Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Clean, nice rooms. Ask for a room overlooking the water. There are tons of restaurants, shops, and a movie theater in easy walking distance. HIghly recommend this hotel. Free parking. Best part is the location so close to Rio.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elexaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We value ourselves on cleanliness and are very happy to see you appreciated it! We are ecstatic to see you found our location convenient- from the AMC Loews Theatre to the delectable restaurant choices, we are confidant everyone will have an enjoyable time! We are confident we will be seeing you again soon. Thank you kindly.

Warmest Regards,

Courtyard Gaithersburg Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The location of the Courtyard is great, right in the middle of all the Washingtonian Center has to offer. I stayed here for 5 weeks, and was pretty underwhelmed by the service. They were unable to accommodate requests for meeting spaces when an impromptu situation arose due to weather, they advised only the event planner could handle this and was out for the day. I found this to be unacceptable, especially given the frequency of our stay at this and other Marriott locations. They also lacked in the personalized service I have come to expect from Marriott. The restaurant is decent in atmosphere though the menu and service also lack a bit in this area.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies that overlook the pond.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location for your five week stay! Considering this loyalty with us it was a disappointment to learn your request for certain accommodations were not met. We would like to consider our team far from 'minimal' in their efforts due to our 91% customer satisfaction service- which puts us in the top bracket within our region as well as the entire Courtyard by Marriott brand. We sincerely apologize for not taking immediate action for your impromptu meeting. We certainly have the accommodations and although our onsite Event Manager may have been delayed due to the storm, it is with out a doubt that any Manager here is capable of booking your meeting space accordingly. Once again, we apologize that this was your experience here; we do take customer service very seriously. We truly look forward to showing you that on your next visit to the area.

Warmest Regards,
Courtyard Gaithersburg Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here for one night recently and were more than satisfied. Desk staff was exceptionally informative and pleasant. Had our choice of room: large or overlooking the pond.

We chose the pond-view room. Room was on the small side but with a lovely little balcony (no chairs--because it was wintertime, I suppose). The bar was not open (Dec 18 - Jan 3 or something, which I thought was strange). Hotel had 9 floors and the elevators arrived quickly.

This place has a wonderful location, with all kinds of restaurants, shopping, and other activities within walking distance. Parking is literally across the street in a well-lit garage.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCM20854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

The front desk staff was delighted to hear you found them exceptionally informative. We do our very best every day to keep guest educated on all the Gaithersburg Courtyard has to offer. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you visit again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Coutyard Gaithersburg Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

located across the street from a movie theater, California pizza kitchen, White House/Black Market: what more could anyone want? plus more... Safe, well-lit garage. The lobby was quite small and not fancy but the staff was friendly and helpful. My window overlooked a pond with a boardwalk and pretty trees. Overall, quite pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank npmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYGaithersburg, Manager at Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for staying with us! We are delighted to hear you found the location desirable and the staff helpful and friendly. We can not wait for your next visit with us.



Warmest Regards,

Courtyard Gaithersburg Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaithersburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North / Gaithersburg
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
#8 of 15 in Gaithersburg
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
1.1 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Address: 204 Boardwalk Pl, Gaithersburg, MD 20878-7343
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#7 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range: £67 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Café is our on-site eatery featuring morning favorites including, cooked-to-order eggs and a bountiful amount of a la carte items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Courtyard
Gaithersburg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing